4.5 star rating: Recommended 188 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 188 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

From the pick up from the hotel until the end of the day it was an excellent tour. The driver is very knowledgeable about the area. The highlight of the tour were the Waitomo caves, the Rotorua with the welcome presentation and the bubbling mud and eruption.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Had a wonderful time......highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great trip and Erin is a terrific Coach Driver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour is with a guide/driver named Paul. He was amazing, full of energy, very informative and super funny. He made the day unforgettable... the glow worms are a must see, mud pools and kiwi were a bonus, plus the cultural performances was a real eye-opener to the New Zeland people. The tour is worth doing, just be prepared for a tight schedule - don't be late, and unfortunately there is no time for souvenir shopping.... nevertheless, would recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour was done very professionally. The driver came right on time (actually even earlier and was patiently waiting for us) to pick us up from the hotel. The driver on the bus ride to all the different places, e.g., Caves, Rotorua, was knowledgeable and pleasant and kept right on schedule. The Caves by themselves were nice but not spectacular and neither were the worms since there weren't that many of them. The trip to the farm was very nice and the shearing part was very interesting and well run. The hotsprings were spectacular and a great experience in spite of the rain (and drizzle, occasionally). The meals (sandwich and bottle of water) were nothing to write home about but certainly adequate. All in all, a great experience. Would recommend it to any travellers new to New Zealand.
We got a free Auckland tour for booking the Cave and Rotorua tour and took the tour the next day. The guide was an elderly gentleman who obviously know Auckland very well and was able to give us the history of many of the places we passed through. Again, impressed with the overall quality of the guide and the tour .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Brillo. The caves were amazing, loved it. The trip to the Maori cultural place was good, but not very informative about how they use to live. They put on a good show, but didn;t really tell us much else. However, in NZ, you're bound to do more than one Maori thing, so everything else I did king of filled in the gaps. i would recommend it, though.

Kathryne
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was a great trip, our driver, Kenny was very knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back and do the Bay of Islands with them

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

very nice tour. The driver provided informations all the way. very helpful. the glow worm cave is amazing. too short, should stay longer. The maori , farm are also fun. very good trip. also a long day. 5 star

Margaret H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our guide chattered all the way there with shuch knowledge that it made the trip go so quckly. The caves were amazing and Rotorua turned on the fine weather. Overall an excellent day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

long but great and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Excellent! We had a great time. The staff were fantastic. I only wish I had more time to explore the Caves and Rotorua. Waitomo Caves should be on everyone's must visit list when they come to New Zealand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

My Husband and I had a fantastic day John our guide was very imformative and friendly.
Couldn't fault any part of the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very enjoyable day with a lot packed in.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The trip was awesome. The day was planned well and we had a great time .

From USD $ 242.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS16

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message