• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Great day ,very enjoyable ,the tour guide on the day very organised.. The Bay of Islands would highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Big day out! The countryside on the way to the Bay is wonderful. Luxury coach...great commentary. Treaty house was informative and the guide was very knowledgeable. Not much time to spend at the Bay of Islands though. Russell is a lovely place, but you only really get enough time (about an hour) to do the tour and then you need to hop back on the ferry to get back to the meeting point. There was time to look around at Paiha - which is a nice little village with interesting stores to look through.

PETRINA N
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Will be excellent to include Cape Brett!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

I enjoyed my tour, it was long but I had the opportunity to see a lot and the driver was knowledgeable and gave a lot of explanations. I suggest to include a lunch in Bay of Island.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It was a very good experience! The scenery out to the islands was absolutely breathtaking!! I visited a small fishing town and wish I could have spent more time there tho. Overall, it was nice.

Eric R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Well organised, tour guide is informative. Not a lot to see in Paihia itself so you need to organise your own side tours to visit the islands and surrounds before heading back.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Due to very poor weather, high winds and heavy rain due to cyclone over the island of Tonga that had taken place over a week prior to our excursion, it wasn't much fun walking around.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Well organised and efficiently executed tour which packed in the sights and Maori history. If anything, the day wasn't long enough!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

The phone number to confirm was incorrect, and it took 3 mobile calls to find the correct one. In fact, a rival bus company suggested the right number to ring. As it happened, we did need to ring because our details assured us we were to be picked up at our hotel, but the new bus company did not pick up from our hotel. The confusion made the tour beginning rather stressful.

LEILANI L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Worth the trip, Russell was very pretty.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

While the tour itself was very interesting, I would not recommend using Viator to book it. It turns out that the tour is actually run by two different groups: one handles the coach trip and another the ferry ride in the Bay of Islands. My friend and I tried to organise for pickup from our hotel in Auckland on the morning of the tour but were given a massive run-around. The number provided on our Viator docket was for one company, who said that they had no idea about the particular trip we were talking about. We then spent a very long time on the phone to another number provided to us by the lady at the first company - eventually she said that she had to call Australia to confirm the details of our trip and to organise for us to be picked up at our hotel. The hotel pickup did not run smoothly either, with a cab having to be sent twice as the first driver could not find our hotel! My advice would be to see if you can book this trip or a similar one directly through an actual tour company rather than going through a third party.

Kirstyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

I enjoyed this tour. It was another one day but a good way to see the countryside. I thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the Treaty House and Russell and learnt a lot. The weather wasn't great but this would probably be a wonderful tour in summer.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Pleased we did this trip to the Bay of Islands & experienced some of NZ history.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

beautiful islands, worth the visit if you are in north island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Bay of Islands tour is a long day – would recommend doing the 2 day tour so that you have time to enjoy northern New Zealand . We did hit some good lookouts! The trip to the Māori Reserve was unnecessary and LONG. Would have preferred to have more time out on a boat in the bay of islands. Don’t get the lunch – there are plenty of places and a time to eat on your own at one of the local restaurants.

From USD $ 221.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message