4 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed an excellent trip to the Bay of Islands - wish we could have spent longer there. The arrangements worked extremely well although we would have liked more tome at the Treaty Grounds - the difficulty in coordinating different tours on the same trip meant that some of our party had to get back to the wharf to start another activity.
The driver was excellent and provided a really good commentary on the journey. All in all we had a great time - the only drawback was the boneshaker of a coach.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The by of islands is beautiful. The tour manages to cover a lot in a short space of time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour driver / guide, Erin made this trip for me. He was a terrific driver, four hours each way to Bay of Islands, and all the while he was able to fill us with interesting facts about New Zealand, in excellent English that could be understood by everyone, no matter where they were from. I was extremely grateful for that. Many of us wished we could have had more time at Russell, but the one hour tour of the community allowed us to see more than we would have if we had been left on our own to explore. There was so much to see, but the distance we traveled allowed only limited time wherever we stopped. Some people stopped to stay for a day or two. I especially enjoyed the view of the landscape on the long bus trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful from start to finish driver needs congratulating on his knowledge and his wonderful way of imparting this. Enjoyed it imensley.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The trip was excellent showing amazing scenery and giving an opportunity to see several very important historical sites. My only issue is that we were told to board the 3:00 ferry to return when we could have taken the 3:30 as the bus did not leave until 4:30.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The bay of islands is a must do tour, the waitangi treaty grounds was really interesting and the views were great, russell was a quiet little town also which we both enjoyed going to, it was an amazing experience :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour, wouldn't have missed it. First time in N.Z. and the sights were just fabulous.
The tour guide was great and there were plenty of great places to photograph.
Lyn - Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent trip and the coach driver was really informative and friendly - thank you!!!!p>Highly recommended!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a wonderful day. From the very friendly gentleman who picked us up on time to Graham the also helpful and informative driver, all worked well to give us a very memorable day. And I must not forget the chap who did the tour at Russell. He also was great. Thank you very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This day trip worked well from the pickup to the drop off. Both transfers worked as advertised without any problems. the driver was great and interesting to listen to. While the drive up and back is long, the coach was comfortable, and there was a break in both directions. the inclusion of the treaty house and ferry tickets to russell made it a great day. Be aware that you may need to wait till around 3pm to have lunch, or at least buy something at the morning tea stop to fill the gap. I think this tour was good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Dave, the driver, coordinator, information specialist was excellent. The sites more than met our expectations. The tour of Treaty House and grounds was excellent as well. It was informative and answered several questions from previous days in Museums in Wellington and Auckland. The bus was reasonabley comfortable (It is hard to sit for a long time) and the breaks along the way were most appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We had an excellent day in the Bay of Islands. The Tour was very well organised and the driver was very helpful and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Excellent. Only problem was there was no time for lunch until about 3 pm. Maybe lunch break couldbe schedules before the mini Russell tour/

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

We had a great day. Saw lots of amazing things. The driver was a very informative tour guide and obviously loved his job and country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Booking ahead for tours was the best plan. It allowed us to see as much as possible in a short time. Arriving in a country not knowing where to go and see wastes time and money. Also booking in advance saves money as there is often a deal on reserving a place on a tour or hop-on-hop-off bus in advance of the tour date.
Very happy with Viator's booking service and reservation process. Went straight onto the tour with our names already noted on reservation lists of the operator.
Cheer H K.

From USD $ 170.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message