4 star rating: Recommended 260 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 260 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Errol M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Nice drive through the countryside south of Athens.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

After visiting Pantheon in Athena's honor, I loved the symmetry of learning about Poseidon here. I know it'll be cold and windy but it's DEFINITELY worth it. Hands down, it was my favorite thing I did in Greece. The drive was incredible and you should absolutely take the time to explore Capenion

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Awesome temple. Glad to have seen it. Your tour guide was lovely. Wish we had more time there. Drive was fantastic with the setting sun over the ocean.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Cape Sounion is beautiful and not too far of a drive from Athens. Wish we had better weather but no one controls that :) Our guide was informative/easy to understand on the bus and at the site. We were given ample time to explore and take pics.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

enjoyed this very much. Lovely drive and interesting temple. Ideal tour if you are just wanting a relaxing afternoon. Hotel transfers well organized also.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A BIT LATE PICKING US UP FROM THE HOTEL BUT TOUR GUIDE EXCELLENT.
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER TO START EARLIER I.E. 1PM NOT 2PM AS GETTING DARK AT SOUNION BY THE END OF IT.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Its about a 90 minute drive there. The scenery is great. You get to see all the people at all the different beaches. Once you get there, you spend about an hour there. Not a long time, but enough to take pictures and walk around. A short trip, but worth it if you have a few hours to spare.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

AN EXCELLENT TOUR, OUR ONLY CONCERN WAS THAT ALMOST ALL THE TOUR GUIDES ALTHOUGH CAPABLE OF SPEAKING ENGLISH DID SO WITH A DISTINCT NATIVE ACCENT WHICH OVER A P.A. SYSTEM IS VERY DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. However, most of the 4 hours for the tour was spent sitting on the bus getting to our destination. There were a number of very beautiful and scenic spots along the ocean drive that we wished we could have briefly stopped at. We did make one stop for a quick panorama view of the Temple. Overall the tour of the actual Temple of Poseidon was fantastic. Our tour operator was very friendly and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall it was very good. The tour guide was average - not as enthusiastic as most. She seemed knowledgeable but not very exciting. The ride along the ocean was beautiful. The temple and the associated site was interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

worthwhile tour but bus not very confortable. scenic ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was very nice well organized and the tour guide was quite informative. The only draw back was the winding roads that most of Greece has. Highly recommend this tour as it was amazing to see the temple and the awesome Agean Sea.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Spectacular location, wonderful views. Friendly, well-informed guide. Would definitely recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It was a pretty simple trip. It took about an hour or so to get there. It was very picturesque. Nice photo op. it was a fairly expensive tour. I'm not sure why it was so expensive. We did have a great big bus and very few passengers. I though maybe if they had used a van it may have been a lot less expensive. If going in the summer be sure to bring water. They were setting up for a wedding at the restaurant at the top of the site. It was a BEAUTIFUL spot- but of course they had to close down the cafe to the tourists that day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Impressive monument set close to the sea.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely drive along the coast and an interesting site. Informative guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

good day trip. Guide was excellent explaining and showing us the sights.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A lovely half day trip not only for the destination but mostly for the scenic trip around the coast to get to Cape Sounion. If you aren't leaving Athens for the islands then it does give you a sense that you have seen the Agean (Saronic Gulf) which is gorgeous and made me realise that a few days booked in a little town near Athens on the way to Sounion is also a option to consider to have a seaside retreat.
The temple is impressive and the lofty location gorgeous ( very windy). Not a sunset trip as I believed but that meant we got to enjoy the trip home in daylight as well. Not enough time to hang at temple and have a cup of tea at cafe - bathroom queue got very long at times as well so a little more time at destination (30 mins) after a relatively long road trip would have been appreciated.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip. The driver and guide were professional and knowledgeable. We were picked up right on time from the lobby of our hotel, and delivered safely at the end of our tour. We even saved a few Euros by booking this tour before we got to Greece.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very interesting sight and a nice panoramic coast drive on both ways.
Really sad that so much ancient architecture got destroyed, but imagination how it might had been was supported by all the amazing facts presented by the tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Pick up from the hotel was a bit late but we called the company and they reassured us that they were on their way. Pleasant and knowledgable tour guide. You see lots of temples when in Athens but this is worth visiting for the legends and the beautiful scenery.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day out but would have loved to stay sunset and have it coupled with a beach visit, even though it was winter. Stunning views and the temple was fantastic! An experience that will stay with me for a lifetime :) Can't wait to go back!!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A long day if you book two tours on the same day like we did. This tour took us along the coast, beautiful views giving you opportunity for great pictures from the bus. I give it four stars because we had English and French people together. Our tour guide although very knowledgeable on both languages had to translate everything which was a little to long and tedious in my opinion.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was a great tour. Except the description said that it was a sunset tour, and I expected a sunset tour. We stayed for an hour at the site, and was on our way back to Athens at 530PM. the sunset that day was around 648PM. Need less to say we did not see the sun set over the Aegean sea. Need better clarification for future clients.

From USD $ 48.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31403

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message