4.5 star rating: Recommended 97 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Bay of Islands tour is a long day – would recommend doing the 2 day tour so that you have time to enjoy northern New Zealand . We did hit some good lookouts! The trip to the Māori Reserve was unnecessary and LONG. Would have preferred to have more time out on a boat in the bay of islands. Don’t get the lunch – there are plenty of places and a time to eat on your own at one of the local restaurants.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

tour was good, bus driver was very arragant, we missed a segment of the tour once we got to the bay of Islands because of miss understanding (Waitangi Treaty House Tour) which he said was worth $35 if anyone booked it, would have liked to have a more friendlier guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour is well organized and everything went smoothly. Our criticism is of the commentary on the way up to the Bay of Islands. The driver spoke too fast for foreigners to understand (I am seeing New Zealand with a German friend who speaks good English but needs it spoken clearly). The volume was high. The content was very mixed in quality. Information on life in NZ was mixed with useless information about his own family. It would be preferable to have a taped commentary that can be switched on at the appropriate place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Bit of a long trip there and back, but Russell Island was fabulous

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Really enjoyed the trip, even thought the weather was bad. Would recommend you pack food though... Not enough if any time for lunch!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The door-to-door service was great. I chose to do the Russell highlights tour. If I could do this excursion again, I would opt for a boat tour around the bay, maybe dolphin watching.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A lot of driving for a short time there. Lunch was a problem as there was no time to get anything and the tour in Russell ran over so missed the boat and arrived back too late to eat or get anything worth while.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

little bit boring tour and too much to travel by bus.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Far to big a day need to stop over

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour is a long day however it gives you a good insight to the Bay of Islands.
Arriving at the Bay of Islands you discover the historic sites of Waitangi and Russell. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds was rushed in order to catch the ferry from Paihia to Russell, more time could have been spent here.
The ferry to Russell was excellent and the bus tour around Russell was informative even when the weather was rainy.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We were not happy with the long drive and poor defined itinerary offered. We didn't really know what we were doing and the driver/tour guide never answered our questions for clarity. It seemed he was making it up as he went along. He also gave some commentary along the way that was offensive to most of the passengers. When someone is giving a tour to show people how great a site or attraction is, I feel they should avoid political or contentious statements that make the guests feel uncomfortable. Not a tour we would take now that we know what it is about nor would we recommend to a friend.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

As we were travelling off - season, we did not have a " discrete tour". A mixed group of visitors all with different bookings and different agendas were parcelled into one bus, with an elderly driver, who had difficulty in managing the mixture of tours that his passengers had booked.
As the driver didnt know what tour and activities his passengers had booked, he was very uncertain in giving help, and lost some of the party.
We got through the day, but some on the bus were less fortunate. The bus was used as a vehicle also to deliver some passengers to the Bay of Islands for the start of a 3 day tour, and to collect other passengers who had already completed 2 or 3 day tours in the northlands.
The tour organisers were clearly making economies during the winter/spring season.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour is good but everything is too rushed. Would have liked to see a lot more and spent most of the time being driven to and from the three sites.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Too much time on bus...3 hours each way....didn't see the islands. Pick up and return to/from hotel was not direct. Lunch was ridiculous ! Never again !!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

The trip itself was beautiful, however it seemed unorganised. The German audio guide was missing and as some people were late the tour started later and seemed rushed all the way home. As we booked a lunch with the main ticket we expected a more substantial lunch for the price. The view however and route itself was fantastic

Don
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

Too far for the schedule. No time was allowed for lunch or shopping at Russel.

Susan F
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Tour was rushed due to the distance from Auckland, but good.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Unfortunately the taxi did not pick us up from the Hotel and when we ordered another Taxi by the time we got there the bus had gone. Both of us were so disappointed as we were both looking forward to the trip to the Bay of Islands. Perhaps next time when we are in New Zealand.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Over priced incomplete tour, we never got to tour the bay of islands, go to the Waitangi treaty grounds, did not have a tour of the Waitangi treaty house or go to the Maori meeting house to see a Waka war Canoe, we spent 4 hours in a bus to be dropped at a ferry terminal and told to go that way, when we got to the ferry we asked the lovely ferry driver about our pre paid lunch,he ran back to retrieve it for us, we were then ferried to the island of Russell with a paper bag containing our lunch and left there for the duration of our trip, we were expecting to actually see some islands during a cruise,$500 out of pocket and I still don't know. "The Bay of Islands" complete waste of money and very misleading

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Very disappointed. The driver was good, the scenery beautiful but 3-4 hours each way on the bus was awful, I felt like it was a rush rush rush sort of Clayton's tour; two loud chattering young people behind us for the whole journey didn't help. It was nice of the driver to tell us that "to the right, is a beautiful town etc etc", fine, IF we had stopped there. I think next time I will start at the bottom of the reviews rather than the top that give five stars!! I think we would have been MUCH better off hiring a car with a GPS and doing our own thing, in your own time, however, it was our first trip to New Zealand, and we had no idea. I would have preferred to stop at a different café rather than the same one in both directions. The tour of Russell pointed out houses and how much they were, something I really didn't even care about. Sorry Viator, this time I felt the tour was way overpriced, will not fall into that trap again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

The Tour guide was soo BAD. This trip could have been so interesting

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Very disappointed. Arrived at Whaitangi, no guide to show us around, so very quick tour, Rushed back to catch ferry to Russell, skipper allowed a very young man to drive ferry ( too young to have qualifications)Mini bus driver late and no time to see sights. 5 of us paid $171. Very overpriced.

From USD $ 145.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message