5 star rating: Highly Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour, the guide was very informative and entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting tour and Sophia was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, in a logical sequence and taking in the main ancient highlights. Enthusiastic guide - he could have had a bit more in depth knowledge though. We used the iPads at the acropolis, which were an absolutely fantastic experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was awesome, but please prepare to do a lot of walking so wear the appropriate shoes/sneakers. Our guide Aristotle was amazing and very informative!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A well organised and insightful tour, covered all the main areas and some others I was not expecting. Value for mobney

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, lots of interesting info and animated host. Great getting some local knowledge about the ancient sites.

David P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

My son and I enjoyed this tour very much. Our guide Kostas was very knowledgeable and he knew his history of all the major sites. The number in the group was a good size so we didn't get lost in a big tour. We covered off the major archaeological sites in the downtown area of Athens in a quick time. Good to give you all the information that you needed to understand the myth vs reality of these sites.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

This was hot very little shade available. Tour guide was great. Would have been good to know about the extra €12 entry fee.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Very good guide

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed the Acropolis Walking Tour with a good, informed guide and a nice small group of visitors from different parts of the world. During the tour we had short halts to understand History, background and historic facts which was presented by our guide in a quick to understand format. We halted in shades, under trees while listening to historic facts and respite from the Mediterranean sun:) The Acropolis was quite different from what we expected, as there are more ruins than actual gods and temples. But the tour is useful to get a good first hand understanding of the Hellenic Republic and its people.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

- Good overview and makes it easy to see most highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The tour guide had a great sense of humor and a lot of energy...was a fun tour!

Marlinda S
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great tour to get an insight into the most important historical sites of Athens within a morning. The tour guide really makes the history come alive and provides very interesting information that we would have missed had we gone walking on our own. Make sure to take sunscreen and walking shoes. There are regular stops for drinking water.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I enjoyed the tour and learned a lot. I only wish it had been more focused on the ancient sights, as we spent about a third of the tour in Syntagma. Our guide was very thorough and knowledgeable, and the 3 hour tour was just the right amount of time.

Nerida C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Good tour, great guide

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Great tour to go on, guide walked us through most of the big sites and then up into the Acropolis itself. Maybe there was a bit much talk of the history when I would rather be exploring. Did not know that we had to buy tickets to enter the sites on the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Guide was knowledgeable and the excursion was well planned. Unfortunately, too many tourists - wall to wall! If we had not had the guide I doubt that we would have appreciated this magnificent archaeological and historic site. Money well spent.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Our tour guide Theodora very good. Good way to see Athens. She had helpful hints for our stay in Athens.
Only disappointment was had to pay extra 12 euro per person to go into Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis. Not much point in going on walk if you can not enter sites without paying. Extra costs should have been added to and included in initial price.

K R M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Very good although the Metro was on strike so we didn't see inside Syntagma Station.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Our guide Kostas was very knowledgeable and informative. It was a very good tour with an excellent guide. Information on the Agora and Old Plaka area would have rounded up this tour, and made it perfect.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

very good tour and a good value.Tour guide was very entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Had a great time. Very informative

MB
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Our guide was very knowledgable, the walk up the Acropolis was slippery and the weather was very hot, but well worth the long walk. The directions for getting down and walking through the agora was not clear, we managed to get lost, but we kept going down different paths until we found our way.

Paul L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Knowledgeable and enthusiatic tour Guide

From USD $ 42.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2906ATHACRO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message