Insider's Guide to North Island

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 27 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Waitomo, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3-hours or 5-hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Black Water Rafting Waitomo Caves Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 27 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

our family group of eight had a wonderful time . the course was challenging in parts but such an unreal experience that it well worth it. i can sometimes be a little claustrophobic but no worries here at all. the guides were helpful and informative with a bit of humour attached.definately recommend it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A must do in Waitomo. The guides were incredible and the entire experience was unreal. Although claustrophobic I had a really lovely time inside the cave. The water was freezing but it didnt take too long to get used to it. Watching the glowworms was spectacular.
The only not so great thing - We ended up purchasing a CD of photographs at the end of the tour - but they werent of great quality.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It was an awesome tour and the guides were fantastic!! But we did spend a lot more time in the water than I expected and it was very very cold.

John V
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

What a way to see the caves and the glowworms. Really Amazing, despite the cold water

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We had a great time. Our guides, Jed and Tom, were very professional, funny and friendly. While the tour was more active than expected, it was an awesome experience and a lot of fun. Not for the claustrophobic or those who don't like to be cold. I would definitely do this again!

KylieS
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Cold water but you do have a wetsuit and the glow-worms are lovely! Dont really have to be able to swim for this, your inner tube does most of the work.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour was absolutely awesome, I highly recommend it! However, Viator did not book our trip with the company like they said they would, and we had problems even though it was prepaid! I will never use Viator again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

Totally cool! Great guides, great experience, very fun! Would do it again!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

Great experience, adventurous, thrilling and fun at the same time!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Had a great time and was really looking forward to this adventure. Jumping backward into the river was a little scarry but ok. Glad we practiced before we needed to do it for real in the cave.

Christopher D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Excellent experience! Just the right balance of fear and enjoyment! Excellent guides and provision of equipment.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Great fun, and our guides were great. There is a small abseiling component, and even a flying fox. Though touted as a 'rafting' tour - there is only a few minutes of this, and you're more floating slowly than going through rapids. It is in fact more of a caving experience. Don't let that turn you off though - it was great one, and one of the highlights of the tour!

From USD $ 99.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3930WAIGLOW

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message