4.5 star rating: Recommended 181 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Waitomo Caves and Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 181 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Glow worms in the Waitomo Caves are a sight to see, and travel through the countryside was very scenic.

Roy S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A very full day, and very enjoyable. Great value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Long day and lots of travelling to combine all aspects of this trip, but it was well worth it. The glow worm caves were astounding, and the thermal springs in Rotorua amazing. This one-day tour will probably whet the appetite to return for more. The coach and driver were first class, and the driver's rhetoric was memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was the best tour that I booked on Viator! The day is fun filled and packed with so many exciting things to see!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Waitomo Caves were really nice and the glow worms were fantastic. I was disappointed we didn't get a chance to exit through the bottom of the caves since it rained a lot. The Agrodome sheep farm was a lot of fun since we got ot fed the sheeps, alpaca lamas, deers, and ostriches. The tour itself was great. Then we headed to the Maori museum and checked out the geysers and mud baths. Overall, it was a great tour.

Lubica B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great way to see Waitomo Caves and Rotorua if you only have limited time in Auckland. We had a great time! Big thank you to our driver and guide, he was very knowledgeable and very professional.

ZAMROAD M
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The trip covers the main attraction of Waitomo Caves and the Rotorua geyser. We were most impressed with the service from the supplier and the knowledge and commentaries of our driver cum guide Steve throughout the journey. Highly recommended for first time visitors with lesser time to move around the country on your own.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The trip was great! Even though the weather was not so good that day, we had a wonderful time! The guides were all excellent, not only on the bus, but at all of the stops. A must do day trip!

Sharon V
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A long day but worth it an excellent trip and the driver/guide was good. Unfortunately, it was a very cold day and we went out on a coach with a mechanical problem, it fell out of gear so it had to stop regularly and no heat meant we had misted up windows, on a scenic coach, but we were provided with blankets. We were a little late on arrival at destinations because of the mechanical problem so felt a bit rushed. The driver did apologize regularly, but he could do nothing about it!

Lisa E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I cannot recommend this trip highly enough! The driver and tour guide were fantastic and shared with us their knowledge of the little towns we drove through on our journey. The lunch provided was wonderful and our guide kept us stocked up on tea and coffee throughout the journey. So much was packed into the day and the caves, Agrodome and Rotorua were fantastic places to visit! It was fantastic value and would recommend this trip to everyone!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent all the way! Friendly, efficient, and great sights! The large audience for the Maori dance took away some of the atmosphere, but you kind of expect that.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It is a whole day trip. The service is really good! The Waitomo cave with glowing worms and the geyser, and the boiling mud in Rotorua are amazing! We enjoyed this tour!

Cleo S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

For a lone traveller was a safe, easy way to see many things the north island has to offer. Very enjoyable, informative, packed day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Very interesting. Well run. A once in a lifetime experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This is truly a trip to take if you have limited time but want to see different aspects of New Zealand. A must do. I went with my two children, ages 11 and 9, and they had a blast! The driver and commentator were very helpful and friendly. I cannot say enough positive things about this trip. My only regret is not enough time at the Maori gift shop.

From USD $ 247.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910GS16

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message