4 star rating: Recommended 360 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  Varies3.5 - 5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 360 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A great tour. Our guide was SUPER in explaining the history of the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Best for day one of any trip. Shows you the town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Awesome day. Walked up all the steps to see the one of the world's most famous structure. Beautiful weather in October, best time to visit. Less tourists. Great views of Athens at the top of the hill. Make sure to walk the whole parameter to see the different views of Athens.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour with great guide. Very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide who is an archeologist so had much information. Very informative. Lots of walking uphill at Acropolis.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a good tour but should be done on the first day. We did on the second day and we had already seen some of the sites. However the visit to the Acropolis was spectacular and our guide was amazing and so very knowledgeable. The new museum is an amazing building, so light and airy and the guide made it come alive for us. We would urge folk to check wether they really need to be picked up from their hotel or are happy to walk to starting hotel. We opted for pick up and had to be up nearly an hour before we needed, when we realized the start hotel was only a 10 minute walk from us. Thanks Di and George

gerryc
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A very good half day tour for the main attractions of Athens.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great introduction to Athens and some of its history and sites. Our guide was well informed and did a great job moving us through the tour. Well-spent time and money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour! The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We enjoyed it a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved everything, tour guide was excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very well organize tour. Excellent tour guide, knowledgeable, fluent in English and friendly. Good and comfortable transportation. The most important historic sites of Athens are visited and enjoyed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The title of this tour is a bit of a misnomer but the photo of the Acropolis is appropriate. While the tour bus does drive around Athens for a bit of an orientation, there are really only two stops --- a short 15 minutes at the marble Panatheneic Stadium, site of the first modern Olympiad in 1896 and still in use, and the Acropolis including the New Acropolis Museum . So, if you want to stop at other places, this tour may not be for you.

The tour is handled by CHAT Tours and our morning tour was led by Vicky. She was wonderful -- dedicated to imparting information, passionate about her love of Athens and its history, willing to help with the usual logistics issues of tourists and happy to answer multiple questions. Most importantly, she was able to condense the long, impressive history of the Athenian Greeks who gave democracy to the world into a summary that was both short enough and understandable enough for tourists with time constraints.

This tour should be done first since the Acropolis ticket that you get costs 12 Euros (in 2013) and can be used over a 4 day period to see 5 other ancient Greek monuments. Also, try not to have other plans for right after the tour since the ticket to the New Acropolis Museum is a group entrance so once you leave you cannot re-enter and the guided part of the tour only lasts about 1 hour. The museum is very interesting and deserves more time. It should also be noted that, if you do wish to stay at the New Acropolis Museum for more than 1 1/2 hours total, you will not get a lift back to your hotel with the tour bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The guide was excellent. Very Knowledgable about Greek history and Mythology.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another fantastic tour through Viator and again very lucky to have Dimitra the Tour Guide for a third time!! Athens, while not being the prettiest city makes up for it with it's amazing and fascinating history!!! You'll get to see where the first Modern Olympics was held, the Temple of Zeus and one of the most amazing places you'll ever see The Parthenon perched perfectly atop the Acropolis!!! You will not be disappointed by this or any of the other tours!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour for the price. We visited the Acropolis and Parthenon, toured the museum, learned a lot about the history. At end of tour, we were able to stay in Plaka and tour shops, eat and take in more sites. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave good history.

From USD $ 72.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31401

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message