4.5 star rating: Recommended 226 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 226 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The entire day was most enjoyable. The guides were very informative and friendly, and we saw so much in just one day. Everything about this trip was superb. The glow worms rank as one of the top natural wonders I have ever seen, and I have been to many places. We had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

This tour was very good and worth doing.

Paul R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Awesome, even the rain and hailstorm couldn't dampen spirits! Thoroughly recommended!

Hendrika C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I very much enjoyed the trip, a little bit more time allocated to gift shopping would have been appreciated, also I found the hostess made comments about passengers which were not very nice, apart from that, she was very good at her job and very pleasant to talk to. The driver was very informative and I enjoy his commentary and answers to questions his driving was very good too.

Sandeep C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

The tour was really good. The only problem I faced was that the pick up was not made from the hotel, and I was asked to come to the given address. When I reached that shop, I found it was closed and there was a note that this shop is shifted to somewhere else.

Matthew R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A fantastic day out. The only downside was too much time at the Agrodrome, leaving too little time at Rotorua.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

A wonderful tour with excellent tour guide and hostess. You couldn?t improve this tour as it made our short visit to N.Z. memorable. Thank you so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This was an excellent tour for those with limited time. It covered a wide area. The bus driver narrator did an excellent job with facts and keeping things moving. The coach hostess really was an asset with facts, serving, and keeping things on track. She seemed to know her job very well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The trip was great. going on a bus tour is an ideal way to see as much as possible and be totally informed. As long as you know you are on the tour's time schedule, you can make the utmost of each sight without dissapointment.

Andrew J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A long day but well worth it. The coach was the best I have ever seen, what luxury! The driver and on-board hostess were very helpful and the on going meals and snacks were most agreeable. The venues were very interesting. If you on a limited stay in New Zealand this trip should be at the top of your list. Many thanks to all concerned!

Kirstyn M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This trip is fantastic. It is a very long day but well worth it as you get to see a lot. The meals on the bus were really good too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Perfect if you have limited time in NZ and want to see some major highlights, both sites are a must see! I appreciated the hotel pickup and drop-off service. The driver was very nice and knowledgeable. The meal was very good and the Agrodome was great fun too. Reading past reviews I thought the day might seem too long, but that was not the case, it was great, with the right amount of stops throughout the day.

Barry M
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

This was an excellent trip. Although it was quiet a long day there was loads to see. Dinner and refreshments were also served on the bus which was a welcome bonus. The only compliant was that we could have spent a bit more time in Rotorua, it seemed a bit rushed there.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour included a trip to the Waitomo caves, the Agrodrom, and Te Puia, which included a welcome ceremony. All the inclusions were great and well worth their value but the group size was too big. The large group size required a large bus with poor air conditioning and heating, which caused a lot of people to get car sick. I think the trip would have been better if the group size was smaller. The size also seemed to limit time, which was unfortunate in the end when the geyser began and we had to leave.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic! Very long day, however i think its best to get it all done at once because all these attractions are relatively near each other. So for eg, if you decided to do the Waitomo caves one day then Rotorua another day you would be driving on the same road so best all in one day!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! The only thing I would suggest is putting far less mayo on the vegetarian sandwiches. Other than that, it was perfect! And our driver, Kenny, was AMAZING and I am so thankful he was able to guide us throug this experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The caves were very nice, and the trip to Rotorua was awesome. The cultural experience in Rotorua was so beautiful. the only down side was that when our tour guide in the caves got the first part of our group into the boat and took them into the glowworm cave, the rest of the group was left behind by ourselves in a dim, dark cave, until our guide finished the first boat group and returned to us. I think they should either take smaller groups, or have 2 guides with the group.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour great! Driver less so. Along with description of sites kept a commentary of his political views. Also berated us as a group for taking extra minutes to see geyser flow. We were all adults and paying customers and did not need to be scolded like children

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable day!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a very good tour where we saw lots and did lots as well. The trip was long though even though the bus was comfortable. The agrodome was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Everything ran smoothly. The bus driver was humorous, knowledgeable, put in little tidbits about himself in that had cooked sweet corn night before for dinner. Always polite, friendly. At first I wasn't interested in the Agridome (I live in SF) but was surprised how fun it was and interesting.liked
It

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The caves were amazing and a once in a lifetime event. The farm and the Rotorua were nice to see along with the drive thru the country side giving one a opportunity to see miles of New Zealand in a day.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The Waitomo Caves were great. The Rotorua cultural show was not very good. We had a show on our ship that was much better. It is a long bus ride, so bring some reading material, etc. for the trip back.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

It was a very long day but we did get to see a lot. Tour guide was funny and gave us a lot of info. He made sure to give us plenty of time at each location. Only setback was that the lunch provided did not taste good at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The sites visited were very good. But I took a taxi to the meeting point and had to stand in the cold waiting for the bus. The food was good, but freezing cold. It brought on an attack of bronchitis. I didn't expect Auckland to be so much colder than Sydney.

From USD $ 199.48

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS16

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message