5 star rating: Highly Recommended 98 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  10.5hrs April to October, 10hrs November to March

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence Le Grand Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 98 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My wife and I enjoyed this trip enormously. Mark/Marc was friendly, informative, patient and fun to be with throughout the long but never boring day. He kept us on schedule, and although there were times during a jam-packed day that we would have liked to linger longer here or there, I would not say that we ever felt rushed at all. Thoroughly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was a highlight of our trip both because of the places we saw and the wealth of information and gracious care taken by our guide Julien. We visited fabulous towns and sites, and learned of history, food, wine, culture, family life, humor, music and saw more of Provence in one day than we would have in 3 on our own. We had adequate time at each place to explore on our own or together. it was a fantastic experience we will remember. And we came away with a list of suggestions for our remaining time around Avignon..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This tour was outstanding and I/we would do it again. Everything was very professional and our guide's English was impecable. We, on our own, did a similar tour in our car several days later.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

This was a wonderful tour of the Provence area. We were picked up at 8 AM and returned at 7 PM, so you definitely get your money's worth. We went in November when the tourism is minimal, so there was just one other couple from Asia in the mini van with us. This was the best day of our vacation!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour, we enjoyed some amazing sights and enjoyed a great day although tired by the end of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

My husband and I loved this day trip!! Great way to see a lot of the surrounding Provence area and sights. Well planned and organized day... we saw all of our scheduled sights in leisure time. Our guide Ann was wonderful, punctual and knowledgeable. We really liked our small group setting of 8. The Orange antic Theatre and triumphal arch, Pont du Gard, Les Baux, Gordes and Roussillon were fantastic and definitely worth visiting! Loved touring and sampling at Chateauneuf du Pape winery (learned a lot too)! Fun and Special day...highly recommend Le Grand Tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour, took in many sites that interested us. It's a lot to do in one day. Door to door service is great. Our tour guide, Liz, spoke perfect English and was really knowledgeable. As a non-drinker, I would have left the wine-tasting out, but others enjoyed that.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This tour was an excellent choice for us as we had limited time in Avignon. Even if we had had a car we would not have been able to see so much ,and parking would have been a problem. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgable and we had enough time at each site. For us the high lights were the Pont du Garde and the Roman
theatre in Orange.
However, it was a long day and in Gordes we settled for a beer instead of a tour of the village.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Just perfect. Guide was great, van was great, weather was great, locations were all that I had come to expect. Thank you, Viator, for choosing such an excellent local operator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Excellent

annie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The trip was great. Certainly the way to go if you have limited time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Another fantastic tour. Pretty long and tiring (especially for the tour guide, I would say!) as it stretched approximately 10.5 hours. It was very comprehensive and it gave us a chance to see the important parts of the region. The coliseum and aqueduct were awesome. The villages of Gordes, Rosillon and Les Baux were quaint and unique in their own way (I may have seen them during the Lavender tour. I forget). The only negative is that it was very hot so we had to seek the shade whenever we stopped at a site. All in all, an excellent way to get acquainted with Provence. Our guide, Selene, was accommodating with our request to stop by a lavender field and a sunflower field for some photos. It was difficult though to hear her speak on the microphone, so I missed quite a bit of explanation along the way. This continued even when I pointed out the deficiency to the guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I was very satisfied on this trip. The guide was very knowledgable and provided historical and other local information whenever needed. I would prefer to visit 1-2 places less, in order to spend more time to the remaining ones (e.g. 20 minutes at Pont du Gard are totally inadequate and 45 minutes at Orange theater are double than actually needed), but the whole feeling is a very positive one. Provence is one of the most beautiful places in Europe and so are its people. Kind, helpful, trying to speak English and to please the tourists as much as possible. I will not have any second thought in planning a visit in the region again in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Guide was very friendly and knowlegable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

If you want to get a good overview of what there is in the area of Avignon and not have to rent and find your way, this is a tour for you. We took the entire day tour and were entertained and shown so many wonderful sights, smells and tastings !!! You cannot go wrong and will give you a good idea of where to go the next time you visit Provence. Have fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent tour in every way. Marc the Leder was totally professional from pick-up until drop off. Highly recommend. If in Avigion do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A wonderful tour largely due to an excellent tour guide - Carolyn. Highly recommend this tour to get a very full overview of the Provence area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent! The sights visited where just what we were looking for to "see Provence". Your guide was gracious and knowledgeable making the tour most pleasant.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Chose specifically because couldn't figure out how to get to les baux without wasting a lot of time via bus/train. Turned out to be a blessing because I got to see amazing villages I didn't know were there. If you have limited time in Provence, this is a good way to see a lot of stuff, don't want to think about how to arrange itinerary, and don't waste a lot of time with buses/trains. I think it would work out to same price if you try to visit all the same places via train and have lots less wasted time if you were to arrange yourself via train/buses. Guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Great tour! I was so happy that I booked this tour rather than the other all day Provence tour because seeing the Roman theater at Orange was the highlight of our trip for my husband. Our tour guide, Elizabeth, was terrific and very well informed about the area. Amazing how much we got to see and do in one day. On top of that, Elizabeth recommended a restaurant that we subsequently went to and enjoyed a fabulous meal thanks to her suggestion. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

This review is for the "Grand Tour" of Provence. Sites visited included Orange, Chateauneuf de Pape, Roussilon, Les Baux, Gordes, and the Pont du Garde. I was pleasantly surprised by the tour. I had found it hard to believe that so many visits to widely separated areas could be accomplished in so short a time without extremely short stays and a "rushed" feeling. That was not the case. We stopped at all the scheduled places and had ample free time at each stop to wander around, see the sights, and enjoy ourselves. Our driver/guide was very nice and informative. I recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

The trip was a wonderful overview of the Provence Area. Carolyn, our tour guide was not only knowledgable, but very down to earth, friendly and extremely entertaining. Unfortunately, it was raining quite heavily on our tour and Pont Du Gard was closed, due to flooding. Oh well, a reason to go back. If you have little time in Provence, the tour is well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

A long day of touring but well worth it. It was nice to have someone else do the driving! It was a small group of 8 per van so we could ask questions easily. Our guide spoke perfect English and was very knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Excellent. Strongly reccomended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We really enjoyed this tour as well. Amazing historical sites. Pont du Gard is magnifique. Our tour guide was extremely informative. A great way to spend the day!

From USD $ 134.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message