4.5 star rating: Recommended 210 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 210 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Kirstyn M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip is fantastic. It is a very long day but well worth it as you get to see a lot. The meals on the bus were really good too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Perfect if you have limited time in NZ and want to see some major highlights, both sites are a must see! I appreciated the hotel pickup and drop-off service. The driver was very nice and knowledgeable. The meal was very good and the Agrodome was great fun too. Reading past reviews I thought the day might seem too long, but that was not the case, it was great, with the right amount of stops throughout the day.

Barry M
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

This was an excellent trip. Although it was quiet a long day there was loads to see. Dinner and refreshments were also served on the bus which was a welcome bonus. The only compliant was that we could have spent a bit more time in Rotorua, it seemed a bit rushed there.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The caves were very nice, and the trip to Rotorua was awesome. The cultural experience in Rotorua was so beautiful. the only down side was that when our tour guide in the caves got the first part of our group into the boat and took them into the glowworm cave, the rest of the group was left behind by ourselves in a dim, dark cave, until our guide finished the first boat group and returned to us. I think they should either take smaller groups, or have 2 guides with the group.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour great! Driver less so. Along with description of sites kept a commentary of his political views. Also berated us as a group for taking extra minutes to see geyser flow. We were all adults and paying customers and did not need to be scolded like children

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable day!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a very good tour where we saw lots and did lots as well. The trip was long though even though the bus was comfortable. The agrodome was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everything ran smoothly. The bus driver was humorous, knowledgeable, put in little tidbits about himself in that had cooked sweet corn night before for dinner. Always polite, friendly. At first I wasn't interested in the Agridome (I live in SF) but was surprised how fun it was and interesting.liked
It

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The caves were amazing and a once in a lifetime event. The farm and the Rotorua were nice to see along with the drive thru the country side giving one a opportunity to see miles of New Zealand in a day.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Waitomo Caves were great. The Rotorua cultural show was not very good. We had a show on our ship that was much better. It is a long bus ride, so bring some reading material, etc. for the trip back.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very long day but we did get to see a lot. Tour guide was funny and gave us a lot of info. He made sure to give us plenty of time at each location. Only setback was that the lunch provided did not taste good at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The sites visited were very good. But I took a taxi to the meeting point and had to stand in the cold waiting for the bus. The food was good, but freezing cold. It brought on an attack of bronchitis. I didn't expect Auckland to be so much colder than Sydney.

Jason W
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Glow worms and geysers tour was wonderful. Preferred some alternatives to the farm visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour. There is a lot of events on the day however you will not get bored.
The weather was raining for the day trip however it did not stop a great day. The Waitomo Caves was excellent and Rotorua geysers produced a show. The Agrodome was a nice break seeing some NZ sheep.
The only small issue was that there was different people arriving from other stops on to the bus as it is an intercity route.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I really enjoyed the trip. Excellent tour guide and driver. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good trip with good commentary on the way

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very thorough tour of the area. We went to the caves, then the farm, and then to the springs. Lunch and a snack were provided. The tour takes all day, just fyi

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Amazing :)
Just a little bit expensive

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Almost seem to be good deal ...but instead of several hours non-stop talking/explanation , interrupted music or TV show will be strongly advised for boring non English native tourists while riding long hour trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It was a very good trip. I enjoyed my tour guide a lot. The places we went to were very fun. I especially like rotoura

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Well organized and well worth it if your time is limited .

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a really great way to sample some major tourist attractions and I really enjoyed it. Fitting in the three visits was tight for time, and late returning passengers delayed us meaning we lost time from the last visit. The driver's patter was great - informative and funny. The snacks and packed lunch were very good, organisation excellent and it was ideal for a solo traveller. Not time to to do full justice to any of the attractions, but a great taster, and good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Amazing

From USD $ 227.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS16

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message