• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 51 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Athens Small-Group Food Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 51 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our tour guide Despina was awesome. She was very enthusiastic about teaching us the basics/history of Greek cuisine. If you can, take this tour first when you arrive to Greece. That way you will be introduced to many different types of foods that you can try again throughout the rest of your trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was our best tour during our 10-day trip in Athens! In fact, we went back to the places we were brought to during this tour for a second time. The tour guide was the best we had amongst other tours, probably because we had a small group of only 5 people. We were introduced to local food common to the Greeks so it is good information on food culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Magic. Despina was terrific and very informative. Loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Artemis, our Food Walking tour guide was absolutely fantastic. She had a fantastic knowledge of Athens history as well as Greek history. Going to the areas where the local Athenians shop, eat and drink was a very eye-opening experience and my wife and I could not believe where the time had gone. We would recommend this tour to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic!! A little hard to find the guide- her sign was small, and we wandered in the square a few minutes before finding her. She was superb, really knew her stuff. We liked this tour so much, we referred several friends to do it on the upcoming trip! We loved the spots we visited, and how she covered not just food, but the way the Greeks think about different things.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We Loved this tour!! Our food guide Despina was very knowledgeable and gave us many interesting facts that we hadn't heard before. You get to experience parts of Athens that you wouldn't normally see and this makes the tour even more memorable. I loved the loukamades and bougatsa stops the most, and have even come home and tried my hand at making them too! Thank you Despina!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was wonderful. The guide was friendly and informative, and we visited markets, street vendors, and a terrific specialty store where my husband and I bought oil and sausages and jam that we ate later on picnics during a car trip through Greece. We also returned to restaurants we saw on the tour. I would have liked more time at the markets to buy fruit. Our guide rushed us through the fish and meat market. I would have liked to have spent more time there, too. It was so interesting. Maybe some people would have found the smells unpleasant, but still a little more time would have been great. These are minor quibbles, though, because the tour was very enjoyable. I really learned a lot about Greek culture and food. I would recommend this tour to anyone who loves to eat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We just loved it. The guide was outstanding. We learned a lot about not only Greek food, but Greek culture. We'll look for this type of tour when we visit other locations.

Megan Bruynel
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a must do in Athens if you have the slightest interest in food! Our Excellent guide made each member of the group feel very welcome and gave great insight into ways of life etc. All the places visited were really interesting and a good cross section of foods and styles. 10/10 to Despina and Viator.
P.S. I booked this tour from my home in NZ before leaving, all arrangements worked well.

Megan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a must do if you have any interest in food!! Despina, the guide was amazing! Informative and friendly. Tried a bunch of things, that I probably won't have had the chance to try otherwise and made it easier to know what I wanted to try when eating locally!!

Trudi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This Food Tour given by Vassiliki was fantastic. She gave us a down to earth appreciation of Greek food and took us to out of the way places which tourists would not be aware of.We tasted genuine Greek food made for locals. Vassiliki also filled us in with Greek history and current events. A most interesting and wonderful three hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great way to connect and enjoy the local culture! Guide was amazing! She really gave me a unique understanding on Greek culture through its food! What a great day I had!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was by far the BEST part of our trip to Athens.
I appreciate and enjoy are the "real" people of various countries and cities I visit. Take me away from the tourist traps and give me the true "heartbeat" of the place. You will have this here! Despina was superb and the foods and locations= +++!

Sammi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I don't have a bad word to say about this tour, I loved it, I adored the food, and I especially liked the guide. She was incredible knowledgable, personable and entertaining. There is no tour I can recommend more than this one, I tried everything (including the raki!) and was not disappointed once.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

An excellent tour with a side dish of Greek culture! Tastings were great, the last dish of souvlaki and Greek beer gave us the energy to tour the Acropolis. We especially enjoyed the grocery store (Pontopolion) and the fish and meat/ fruit and vegetable markets. Being off the tourist path was interesting, too. Despina puts her heart and soul into these tours, highly recommended.

From USD $ 67.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 19+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2906ATHFOOD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message