4 star rating: Recommended 276 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 276 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

This was a beautiful and scenic excursion. On the way up to Cape Sounion, it would be best to sit on the right hand side of the tour bus, and on the left for the return trip. Fortunately the day was beautiful, and we had a fabulous time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Your drive to this destination will mesmerize you! The beauty of Athens Riviera will be on the bus's right side and is definitely where you want to sit. The ruins are extraordinary, and the natural beauty surrounding the place commands you to check your camera's memory card for plenty of space. Give yourself some time to visit the small shop where the buses park.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Sounion was a great trip. Definitely worth a half day trip from Athens by bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour! Breathtaking views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our tour guide was the best we had on our entire trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Good service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

The views are absolutely wonderful! Well worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

As with most of Greece, the views are amazing! The gelato was delicious as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Love the trip to Cape Sounion. The sight was awesome. The drive along coast was beautiful. Well worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Hi, Enjoyed our tour very much , the tour guide lady was very good told us all the relavent details and on a very busy day the volume of people going round was high so all in all can say it worked very well. Thankyou.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Worth traveling

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable tour with great views.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

As others mentioned, Cape Sounion doesn't have as much to see as Delphi, for example. Therefore, you are only there for about an hour with it being about 1.5 hrs drive each way from and to Athens. However, it is still a sight to see as the Temple overlooking the Aegean was beautiful. Also, since our flight didn't arrive until the afternoon, this was one of the few options available that fit our schedule. Our tour guide was perfect. Very nice and helpful, efficient, and English was superb. My only drawback was that the morning of the tour, they called our room at the Hotel Stanley, saying that they cannot pick us up and that we had to meet at another hotel to hop on to the bus. They gave the excuse that the streets were closed because of a demonstration. However, when we left, the streets seemed pretty clear to me. Luckily, where we had to go Amalia Hotel was relatively close, just a couple stops away on the train at Syntagma. It was just annoying since the hotel pickup was included in the price. Also, since there are a lot of tours going on, it is hard to tell which bus you need to hop on. You have to ask around, since there are no signs which would be way easier. Nonetheless, the tour itself was very good and we did get dropped off at our hotel upon our return.

Errol M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Nice drive through the countryside south of Athens.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

After visiting Pantheon in Athena's honor, I loved the symmetry of learning about Poseidon here. I know it'll be cold and windy but it's DEFINITELY worth it. Hands down, it was my favorite thing I did in Greece. The drive was incredible and you should absolutely take the time to explore Capenion

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Awesome temple. Glad to have seen it. Your tour guide was lovely. Wish we had more time there. Drive was fantastic with the setting sun over the ocean.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Cape Sounion is beautiful and not too far of a drive from Athens. Wish we had better weather but no one controls that :) Our guide was informative/easy to understand on the bus and at the site. We were given ample time to explore and take pics.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

enjoyed this very much. Lovely drive and interesting temple. Ideal tour if you are just wanting a relaxing afternoon. Hotel transfers well organized also.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

A BIT LATE PICKING US UP FROM THE HOTEL BUT TOUR GUIDE EXCELLENT.
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER TO START EARLIER I.E. 1PM NOT 2PM AS GETTING DARK AT SOUNION BY THE END OF IT.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Its about a 90 minute drive there. The scenery is great. You get to see all the people at all the different beaches. Once you get there, you spend about an hour there. Not a long time, but enough to take pictures and walk around. A short trip, but worth it if you have a few hours to spare.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

AN EXCELLENT TOUR, OUR ONLY CONCERN WAS THAT ALMOST ALL THE TOUR GUIDES ALTHOUGH CAPABLE OF SPEAKING ENGLISH DID SO WITH A DISTINCT NATIVE ACCENT WHICH OVER A P.A. SYSTEM IS VERY DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a very interesting tour. However, most of the 4 hours for the tour was spent sitting on the bus getting to our destination. There were a number of very beautiful and scenic spots along the ocean drive that we wished we could have briefly stopped at. We did make one stop for a quick panorama view of the Temple. Overall the tour of the actual Temple of Poseidon was fantastic. Our tour operator was very friendly and knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall it was very good. The tour guide was average - not as enthusiastic as most. She seemed knowledgeable but not very exciting. The ride along the ocean was beautiful. The temple and the associated site was interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

worthwhile tour but bus not very confortable. scenic ride

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was very nice well organized and the tour guide was quite informative. The only draw back was the winding roads that most of Greece has. Highly recommend this tour as it was amazing to see the temple and the awesome Agean Sea.

From USD $ 49.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31403

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message