4.5 star rating: Recommended 65 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence Afternoon Half-Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 65 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The size of the group was perfect, the guide lovely. The Pont du Gard was particularly great to see but we covered a lot Ian half day.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Our driver/guide was fabulous, we saw a fair bit of the Provence region that we wouldn't have otherwise seen had we not done the tour or hired a car. I would recommend the tour to others, however think it's over priced.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Beautiful scenaries, but not enough time in each sightseeing spot, 45min max each. Suggested to allow more time for each spot.

Melanie L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Small group tour with good tour guide with three stops that are adequate in length.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Very nice trip, just a little short to cover so many places, but i really enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The tour guide is very knowledgeable. The hillside villages are very beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

We had a very kind car driver and tour conductor. We were given a lot of time to stay in the places on our own, but no explanation was given in advance. The site was introduced during the trip, and once in the place you have time to do what you want.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Good tour guide but not happy about the web site indicating a hotel pickup which the tour operator wanted to charge 140 Euros. Our previous tour included the pickup and didn't charge anything for it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Guide was okay but was more of a driver not a guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Provence has a beauty and richness in history that is hard to match. The Pont du Gard and the villages we saw (Les Baux, Roussillon, and Gordes) were representative of this area and a joy to see. Our afternoon tour allowed us to see a part of France that we otherwise would not have because we did not rent a car. This tour, however, could have been better. For example:
• Ann (our tour guide) should have told us much more about the area than she did. She depended on our questions and really did not have anything planned to say.
• The minivan should have a speaker system so that everyone can hear. The only person that could hear Ann clearly was the passenger in the front. If that is not possible, then everyone should have a headset and audioguide.
• The air conditioning in the van was marginal. The people in the third row were very, very hot. So were we in the second row. This really needs to change!
Ann was friendly and knowledgeable and made a great effort for us to enjoy the tour, but it could have been so much better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I liked our tour guide very much; however I felt the time allowed in Rousillon, Gardes, and Les Baux was way too short. Personally, I would have preferred the option of passing more time in fewer locations-for instance, a full day tour with 2 hours in each village and skipping the Pont du Gard.
thank you very much. Lindsay I

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Since we weren't traveling by car this tour gave us a way to visit sites out in the countryside that we wouldn't have been able to otherwise. For that alone it was worth it. We would have liked more time at Les Baux (time to tour the castle and the town) and less at Gordes. Taking pictures from a distance at Gordes was enough. The time at Pont du Gard was fine. Our guide was pleasant although I think we expected more "guiding" through the towns.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Our tour guide and driver, Marc, was very knowledgeable, and the villages of Rousillion and Gordes were truly amazing. Unfortunately, I felt that there was not enough time to spend in each location that we visited, and we barely had enough time to snap a few pictures, buy a coffee and use the restrooms before we had to move on to the next site. If the tour includes Roussillion, an extra hour or hour and a half would have been perfect!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

I did this tour with Pont Du Gard, Beaux de Provance, Roussillon and Gordes. Too much tried to squeeze in too less time. Big dissapointment was Roussillon, cos when we arrived the main attraction was already closet. Guide told, it would take too much time, but I'd have wanted to take a quick tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

The tour guide was very arrogant and not very friendly. He basically gave all his attention to an older couple from Australia and completed excluded us from the tour. As a result, I felt as though I wasn't part of this tour. He was the worst tour guide I had and would never recommend this tour to anyone going to this region. This soured my whole experience and the whole day seemed rushed.

From USD $ 73.04

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message