Insider's Guide to Athens

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 512 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hillary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour is good for those who have a short time in Athens. It gives a very good overview of the City's main attractions even though most of the time is spent at the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum if you include it in your tour. We were picked up at the hotel on time and Angelina who met us in the hotel lobby was very sweet and pleasant to be with. The guide (Eustaf (?), I think) was knowledgeable, professional and passionate about the City of Athens and its sights. He was extremely sensitive to the needs of each person in the group and this made us quite relaxed to actually enjoy the sights. I have physical health issues and was apprehensive about doing this tour but he made it quite easy for me to take my time and I did not miss out on anything, especially when climbing up the hill to the Acropolis. I was somewhat disappointed that we were not able to stop at some of the other sights for a few minutes to take pictures since the coach was moving at quite a fast pace when passing some of these sights. It felt more like an Acropolis tour instead of a Sightseeing tour of Athens. It is what it says :"Sightseeing" so if you want to stop at these attractions do so on your own. Wear proper shoes for the climb up to the Acropolis because many of the stones get very slippery on the way up. If not, watch where you place your feet as you go up the hill. My friend and I got very tired by the time we got to the Museum and we had to sit outside and wait for the group to get our ride back to the hotel. If you are not physically fit, do the museum tour separate. Nevertheless, I would recommend this tour. It is worth the money and Viator always delivers. Viator, you made my trip to Athens a pleasurable and stress free vacation, I was always able to reach one of your agents by phone, whether in Canada, the United Kingdom or in Athens. The tour company was very helpful and delivered. Thanks again. Looking forward to my next vacation with your tours.

Sharon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was excellent! The tour was very informative and we LOVED the new Acropolis museum.

Eric W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative tour!

Mariluna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excelent tour!! Highly recommended

Delano G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was well worth its very reasonable price. Great logistics, i.e. timely pick-up from our hotel and a comfortable bus with great AC. Our guide was top notch. She had a very solid grasp of all of the Grecian history. She was passionate and wonderfully demonstrative. She provided excellent historical context, tying-in information from other tours on Mykonos and Santorini.

Very wel executed!

bruce.mullkoff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good informative tour. Great for first time visit.

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bus collected us from our hotel and the guide was excellent and was very knowledgeable about the Acropolis, and surrounding area. We were delivered back to the hotel after the tour.

Anand P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very good tour!!

Mala M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour. The tour covered all that we had planned for. It was very organized and efficiently run. Our guide was great.

eleanor e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide Dorina was excellent, she shared the history and brought The Acropolis to life. Highly recommend this tour to all visitors to Athens.

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great way to see the sights Athens is famous for.

joejoe5656

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide was terrific, very knowledgeable about all sights we saw. The pick up was on time and everything worked like clock-work.

Karina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an informative, educational, memorable and fun day. The guide was very knowledgable. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was so incredibly knowledgeable and funny, we loved our tour. My husband still tells everyone she had an encyclopedic mind. This was our 3rd or 4th Viatour and by far the best.
Athens is an amazing city, and to hear the historical details, lots of them, was amazing. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Highly recommend this tour guide and tour. Too bad we can't remember her name, but she was great. Our other Viatours don't measure up.

Sylvan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and we were even able to hit all the spots of tour even during the day before their Independence Day. Streets were being closed because of a nearby parade, but the tour went on as planned and everything worked out great.

Lester M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A great tour. Our guide was SUPER in explaining the history of the area.

Joann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Best for day one of any trip. Shows you the town.

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Awesome day. Walked up all the steps to see the one of the world's most famous structure. Beautiful weather in October, best time to visit. Less tourists. Great views of Athens at the top of the hill. Make sure to walk the whole parameter to see the different views of Athens.

Patricia F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great tour with great guide. Very informative.

Prinsendam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour guide who is an archeologist so had much information. Very informative. Lots of walking uphill at Acropolis.

George S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a good tour but should be done on the first day. We did on the second day and we had already seen some of the sites. However the visit to the Acropolis was spectacular and our guide was amazing and so very knowledgeable. The new museum is an amazing building, so light and airy and the guide made it come alive for us. We would urge folk to check wether they really need to be picked up from their hotel or are happy to walk to starting hotel. We opted for pick up and had to be up nearly an hour before we needed, when we realized the start hotel was only a 10 minute walk from us. Thanks Di and George

gerryc Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A very good half day tour for the main attractions of Athens.

Effie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great introduction to Athens and some of its history and sites. Our guide was well informed and did a great job moving us through the tour. Well-spent time and money.

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour! The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We enjoyed it a lot.

Lemar F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved everything, tour guide was excellent

Viewing 4 of 21

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 63.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31401

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message