Insider's Guide to Auckland

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 103 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lloyd G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The trip was excellent showing amazing scenery and giving an opportunity to see several very important historical sites. My only issue is that we were told to board the 3:00 ferry to return when we could have taken the 3:30 as the bus did not leave until 4:30.

Brock S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The bay of islands is a must do tour, the waitangi treaty grounds was really interesting and the views were great, russell was a quiet little town also which we both enjoyed going to, it was an amazing experience :)

lyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour, wouldn't have missed it. First time in N.Z. and the sights were just fabulous.
The tour guide was great and there were plenty of great places to photograph.
Lyn - Australia

Kelly J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent trip and the coach driver was really informative and friendly - thank you!!!!p>Highly recommended!!!

Keith D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a wonderful day. From the very friendly gentleman who picked us up on time to Graham the also helpful and informative driver, all worked well to give us a very memorable day. And I must not forget the chap who did the tour at Russell. He also was great. Thank you very much.

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This day trip worked well from the pickup to the drop off. Both transfers worked as advertised without any problems. the driver was great and interesting to listen to. While the drive up and back is long, the coach was comfortable, and there was a break in both directions. the inclusion of the treaty house and ferry tickets to russell made it a great day. Be aware that you may need to wait till around 3pm to have lunch, or at least buy something at the morning tea stop to fill the gap. I think this tour was good value for money.

Virginia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Dave, the driver, coordinator, information specialist was excellent. The sites more than met our expectations. The tour of Treaty House and grounds was excellent as well. It was informative and answered several questions from previous days in Museums in Wellington and Auckland. The bus was reasonabley comfortable (It is hard to sit for a long time) and the breaks along the way were most appreciated.

Lorraine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We had an excellent day in the Bay of Islands. The Tour was very well organised and the driver was very helpful and informative.

nell USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent. Only problem was there was no time for lunch until about 3 pm. Maybe lunch break couldbe schedules before the mini Russell tour/

Noel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

We had a great day. Saw lots of amazing things. The driver was a very informative tour guide and obviously loved his job and country.

Howard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Booking ahead for tours was the best plan. It allowed us to see as much as possible in a short time. Arriving in a country not knowing where to go and see wastes time and money. Also booking in advance saves money as there is often a deal on reserving a place on a tour or hop-on-hop-off bus in advance of the tour date.
Very happy with Viator's booking service and reservation process. Went straight onto the tour with our names already noted on reservation lists of the operator.
Cheer H K.

Kathleen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Excellent trip,bus driver extremely informative and helpful,very knowledgeable,Thank You

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Peter our guide and driver was EXCELLENT. He provided an informative and humorous commentary and was the best guide we have ever had. Despite wet and windy weather the trip was a success, largely due to Peter.

Helen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Great trip to see the sights from Auckland to the Bay of Islands and take in the historic town of Russel. Very well organised and run, with informative commentary throughout the day. Time for free activity too on the day trip, and highly recommended for anybody not wishing to miss this lovely area, but who has only limited time available.

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Very good trip and well organised but the fantastic scenery was marred by torrential rain. In better weather, it wouls have been quite magical.

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This proved a rewarding day - the Driver/guide was knowledgeable and had a light touch with the information. The guide at the Treaty Grounds, too, was knowledgeable and passionate about sharing her heritage with the group and the mini-tour of Russell was interesting. In all, a not to be missed experience

Jane F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great trip

Frances A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

As a single woman traveling by herself, I found this a fantastic day trip, great value for money, wonderful bus driver that was knowledgeable about different areas, and some interesting facts to share with people on the bus. I wouldn't have seen all this if I had hired a car by myself, and wouldn't have got all of this info. Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone. And the fact that they picked me up and dropped me off at my hotel was a bonus, I liked the fact that they had an info letter for me at check in, never had that with another company before!

Sharon V United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A brilliant, excellent driver and guide very helpful and friendly. The boat trip was super and we went through the hole.

Robert M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Wish I could've stayed overnight. Will know for the next trip.

Dewi P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

It was great trip with nice view. But we didn't actually have time for lunch. It is recommended to buy your own lunch at the cafe when we stopped for morning tea on the way to Bay of Islands.

John Z Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Superb day at the Bay of Islands with an extremely knowledgeable and excellent driver, look forward to booking future tours with Viator.

kristy b

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyable drive. Very scenic. The russles tour was really beautiful. Was not a fan of the treaty sighning reserve as the gude used head phones and i found it hard to walk and listen at the same time. I had no idea what the sight was for in the end, and did not find it informative.

Jim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The coach captain was excellent. His commentary enroute was most informative. We went on the ferry to Russell and did not travel on the launch to view orcas and see the hole in the rock. The mini bus on Russell was quite interesting - the driver commentary was great

declanjoshua

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Most of the time is travelling, but the guide/driver was superb,....and once there, location is truly stunning

Viewing 2 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 150.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message