4.5 star rating: Recommended 173 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 173 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

A must do.....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

Everyone should see those glow worms. I highly recommend it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Our trip was wonderful. It was well planned and everything was perfect.

Matthew M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The Driver was very helpful and informative, it helped make the day very enjoyable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

It's a long day, but worth it! You get to see some amazing countryside along the way. One tip - if you're coming back to Auckland, bring some snacks because you won't get back until after 8pm.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Was a great Experience full of surprises & beautiful places & friendly People.. No Regrets & Cant wait to go back to New Zealand!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

very good trip, bus pick up on exact time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Wonderful tour. As we were just the two of us girls, it was a very safe trip. Very punctual and the driver was extremely kind and helpful. The caves are awesome and a must see for all.

Eric R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Well organised, tour guide informative. A busy day with a lot packed into it, lots to see and do in an interesting part of NZ. Food provided was a nice touch and good food too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A long day but it was the only time we got out of the city. Seeing the caves, sheep farm which was unexpectedly fun, and the Maori show made for a fine day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Long day but relaxing, driver was great lots of info, funny and a great guy all round. I wanted mainly to see the caves and Rotorua and would have been happy to miss the farm for extra time at these locations. Back in Auckland by 8pm in time for an evening meal and walk.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was an incredible experience. However, contrary to the description on Viator.com, we did not get a chance to milk a cow. Te Puia was fascinating, with its mud pits and geysers and Maori ceremony. And the stop at the Hobbiton sign in Matamata was a treat. The drive was very scenic, and the driver/tour guide was very informative. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants a sample of what New Zealand has to offer. My only suggestion: I noticed that some of the people who boarded our bus in Auckland got off at the Waitomo Caves and did not continue with us. The driver said that they were going to stay overnight, so they could do the Black Water tubing, which is something I would really have loved to do. It would be nice if that kind of package were available - bus from Auckland to Waitomo, overnight there, and then pick up the next day's bus for the rest of the tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Great trip if you have a short time in Auckland. It is a long day, but the sights were great, and the tour guide was friendly and knew lots of information about NZ.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Glow worms in the Waitomo Caves are a sight to see, and travel through the countryside was very scenic.

Roy S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A very full day, and very enjoyable. Great value for money.

From USD $ 256.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS16

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message