4 star rating: Recommended 83 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kirstyn M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

I enjoyed this tour. It was another one day but a good way to see the countryside. I thoroughly enjoyed the tours of the Treaty House and Russell and learnt a lot. The weather wasn't great but this would probably be a wonderful tour in summer.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Pleased we did this trip to the Bay of Islands & experienced some of NZ history.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

beautiful islands, worth the visit if you are in north island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Bay of Islands tour is a long day – would recommend doing the 2 day tour so that you have time to enjoy northern New Zealand . We did hit some good lookouts! The trip to the Māori Reserve was unnecessary and LONG. Would have preferred to have more time out on a boat in the bay of islands. Don’t get the lunch – there are plenty of places and a time to eat on your own at one of the local restaurants.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

tour was good, bus driver was very arragant, we missed a segment of the tour once we got to the bay of Islands because of miss understanding (Waitangi Treaty House Tour) which he said was worth $35 if anyone booked it, would have liked to have a more friendlier guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour is well organized and everything went smoothly. Our criticism is of the commentary on the way up to the Bay of Islands. The driver spoke too fast for foreigners to understand (I am seeing New Zealand with a German friend who speaks good English but needs it spoken clearly). The volume was high. The content was very mixed in quality. Information on life in NZ was mixed with useless information about his own family. It would be preferable to have a taped commentary that can be switched on at the appropriate place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Bit of a long trip there and back, but Russell Island was fabulous

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Bit of a long trip there and back, but Russell Island was fabulous

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Really enjoyed the trip, even thought the weather was bad. Would recommend you pack food though... Not enough if any time for lunch!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The door-to-door service was great. I chose to do the Russell highlights tour. If I could do this excursion again, I would opt for a boat tour around the bay, maybe dolphin watching.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

A lot of driving for a short time there. Lunch was a problem as there was no time to get anything and the tour in Russell ran over so missed the boat and arrived back too late to eat or get anything worth while.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

little bit boring tour and too much to travel by bus.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

We were not happy with the long drive and poor defined itinerary offered. We didn't really know what we were doing and the driver/tour guide never answered our questions for clarity. It seemed he was making it up as he went along. He also gave some commentary along the way that was offensive to most of the passengers. When someone is giving a tour to show people how great a site or attraction is, I feel they should avoid political or contentious statements that make the guests feel uncomfortable. Not a tour we would take now that we know what it is about nor would we recommend to a friend.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

As we were travelling off - season, we did not have a " discrete tour". A mixed group of visitors all with different bookings and different agendas were parcelled into one bus, with an elderly driver, who had difficulty in managing the mixture of tours that his passengers had booked.
As the driver didnt know what tour and activities his passengers had booked, he was very uncertain in giving help, and lost some of the party.
We got through the day, but some on the bus were less fortunate. The bus was used as a vehicle also to deliver some passengers to the Bay of Islands for the start of a 3 day tour, and to collect other passengers who had already completed 2 or 3 day tours in the northlands.
The tour organisers were clearly making economies during the winter/spring season.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour is good but everything is too rushed. Would have liked to see a lot more and spent most of the time being driven to and from the three sites.

From USD $ 177.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910AKLHISBOI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message