• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 40 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Auckland Discovery City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 40 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Short and insightful tour with a very knowledgeable guide

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Good overview of the entire city of Auckland....all parts. I would recommend addiing the aquarium to the tour as we did since the aquarium is very unique with its focus on the seas of Antarctica. The Penguin Encounter was very well done along with the recreations of the base camps of the explorers.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Interesting tour that gave an idea of where things were in and around the city. Very friendly driver.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Enjoyed the tour. Great sights. Pete, the driver, was very informative, polite and funny.

COLIN S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Great start to the holiday, apart for the crap weather. But driver was excellent and knew his stuff, the 5 hours went very quickly.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I totally enjoyed listening to the driver/tour guide - Peter was fantastic! I wish the trip to the island would be much longer as the boat ride was longer than the island stay (was just there to have a quick pee). Over-all I enjoyed it and would confidently recommend a 4.5 rating. Cheers!

Caitlin G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

This tour was a great opportunity to see the city and explore the streets with a knowledgeable guide. The sights overlooking the city were amazing and you could see everything, with breathtaking views.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This is the second time we have used Viator on a vacation and we would recommend the company for their tour selection and their performance. We had just disembarked a cruise ship in Auckland. We were surprised that the disembarkation included a city tour, so the city tour the next day was a bit redundant. The good news, however, was that I didn't have a camera as we left the ship. The Viator tour fixed that nicely. The highlights of the tour were stops to view the Harbor Bridge and a visit to Mt. Eden, a volcanic cone that overlooks the city. Weather cooperated, allowing excellent views on both days. The tour gives one an overall sense of the city. We were signed up for an option to descend under the water in a viewing tube to see the natural sea life, but elected to miss that so we'd have more time for lunch before our afternoon harbor cruise.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Very enjoyable.

Benjamin P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

This was a fun activity. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best but our tour guide was fantastic having an incredible amount of knowledge and jokes which compensated for the rainy day. Kelly Tarlton's was the best especially the penguins, so cute. This is the best and quickest way to get to know Auckland city.

Kirstyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

If you don't have long in Auckland, this is a good way of seeing the main sights and hearing some local stories and information. I didn't enjoy Kelly Tarlton's as much as I was hoping to but may have been because I was sharing it with lots of screaming kids during their school holidays.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

Personal, informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

Be sure to go to Kelly Tarlton's. It's well worth it to see the penguins and sea life. It is fantastic what they did with the old, sewage tanks.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We learned a lot about Auckland and we plan to come back when we have more time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

The tour guide was mediocre which downgraded this tour to three stars from four. Auckland is a big city with few "key" sites. There is a long bridge, parks, monuments...the usual things you see in a city of a milion plus people. The Space Needle could be seen from several places the bus stopped for photographs, but you need to go on your own to get the vista of the city it provides. The tour did not include Devonport, a neat little craftsy area across the bay that sits below the extinct volcano Mt. Victoria.

From USD $ 52.33

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS1_4

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message