4.5 star rating: Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Athens, Greece
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Well organized with a useful commentary.However, on all three tours the tour organisers reneged on the pickup at our hotel, Hotel Katerina, despite it being listed as one of the pickup points.They should be admonished for this failure to deliver.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

It was good. The Lunch was great. The tour guide was very informative, funny and nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

the trip was very good,our tour guide was good,explained everything about the history.the weather was fabulous,mycenae was beautiful,surrounded by mountains,cool and fresh air,flowers were in bloom.the walk around the ruins was very nice.the scenery was spectacular all round.in epidaurus which was after lunch,the theatre was splendid .so a must visit if you are visiting athens for the first time and are interested in history.we had bought our lunch at hotel amalia where the tour had a lunch break.it was nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

the lunch was terrible

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

The antient theater at Epidaurus was great, and the rest of the sights were interesting. I would recommend the tour.

Loo E
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Good combination of 2 relics in this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This was a great tour, and a nice way to fit a lot of things in in one day. We spent about an hour at Mycenae, which was about enough time for us, but may be too short for others.

Rudy V
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This tour was very good! Okay, everything must be quickly done because the full program but it didn't felt that way. The bus also stopped at the Corinth Canal and lunch was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

A day well spent. The sites were impressive, the guide was informative, and the transportation was comfortable. The 'optional' lunch gave a choice between eating or not eating. The location was an isolated tour operator-owned or associated hotel on the road between Mycenae and Nauphlion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The historical sites were fantastic, a must see, however the tour guide was not great. Also, we were rushed through Mycenae just so we can have an hour pit stop for lunch at a hotel in the middle of nowhere, and then dropped off in a local town for 40 minutes with nothing to do. The people who took the no lunch option had no choice but to buy lunch at the hotel as there was nothing else.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

We had a great guide for this trip, gave us so much info on Greece in general as well as on the sites. The Mycenaen ruins were amazing, take the time to visit the little museum too. Unfortunately we got caught in a wild thunderstorm en route to Epidaurus so didn't spend much time there. The lunch was very mediocre....we had taken the day trip to Delphi the day before and once again ate at a hotel instead of somewhere interesting, same hotel chain, exact same food. The hotels were out of the way so there was nowhere else to eat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

the trip was very nice However, the tour guide`s English was not too clear. The lunch we were served was great and the hotel was beautiful

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Nice trip and spectacular destinations. There is very little time to really see them, though: one day is really not much to visit both these sites and also make a stop for lunch. After the official (very short) tour bit at Mycenae and Epidaurus there was still a lot more I wanted to see but there wasn't enough time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Epidaurus is outstanding , the theatre in particular amazing and absolutely a must see. The Corinth canal where we spend time on the way is very very impressive and well worth the halt. Mycenae is like Delphi, most of the ruins not in any reasonable shape leaving a lot to the imagination. The Lion Gate is very impressive, and one can see the Grave Circles quite well and the Tomb of Tholos. The short stay at Nafplion was also good though it is more a lunch halt and the three course lunch for ten euros great value. Excellent guide and excellent bus as usual.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour guide was nice, pleasant and well informed. The tours at Mycenae and Epidaurus were great.
However we only had 25 minutes in Nafplio - not enough time to actually see or do anything!
Prepaid lunch that came with the tour was absolutely unacceptable, not to say awful!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The guide makes the trip and unfortunately we had such a fantastic one on the other trip this one wasn't quite as good. A better lunch should be provided. Disappointing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This is a difficult review to write because in many ways this tour was fantastic. I would recommend it to others and do it again myself but there were definitely some aspects of it that I wish had been different. First, the strengths: Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and attentive to the questions and needs of the group. The tour helped us understand what we were seeing and put everything into the correct historical context. We would never have gotten as much out of it if we had gone on our own. I was glad for the brief stop at the Corinth Canal and the stop in Nafplio because both were places I had wanted to see.

Now, the weaknesses: The tour group included both English and French speakers. For this reason, the guide would give all the information in one language and then repeat it in the other. As someone who speaks both languages, this was excruciatingly boring after a while. It also left us standing still for longer periods than we would have otherwise, sometimes in very hot places. The other thing I wish had been done differently was lunch. The food where the group was taken for lunch was edible but not great, however it didn't look to me like there were many options in the area if we had opted not to have lunch included. I wish the trip had been arranged so that lunch was in Nafplio which was not only beautiful but had many lovely looking lunch spots along the shore.

As for Mycenae and Epidaurus themselves, don't miss them if you visit Greece... they are well worth the trip. Argolis is beautiful!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This trip was a small group and was very interesting. The guide Stathis was really informative and we had plenty of time to view the sites. We did not have the included lunch but we were able to buy a lovely sandwich at the hotel bar where the lunch is held and sit on the terrace looking at the pool

Dipranil
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Trip - not too much to see. only go for this trip if you have already been on the ones to Meteora or Delphi. Highlight for me was the tomb and the theatre. The landscape was pretty good though. Guide a bit rude. Basically told one of the co-passengers to shut up as the guide was speaking.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

i chose this tour because it said that it goes to napflio apart from the rest of itenary however it stops in carpark to take a photo 6 km away when i questioned if it is going to napflio as stated in brochure they said no and just drove thru one street. the rest of the trip was ok and informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Epidaurus is gorgeous...Mycenae is ok. However, our tour guide was very detached and did not explain much. We did other tours with this tour company that were great... but this one not so much. They also take you to Amalia hotel for lunch which was not very good...

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

This a very long day trip - however enjoyable in places. The lunch let this trip down bit time - the place we stopped for lunch had some authentic tavernas and the trip had lunch at the biggest restaurant in town and the food was awful - not tradionally greek - a plate of grapes for dessert between 4 people - not good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The hotel pick up and drop off was a very nice service, lunch was very good and a bargain for the price. The main reason I gave this a three star rather than a 4 or 5 star is because the air conditioning in the smaller bus did not really work, it was very hot, the guide really tried to answer all the questions, but some people just did not listen and she repeated things over and over to answer questions, also, she did not
look for a shady place to talk and we stood in the hot sun for long periods for her to repeat facts. The drive was very beautiful and the destination is well worth the trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Our guide was very difficult to understand, which resulted in missing a lot of the (I'm sure) wonderful information he was sharing with us. Finally, about 1/2 way through, he began to ask us if we understood what he was saying. That was better, as he slowed down and spoke English more clearly. Shame to have lost the first half of the narration though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Lucky we had a guide with some humour as this made the trip more enjoyable. Had to drop some passengers at Nauplio and think this would be a good place for a visit to be included,

From USD $ 96.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 31404

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message