Insider's Guide to Auckland

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 103 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

LEILANI L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Worth the trip, Russell was very pretty.

Fleur B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

While the tour itself was very interesting, I would not recommend using Viator to book it. It turns out that the tour is actually run by two different groups: one handles the coach trip and another the ferry ride in the Bay of Islands. My friend and I tried to organise for pickup from our hotel in Auckland on the morning of the tour but were given a massive run-around. The number provided on our Viator docket was for one company, who said that they had no idea about the particular trip we were talking about. We then spent a very long time on the phone to another number provided to us by the lady at the first company - eventually she said that she had to call Australia to confirm the details of our trip and to organise for us to be picked up at our hotel. The hotel pickup did not run smoothly either, with a cab having to be sent twice as the first driver could not find our hotel! My advice would be to see if you can book this trip or a similar one directly through an actual tour company rather than going through a third party.

Kirstyn M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

I enjoyed this tour. It was another one day but a good way to see the countryside. I thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the Treaty House and Russell and learnt a lot. The weather wasn't great but this would probably be a wonderful tour in summer.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Pleased we did this trip to the Bay of Islands & experienced some of NZ history.

Cynthia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

beautiful islands, worth the visit if you are in north island.

Tara L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Bay of Islands tour is a long day – would recommend doing the 2 day tour so that you have time to enjoy northern New Zealand . We did hit some good lookouts! The trip to the Māori Reserve was unnecessary and LONG. Would have preferred to have more time out on a boat in the bay of islands. Don’t get the lunch – there are plenty of places and a time to eat on your own at one of the local restaurants.

NANCY S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

tour was good, bus driver was very arragant, we missed a segment of the tour once we got to the bay of Islands because of miss understanding (Waitangi Treaty House Tour) which he said was worth $35 if anyone booked it, would have liked to have a more friendlier guide

Elizabeth F

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour is well organized and everything went smoothly. Our criticism is of the commentary on the way up to the Bay of Islands. The driver spoke too fast for foreigners to understand (I am seeing New Zealand with a German friend who speaks good English but needs it spoken clearly). The volume was high. The content was very mixed in quality. Information on life in NZ was mixed with useless information about his own family. It would be preferable to have a taped commentary that can be switched on at the appropriate place.

Jayne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Bit of a long trip there and back, but Russell Island was fabulous

Rymon R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Really enjoyed the trip, even thought the weather was bad. Would recommend you pack food though... Not enough if any time for lunch!

Carl B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The door-to-door service was great. I chose to do the Russell highlights tour. If I could do this excursion again, I would opt for a boat tour around the bay, maybe dolphin watching.

Vicki M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A lot of driving for a short time there. Lunch was a problem as there was no time to get anything and the tour in Russell ran over so missed the boat and arrived back too late to eat or get anything worth while.

Sanjaykumar G Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

little bit boring tour and too much to travel by bus.

mail

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The bus was modern and comfortable and the driver excellent but this trip entailed a long drive to Pahia - itself hardly an attractive location. The tour of the Waitangi treaty grounds was interesting but our guide needs serious coaching in presentation skills. The ferry ride to Russell was enjoyable but there's little, if anything, to do in the town other than wait for the return ferry. To make the long drive worthwhile it's best to arrange a boat trip around the bay.

david p holmes h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Far to big a day need to stop over

George W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour is a long day however it gives you a good insight to the Bay of Islands.
Arriving at the Bay of Islands you discover the historic sites of Waitangi and Russell. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds was rushed in order to catch the ferry from Paihia to Russell, more time could have been spent here.
The ferry to Russell was excellent and the bus tour around Russell was informative even when the weather was rainy.

Carolyn T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We were not happy with the long drive and poor defined itinerary offered. We didn't really know what we were doing and the driver/tour guide never answered our questions for clarity. It seemed he was making it up as he went along. He also gave some commentary along the way that was offensive to most of the passengers. When someone is giving a tour to show people how great a site or attraction is, I feel they should avoid political or contentious statements that make the guests feel uncomfortable. Not a tour we would take now that we know what it is about nor would we recommend to a friend.

Keith B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

As we were travelling off - season, we did not have a " discrete tour". A mixed group of visitors all with different bookings and different agendas were parcelled into one bus, with an elderly driver, who had difficulty in managing the mixture of tours that his passengers had booked.
As the driver didnt know what tour and activities his passengers had booked, he was very uncertain in giving help, and lost some of the party.
We got through the day, but some on the bus were less fortunate. The bus was used as a vehicle also to deliver some passengers to the Bay of Islands for the start of a 3 day tour, and to collect other passengers who had already completed 2 or 3 day tours in the northlands.
The tour organisers were clearly making economies during the winter/spring season.

Gary M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour is good but everything is too rushed. Would have liked to see a lot more and spent most of the time being driven to and from the three sites.

Marlene B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Too much time on bus...3 hours each way....didn't see the islands. Pick up and return to/from hotel was not direct. Lunch was ridiculous ! Never again !!

Kerstin L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

The trip itself was beautiful, however it seemed unorganised. The German audio guide was missing and as some people were late the tour started later and seemed rushed all the way home. As we booked a lunch with the main ticket we expected a more substantial lunch for the price. The view however and route itself was fantastic

Don Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

Too far for the schedule. No time was allowed for lunch or shopping at Russel.

Susan F Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Tour was rushed due to the distance from Auckland, but good.

Shirley G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Unfortunately the taxi did not pick us up from the Hotel and when we ordered another Taxi by the time we got there the bus had gone. Both of us were so disappointed as we were both looking forward to the trip to the Bay of Islands. Perhaps next time when we are in New Zealand.

Diane P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Over priced incomplete tour, we never got to tour the bay of islands, go to the Waitangi treaty grounds, did not have a tour of the Waitangi treaty house or go to the Maori meeting house to see a Waka war Canoe, we spent 4 hours in a bus to be dropped at a ferry terminal and told to go that way, when we got to the ferry we asked the lovely ferry driver about our pre paid lunch,he ran back to retrieve it for us, we were then ferried to the island of Russell with a paper bag containing our lunch and left there for the duration of our trip, we were expecting to actually see some islands during a cruise,$500 out of pocket and I still don't know. "The Bay of Islands" complete waste of money and very misleading

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 150.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message