Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gary M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour is good but everything is too rushed. Would have liked to see a lot more and spent most of the time being driven to and from the three sites.

Marlene B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Too much time on bus...3 hours each way....didn't see the islands. Pick up and return to/from hotel was not direct. Lunch was ridiculous ! Never again !!

Kerstin L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

The trip itself was beautiful, however it seemed unorganised. The German audio guide was missing and as some people were late the tour started later and seemed rushed all the way home. As we booked a lunch with the main ticket we expected a more substantial lunch for the price. The view however and route itself was fantastic

Don Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

Too far for the schedule. No time was allowed for lunch or shopping at Russel.

Susan F Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Tour was rushed due to the distance from Auckland, but good.

Ribu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The bus had got a flat tyre and the whole program was delayed by an hour. The Maori cultural village and treaty grounds were rushed to complete

debbietraina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

This is the worst tour I have ever taken. Not worth the tine it takes. It an all day tour but you are on the bus 7 to 8 hours and very little time in Bay of Islands. Even the two tours were poorly done and then had an hour to wait for the bus to return to Auckland. Not a tour I would EVER do again..

Shirley G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

Unfortunately the taxi did not pick us up from the Hotel and when we ordered another Taxi by the time we got there the bus had gone. Both of us were so disappointed as we were both looking forward to the trip to the Bay of Islands. Perhaps next time when we are in New Zealand.

Diane P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Over priced incomplete tour, we never got to tour the bay of islands, go to the Waitangi treaty grounds, did not have a tour of the Waitangi treaty house or go to the Maori meeting house to see a Waka war Canoe, we spent 4 hours in a bus to be dropped at a ferry terminal and told to go that way, when we got to the ferry we asked the lovely ferry driver about our pre paid lunch,he ran back to retrieve it for us, we were then ferried to the island of Russell with a paper bag containing our lunch and left there for the duration of our trip, we were expecting to actually see some islands during a cruise,$500 out of pocket and I still don't know. "The Bay of Islands" complete waste of money and very misleading

Linda1954

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Very disappointed. The driver was good, the scenery beautiful but 3-4 hours each way on the bus was awful, I felt like it was a rush rush rush sort of Clayton's tour; two loud chattering young people behind us for the whole journey didn't help. It was nice of the driver to tell us that "to the right, is a beautiful town etc etc", fine, IF we had stopped there. I think next time I will start at the bottom of the reviews rather than the top that give five stars!! I think we would have been MUCH better off hiring a car with a GPS and doing our own thing, in your own time, however, it was our first trip to New Zealand, and we had no idea. I would have preferred to stop at a different café rather than the same one in both directions. The tour of Russell pointed out houses and how much they were, something I really didn't even care about. Sorry Viator, this time I felt the tour was way overpriced, will not fall into that trap again.

Eliezer I

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

The Tour guide was soo BAD. This trip could have been so interesting

Susan O

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Very disappointed. Arrived at Whaitangi, no guide to show us around, so very quick tour, Rushed back to catch ferry to Russell, skipper allowed a very young man to drive ferry ( too young to have qualifications)Mini bus driver late and no time to see sights. 5 of us paid $171. Very overpriced.

Viewing 5 of 5

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5

From USD $ 157.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message