3.5 star rating: Worth doing 23 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, concludes in Rotorua, New Zealand
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 23 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The Waitomo Caves are spectacular; the rest of the trip (mostly through charming agricultural lands) could have been seen just as easily by car or local bus and the guide seemed uninformed about the remarkable features of the landscape and native forests in the vicinity. The air conditioner was not functioning and other riders were complaining although it did not seem all that humid to us.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Great tour guide and bus driver.
Food not so good though. There was not actual morning tea, they just handed a muffin at the start of the trip. Lunch was not better.
I would recommend people to buy something fresh at the Waitomo Caves for lunch or to take some sandwiches/Fruits with you.
Expensive considering that you only get off the bus for 30 minutes to visit the Waitomo Caves but you get to see a lot of the country side.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

Expensive for what we got. I'm sure some if not all the "glow worms" are in fact LED lights as the worms would be too disturbed by all the tourist activity to glow as they appear to do. Driver was helpful

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

The tour guide did an excellent job, the caves were not what I had expected, if I had the chance to do it over I probably would've gone black water rafting instead.

Clare B
United Arab Emirates

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2007

The cave is interesting and the glow worms look really good, but it only took about 45 minutes to go round. Convenient way to get around the country though.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

The driver refused to drop me at my hotel despite the fact that I had paid for that service and he dropped everyone else staying in Rotorua. The driver never shut up for the whole journey which was a bit trying after the first few hours. The glow worms were good.

Janice B
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

We brought a buffet lunch but that was changed to lunch on the bus which was a not very nice at all & water to go with it the driver was new we think as was shocking to listen to talking to us plus people were later to board so driver was in a bad mood right from the start had been looking forward to the trip but was not happy about the outcome

Anonymous

Anonymous

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2007

The tour was overpriced and very disappointing. Even though we got to Rotorua an hour earlier than scheduled, the bus driver refused to drop us off at our accommodation because it wasn't a standard drop off location.

From USD $ 196.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS11

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message