4.5 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour in a new, comfortable vehicle with a highly knowledgeable French driver whose English was first-class. His ability to drive safely while answering a wide variety of questions from his 4 passengers should be commended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

There was a lot packed into a half day on this tour but it was wonderful. I highly recommend the Roussignol and Gordes add-on. The small number of people in the mini-van is much better than a bus tour and the van can go places that are impossible in a bus. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We covered a lot of ground and got to see four major highlights in 6-7 hours under the tutelage of a well-informed and friendly guide. This small-format trip by van allowed for pleasant interactions with our fellow passengers and significant conversation with our guide. Although each stop was only 45 minutes or so, we were able to explore freely. I recommend this tour highly and without reservation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

We had a wonderful trip. Since we were traveling without a car, we were able to see things we otherwise would not have been able to get to. The guide was very knowledgable and pleasant. I would recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We didn't have many days in Provence and this trip brought us to some great locations (plus the drive was a nice break from walking). The driver was knowledgeable and entertaining too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Awesome tour and very knowledgeable guide :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This trip was wonderful and surpassed my expectations. Virginia was awesome. One would want several hours in each place but since things are so spread out that is impossible in a half day trip. I highly recommend!! There was hotel pick up and drop off, leaving the driving to Virginia in a nice van and air conditioned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A very well conceived tour which offered an excellent introduction to the Luberon and Alpilles, plus the Pont de Gard. The guide was full of information and together with the small size of the tour made the tour friendly and informal. For content and enjoyment, the tour felt more like a whole than half a day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A truly excellent trip ... Well organised, varied and thoroughly enjoyable ... The perfect way to capture the essence of Provence in an afternoon!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wonderful trip. Our guide was so friendly and informative and we had a lovely time. Definitely recommend this tour to others and particularly with this tour company.

Helen L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

This was an excellent tour from start to finish, with only 7 of us on this small group tour. Rousillion, Gordes and Les Baux were all charming old villages and the Pont du Gard was spectacular. We had enough time in each village to take photos and buy an icecream. We were able to walk over the Pont du Gard in the late evening withouth any crowds. The guide was very professional and made the day fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Jennifer S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

excellent guide and saw a lot on the tour - one of the highlights of our time away

ANN W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Our Half-Day trip around Provence exceeded expectations. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and explained things clearly. She gave us plenty of time to visit the places on the route. The three towns and the Pont-du Gard were all quite different and all very interesting as well as beautiful to look at. A well planned and most enjoyable tour! and a great tour guide!

LAWRENCE N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The guide knew the best locations for photography and suggested where to visit when time was limited. We would not have been able to visit these places by public transport. It's worth paying for air conditioned vehicle alone in warm weather!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This was great, great, great! It was worth taking the tour with Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The stone villages of Gordes and Baux de Provence were so beautiful, we couldn't get enough pictures. The Pont du Gard was unbelievably majestic, and my daughter and I were in awe of the genius of the Roman engineers; however, we would have liked a little more time there.

Lourdes C
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

An excellent guide!

Jennifer R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Booked to see Pont du Gard, which had plenty of WOW factor. Skillfully saved for last by our very pleasant female driver and guide. The villages were well worth a look and all very different.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is a great tour of a truly beautiful part of France. We saw much of the local scenery, even more than the destinations promised. Our guide was very knowledgeable and answered every question we threw at him - antiquities, local customs, culture, agricultural practices, history, architecture, local politics, and even cooking with truffles! This is the best way to see and learn about the region shy of actually living there. Highly recommended.

Shirley T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The scenery was fantastic. The mini-bus arrived on time at our hotel and although there was only the four of us we received the full tour. The young woman driver was a very competent driver and also gave us an excellent commentary. We had ample time at each stop to sightsee and browse. All of us, three adults and an eleven year old boy, thoroughly enjoyed the whole afternoon.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was very well-informed and gave good commentary but not overbearing. We had good amounts of time at our stops - in the lavender fields which were lovely and in Rousillon. Great way to get a good flavour of the farming in the area too and to see the countryside

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide and great places visited. Only problem was it got dark by the time we got to the last village. A shame the start time could not have been brought forward once the clocks had gone back the previous weekend.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were picked up about 15 minutes late from our hotel for this trip, but it was nice to have a smallish van with just enough people for us to all meet and talk to each other as we travelled. We travelled through lots of delightful villages as our tour guide chatted to us, and stopped at the Pont du Gard, Les Baux des Provence and Gordes. We had just the right amount of time at the Pont du Gard and Gordes but nowhere near enough time at Les Baux des Provence, it is such a gorgeous village with beautiful shops but also a fort at the top of the hill which we never even had time to see. I would recommend more time in this village, half an hour simply is not enough. Apart from that, it was well worth the time doing this tour, we fitted a lot of sightseeing into a short amount of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We have a lovely afternoon i this tour...the guide is a littlte bit late..but she is responsible for everything in the tour, and we saw a lot of great town and scenery...but it seemed every location is just too little time to explore...that is the downside if you want to join a tour..overall..it;s lovely and worth it

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

If you only have a short time this half day tour is worthwhile to do to experience a small part of Provence. It is a beautiful area, the historic towns embedded on the top of a hill and of course The Pont Du Gard. Even though we have seen it before you can never get enough of this magnificent site.

From USD $ 74.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message