4 star rating: Recommended 268 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 268 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Good service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

The views are absolutely wonderful! Well worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Worth traveling

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable tour with great views.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

As others mentioned, Cape Sounion doesn't have as much to see as Delphi, for example. Therefore, you are only there for about an hour with it being about 1.5 hrs drive each way from and to Athens. However, it is still a sight to see as the Temple overlooking the Aegean was beautiful. Also, since our flight didn't arrive until the afternoon, this was one of the few options available that fit our schedule. Our tour guide was perfect. Very nice and helpful, efficient, and English was superb. My only drawback was that the morning of the tour, they called our room at the Hotel Stanley, saying that they cannot pick us up and that we had to meet at another hotel to hop on to the bus. They gave the excuse that the streets were closed because of a demonstration. However, when we left, the streets seemed pretty clear to me. Luckily, where we had to go Amalia Hotel was relatively close, just a couple stops away on the train at Syntagma. It was just annoying since the hotel pickup was included in the price. Also, since there are a lot of tours going on, it is hard to tell which bus you need to hop on. You have to ask around, since there are no signs which would be way easier. Nonetheless, the tour itself was very good and we did get dropped off at our hotel upon our return.

Errol M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Nice drive through the countryside south of Athens.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

After visiting Pantheon in Athena's honor, I loved the symmetry of learning about Poseidon here. I know it'll be cold and windy but it's DEFINITELY worth it. Hands down, it was my favorite thing I did in Greece. The drive was incredible and you should absolutely take the time to explore Capenion

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Awesome temple. Glad to have seen it. Your tour guide was lovely. Wish we had more time there. Drive was fantastic with the setting sun over the ocean.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Cape Sounion is beautiful and not too far of a drive from Athens. Wish we had better weather but no one controls that :) Our guide was informative/easy to understand on the bus and at the site. We were given ample time to explore and take pics.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

enjoyed this very much. Lovely drive and interesting temple. Ideal tour if you are just wanting a relaxing afternoon. Hotel transfers well organized also.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A BIT LATE PICKING US UP FROM THE HOTEL BUT TOUR GUIDE EXCELLENT.
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER TO START EARLIER I.E. 1PM NOT 2PM AS GETTING DARK AT SOUNION BY THE END OF IT.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Its about a 90 minute drive there. The scenery is great. You get to see all the people at all the different beaches. Once you get there, you spend about an hour there. Not a long time, but enough to take pictures and walk around. A short trip, but worth it if you have a few hours to spare.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

AN EXCELLENT TOUR, OUR ONLY CONCERN WAS THAT ALMOST ALL THE TOUR GUIDES ALTHOUGH CAPABLE OF SPEAKING ENGLISH DID SO WITH A DISTINCT NATIVE ACCENT WHICH OVER A P.A. SYSTEM IS VERY DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. However, most of the 4 hours for the tour was spent sitting on the bus getting to our destination. There were a number of very beautiful and scenic spots along the ocean drive that we wished we could have briefly stopped at. We did make one stop for a quick panorama view of the Temple. Overall the tour of the actual Temple of Poseidon was fantastic. Our tour operator was very friendly and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall it was very good. The tour guide was average - not as enthusiastic as most. She seemed knowledgeable but not very exciting. The ride along the ocean was beautiful. The temple and the associated site was interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

worthwhile tour but bus not very confortable. scenic ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was very nice well organized and the tour guide was quite informative. The only draw back was the winding roads that most of Greece has. Highly recommend this tour as it was amazing to see the temple and the awesome Agean Sea.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Spectacular location, wonderful views. Friendly, well-informed guide. Would definitely recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a pretty simple trip. It took about an hour or so to get there. It was very picturesque. Nice photo op. it was a fairly expensive tour. I'm not sure why it was so expensive. We did have a great big bus and very few passengers. I though maybe if they had used a van it may have been a lot less expensive. If going in the summer be sure to bring water. They were setting up for a wedding at the restaurant at the top of the site. It was a BEAUTIFUL spot- but of course they had to close down the cafe to the tourists that day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Impressive monument set close to the sea.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely drive along the coast and an interesting site. Informative guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

good day trip. Guide was excellent explaining and showing us the sights.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely half day trip not only for the destination but mostly for the scenic trip around the coast to get to Cape Sounion. If you aren't leaving Athens for the islands then it does give you a sense that you have seen the Agean (Saronic Gulf) which is gorgeous and made me realise that a few days booked in a little town near Athens on the way to Sounion is also a option to consider to have a seaside retreat.
The temple is impressive and the lofty location gorgeous ( very windy). Not a sunset trip as I believed but that meant we got to enjoy the trip home in daylight as well. Not enough time to hang at temple and have a cup of tea at cafe - bathroom queue got very long at times as well so a little more time at destination (30 mins) after a relatively long road trip would have been appreciated.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The driver and guide were professional and knowledgeable. We were picked up right on time from the lobby of our hotel, and delivered safely at the end of our tour. We even saved a few Euros by booking this tour before we got to Greece.

From USD $ 48.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31403

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message