4.5 star rating: Recommended 161 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Athens, Greece
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 161 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the tour was interesting and the lady guide was fluent and very professional.
we recomend it .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I studied Classics at University, and I have been to both sites several times. But this tour was splendid, with enough freshly presented to keep my interest throughout - and i learned plenty that was new. This was entirely down to the excellent guide, Johannes (?spelling) who was informative, authoritative and charming. The coach was comfortable, and the lunch was excellent! Thoroughly recommend..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Super Organisation! Only one recommendation - please take a jacket and socks for the time in the bus - the air conditioner is harmless! To cold for european tourists.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a must for those interested in Bronze Age Greek history. The tour was well organized. The tour guide, in this instance, was one of the best I have experienced. He was knowledgeable and spoke clearly and distinctly.

Richard H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The coach picked us up on schedule at out hotel.The coach and driver were excellent throughout the whole trip. The tour guide was engaging and very knowledgeable for everwhere we visited, giving us additional information for places that we passed. First stop was the Corinth Canal for the rest rooms, coffee and views of the canal. This was followed by Mycenae where we visited the Museum and the Tomb of Agememnon. Mycenae is an awsome place, over 3500 years of history and the views are just stunning. After Mycenae a short drive to our lunch stop, the Amalia Hotel. We had booked lunch as part of the package, those members of the group who had not booked had a choice from the À la carte menu. After an excellent lunch it was onward to the coastal town of Nauplia. We had free time here to view the beautiful shopping centre and colouful Bouganvillea flowers everywhere. Additonally views of the three castles that have been built here over many centuries to guard the town and coast. Our last stop was the ancient healing centre of Epidaurus and the beautiful theatre. The theatre is one of the best preserved and is still in use today. Last stop was another coffee and rest room stop at the Corinth Canal before finally being dropped off at our respective hotels. An excellent trip I'd happily recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

wonderful, good layout, beautiful views, enjoyable guide, good lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A long day (13 hours) but well worth it. We stopped for a rest break at the Korinth canal then after Mycenae stopped for lunch which was a 3 course Meal in a lovely country Hotel. Our tour guide was patient, amazing and extremely informative!!.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent guide. She was very knowledgeable, and you felt you were able to see the entire site (albeit a little rushed at times). As our son has diabetes we chose not to include the lunch option. However, this meant that as lunch was at an isolated hotel, we had to sit in the car park for an hour. There was a photo stop (for about 5 minutes) after lunch in a lovely town, which would have been nicer for us to have spent an hour rather than the car park. Overall, a very good trip, but beware if you do not choose the lunch option you will have to bring your own food with you, and eat it in a car park.

gerryc
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A good day tour for outside of Athens.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The theater is amazing and Mycenae ruins are worth the trip. The history in this place is astonishing. The guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

exelent service .lunch and mainly the guide

Cerdita
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Really enjoyed this tour - our guide Katarina was lovely; friendly, efficient and very knowledgeable. Enjoyed both Mycaenae and Epidaurus. Both important sites if you're interested in Ancient Greek history, and the visits were well-organised with enough time to get a good look round both. Would recommend this tour as a very good way to get a taste for the attractions of the Pelopponese. If I had to comment, I would suggest slightly longer at Nauplion; it looked like a lovely town, but we didn't really get long enough to look round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our trip to the Peloponnese! Our guide, Antonis, provided helpful commentary throughout the (very scenic) bus ride, and the itinerary - Corinth Canal, Mycenae, Napflion, and Epidavros - made for a full but manageable day. The only thing we would have changed would be to forego the stop at the tourist-trap pottery shop (which, fortunately, was brief) and instead add the time to the break at Napflion. As a side note, getting the lunch option will probably save you a couple of Euros, but the benefit of buying your own lunch is that you get to order off of the menu at the restaurant. (Note that, while some of the reviews imply that you'll get to choose your restaurant if you don't get the lunch option, this was not the case for us - there was no freedom to choose a restaurant.) Bring plenty of water, wear sunblock, and have fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Maria was a fabulous tour guide--very knowledgeable, personable, well-organized, and professional. We learned a lot in one day and the walking/riding balance was perfect. There were other stops along the way and just the right amount of time on each stop. Comfortable bus, and great lunch at the family-run restaurant. Overall, this package was a great value for the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved the day tour. The only thing I would change is a stop at Ancient Corinth rather than the very brief (20 minutes) stop at Nafplio. Our tour guide was awesome and gave us good insights into some of the history and civilization for both Mycanae and Epidavros. Would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide was cheerful, engaging, and had a background in archeology, which was the perfect combination. Had an excellent lunch at a beautiful, modern hotel. The sites were all worthwhile. The ruins at Mycenae are extensive and include a huge burial tomb you can enter. Epidaurus has an impressive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best tour guide in 6 trips to Europe since 2011. Improvements: We were 10 ft from the water and the Agean and we didnt stop. Similarly, we could have stopped in the old capital and walked around. Beautiful city, but we just drove through and saw the markets through the window.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour went well. Lunch was great. Very informative guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great all day trip from Athen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The trip was organized by Chat Tours and it was wonderful. The guide provided us with very good historical information so that by the time we had reached each site, we all had good understanding of what we were looking at and what we were hearing. Few tours give such depth. It was very impressive. The tour was the perfect length with stops between the two main sights (Mycenae and Epidaurus) to stretch and see other things, like the Canal at Corinth and some breathtaking scenery along the coast.

Mr. Dean Filkins
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An amazing tour from start-to-finish. The guide was a fountain of knowledge on all aspects of the trip and provided great insight into the history and origins of each location. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very knowledgeable guide with a great sense of humor! We really enjoyed the entire day, the time at all of the sites seemed well planned. The lunch was quite good.

Robert C P
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Dear Viator,
Both trips were a huge success and perfect for the free time we had available while in Athens. We did appreciate the message awaiting us when we arrived at our hotel. It confirmed the pick up time for the following morning and then again the message sent to our tour guide the afternoon of our Delphi Tour confirming the time for pick up on the second tour, a service showing a caring attitude to your clients, we felt the our business mattered. Both tours were wonderful and really set us up for our Greece visit. Thank you.

sandyrass
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Really great tour... thoroughly recommend. Mycenae and Epidaurus are incredible. One point though - CUT OUT the corinth canal stop - looking at a crap canal for HALF AN HOUR was unnecessary - 5 seconds covered the value of a view of a canal. the remaining 29 minutes and 55 seconds was wasted. we stood waiting for the coach driver to come back so we could go. Corinth canal is a TOTAL NOTHING.

Mycenae 10/10, Epidaurus 10/10.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I absolutely loved this trip, and our guide Daphne, who was fantastic. I had learned about Mycenae in art history many years ago, and seeing it was stunning. I heard other people commenting that the views were outstanding and the description of each sight was fantastic, so you really don't need to know about it before you go to the site. It was great to get out of Athens for a day and tour the countryside. I would definitely recommend this tour!!!

From USD $ 97.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31404

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message