4.5 star rating: Recommended 48 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 48 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Great tour, loved the small group. Knowledgable and friendly tour guide, great destinations.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

An excellent all-day tour with a very knowledgeable and courteous driver/guide. Being in a small group of six was good. In the minibus, however, the guide's voice was inaudible at times, hence the 4-star rating. The tour included some of the best remnants of ancient Roman civilization in the area as well as other interesting historical aspects and places in this lovely part of France. Highly recommended.

Ee Him O
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Highly recommended to visit the historical sites.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

The trip was very interesting and the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We bought this tour, but were asked to take an all day one instead. No extra charge. What the man neglected to tell us is that we would not be seeing Arles. We were leaving the next morning after four days and we never got to Arles as a consequence. Be aware that the tour may change or be cancelled. Having said that, it was a good tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It would have been a great tour if not for the less than competent tour guide who complained about the lack of road signs at the beginning of the tour and predictably, he lost his way. We spent one hour making a detour! He was more interested to talk to the group members sitting in front in the van about their other tour experiences rather than explaining the sights on our itinerary. We did not even know his name as he did not introduce himself. Very disappointing and a waste of money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

This was a very interesting experience, which covered the key historical and other areas of interest around Avignon. Our guide, Caroline, was fluent in several languages, very knowledgeable of the area and maintained our interest throughout the tour. The wine tasting was a stand out element.

Warren and Sharon, Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Too rushed. Not enough time in each of the places. Would rather spend a bit more time in each with less coverage... almost running all way through... But the Les Baux and Arles are very beautiful - a not-to-miss for any Van Gogh fan, not necc with this tour though.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide was lovely and very professional. I had lots of free time in the various towns to explore on my own. The tour was great with lots to enjoy. I found Les Baux de Provence too touristy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Emily is a good tour guide.Overall it is good but I don like the arrangement. We have to spent some time back to avignon to pick up and drop off people in the afternoon and the schedule of morning is too rush.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I had expectations based on a Viator tour in Egypt where the tour guides stayed with us and gave commentary at the sites. In this tour, the guide primarily dropped us off at the sites. Pickup was on time. We appreciated the driving. I would have liked more time at Les Baux. We spent 9 euro each for a very short time in the historical site. There was not a tour that had Orange and not a winery tour, so we had to pick this one, even though we were not interested in the winery tour. We were dropped at a village to walk around. This is not the tour's fault - we knew this going in - but would have liked a better choice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

Guide was new to the area, but knew a good bit about the sites. The timing was a little rushed, but was an enjoyable day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

really awing, again too rushed for our older bodies to make the trip part of it being uphill. We would finally catch up with the group when the guide was finished with the talk and we heard it not , not seeing what we wished worrying about catching up and wathcing where we were steppping on the cobblestones.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

Two half-day trips combined into this day trip wasted time. Also, far too much time in Orange. Maybe add another village, or a brief tour of Avignon.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This did not start out okay. When we arrived in Avignon the day before our tour, we asked our host from our B and B to call and confirm our pick-up at their B and B. She was told that we were not scheduled for the tour the next day (even though we had prepaid and had our voucher!). After a long conversation a tour was arranged. Over all we were not very impressed by the tour. We raced by towns while trying to look out the windows to see what we were passing. We spent way too much time wine tasting and not enough time actually seeing the villages. And if you are in the middle seat of the van you can't see much of the view as we raced by. Then a lot of time was wasted going back to Avignon in the middle to drop people off and pick up new people. This is not what we paid for. Everyone in the van should have been there for the full day tour to make the most of our time. Very disappointing! Not worth the money.

From USD $ 134.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555TREA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message