4 star rating: Recommended 89 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 89 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Well organised and efficiently executed tour which packed in the sights and Maori history. If anything, the day wasn't long enough!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

The phone number to confirm was incorrect, and it took 3 mobile calls to find the correct one. In fact, a rival bus company suggested the right number to ring. As it happened, we did need to ring because our details assured us we were to be picked up at our hotel, but the new bus company did not pick up from our hotel. The confusion made the tour beginning rather stressful.

LEILANI L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Worth the trip, Russell was very pretty.

Fleur B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

While the tour itself was very interesting, I would not recommend using Viator to book it. It turns out that the tour is actually run by two different groups: one handles the coach trip and another the ferry ride in the Bay of Islands. My friend and I tried to organise for pickup from our hotel in Auckland on the morning of the tour but were given a massive run-around. The number provided on our Viator docket was for one company, who said that they had no idea about the particular trip we were talking about. We then spent a very long time on the phone to another number provided to us by the lady at the first company - eventually she said that she had to call Australia to confirm the details of our trip and to organise for us to be picked up at our hotel. The hotel pickup did not run smoothly either, with a cab having to be sent twice as the first driver could not find our hotel! My advice would be to see if you can book this trip or a similar one directly through an actual tour company rather than going through a third party.

Kirstyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

I enjoyed this tour. It was another one day but a good way to see the countryside. I thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the Treaty House and Russell and learnt a lot. The weather wasn't great but this would probably be a wonderful tour in summer.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Pleased we did this trip to the Bay of Islands & experienced some of NZ history.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

beautiful islands, worth the visit if you are in north island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Bay of Islands tour is a long day – would recommend doing the 2 day tour so that you have time to enjoy northern New Zealand . We did hit some good lookouts! The trip to the Māori Reserve was unnecessary and LONG. Would have preferred to have more time out on a boat in the bay of islands. Don’t get the lunch – there are plenty of places and a time to eat on your own at one of the local restaurants.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

tour was good, bus driver was very arragant, we missed a segment of the tour once we got to the bay of Islands because of miss understanding (Waitangi Treaty House Tour) which he said was worth $35 if anyone booked it, would have liked to have a more friendlier guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour is well organized and everything went smoothly. Our criticism is of the commentary on the way up to the Bay of Islands. The driver spoke too fast for foreigners to understand (I am seeing New Zealand with a German friend who speaks good English but needs it spoken clearly). The volume was high. The content was very mixed in quality. Information on life in NZ was mixed with useless information about his own family. It would be preferable to have a taped commentary that can be switched on at the appropriate place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Bit of a long trip there and back, but Russell Island was fabulous

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Really enjoyed the trip, even thought the weather was bad. Would recommend you pack food though... Not enough if any time for lunch!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The door-to-door service was great. I chose to do the Russell highlights tour. If I could do this excursion again, I would opt for a boat tour around the bay, maybe dolphin watching.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A lot of driving for a short time there. Lunch was a problem as there was no time to get anything and the tour in Russell ran over so missed the boat and arrived back too late to eat or get anything worth while.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

little bit boring tour and too much to travel by bus.

From USD $ 168.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message