• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 29 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Auckland Highlights combined with Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 29 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Bruce M
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

The four stars are all awarded for the Wilderness Experience Eco-Tour, which is definitely a must. The sights were well chosen, and the guide was fantastic. The Auckland Highlights section was good enough, but a bit too much time was spent looking at properties and talking about house prices.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

The scope of this tour was amazing, and the tour guides are very knowledgeable about the area.

Mei Ling C
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Superb!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Lovely to see such unspoiled country and seaside. And we had a very knowledgeable driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

We only had one full day in Auckland, and this trip gave us an insight into both the city and surrounding areas, allowing time at interesting sights including Auckland museum, the beach, and Kauri rain forest. Outstanding experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We loved our tour! It was very informative and fun. We went on this tour straight from landing from our flight so we had some personal items with us. Wish we had known to leave our valuables in our hotel or something so that we did have to have it with us all the time. Nothing happened but just wish we had known to leave the valuables behind. Also, we were supposed to have one hour break between the two tours for lunch, do to scheduling and traffic we only had about 30 minutes to get food and eat. It was a bit rushed but we managed. Besides the two minor things, we loved the tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Enjoyed both the city part and the rainforest part, a nice way to get a good perspective of New Zealand. The guides were very knowledgeable and the tour well organized. Would recommend this as a good overall view of Auckland.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a great tour because it allows you to not only explore around the city but also takes you across to the otherside of the island into the rainforest. The staff are very friendly and knowldgeable. Its a great way to spend the day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The city part was just ok, but the museum was amazing! I wish we could have stayed longer. The bush and beach section was great and gorgeous. Definitely worth doing!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

So this had two different tour guides, for AM and PM. AM tour, make sure you get the right itinerary when you check-in for the tour! We went around Auckland downtown, local residential areas, include the upscale ones gorgeous houses, folksy commentary of the Auckland lifestyle for those who may be interested in moving here. Saw the Domain and War Museum which was ok, nothing like Te Papa. Short visit, just 30 minutes. AM tour is a short summary of Auckland for those with little time to get the highlights.
PM tour, had a really nice guide, the best tour guide, deserves awards! Fab time in Waitakere, walked down to the base of a waterfall, which made the whole day worth it. Just spectacular! Lots of great photos. A tricky walk down, kinda steep, so be careful. But totally worth it. Then went down to the black sandy beaches. A melancholy beauty of the place, quiet cold desolate but lots of great photo opps. Wow! Then saw Kauri trees, and did not-strenuous rainforest walks pretty easy, just wet and muddy, with great trees/ferns/foliage, even some birds. So overall a fab time and tour.
Only sucky thing was lunch which was meager, just some sandwich/snacks on your own. I was starving by the tour's end in evening. But the day was well worth it overall! Highly recommend. Also, if you go in winter get a Marmot hardshell and North Face softshell, and wear layers. You won't regret it! I'm so glad I had mine handy. Plus outdoor shoes, not tennies. Good grip soles.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The tour of town was good, but the forest and beach were superb. For a tree fern and kauri tree enthusiast like me, it was brilliant! The guide was well-informed and a great character.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

Mount Eden was a great photo stop. A trip to the museum was included, but it was very crowded and confusing to get through the crowd. The trip to the west coast was great. The driver shared a lot of history with us and the beach was gorgeous. Due to a road closure, we went to an alternate waterfall. It was definitely a much more strenuous hike, but worth it.

Eric R
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

City tour part provided little information and didn't show much that was interesting. Best avoided. Wilderness experience was better, much more information, more interesting.

Special Offer

From USD $ 159.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3582BOTH

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message