5 star rating: Highly Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  10.5hrs April to October, 10hrs November to March

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence Le Grand Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much. Our guide Audrey was friendly and very well informed. She answered our questions and her knowledge of the area made our experience all the better.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We covered a huge amount of territory in one day - probably a little too much. We would have liked to spend more time in the little hillside villages. The only way to do that would be to divide the tour into 2 long half days. But other than that it was quite thorough and enjoyable. We certainly got our moneys worth!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was an amazing tour but we felt we were cheated out of time as we had booked a full day small group tour. Our guide was great BUT - there were two people who did the morning who had to be brought back to town for 1:00 p.m. and two other people were picked up for the afternoon which I felt was a lot of driving which cut into our time in the Villages. In the Village of Roussillon we only had 15 minutes which was not enough to do anything. Our feeling was only people booking the full day tour should have been on the tour.

blue
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Long day but the second half was much better value than first.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed this tour - we would have never seen all these sights if we had rented a car and driven ourselves - especially with our time frame. Our guide was very good and the best part is there were only eight of us. We would definitely recommend this tour but if you want more time in each town plan on a few extra days in this area.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a good one.but needed much more time to enjoy the some of the places like Jousilline.Other then that, tour minibus was very comfortable and the tour guide was very kind and nice.I will re visit Avignon in the near future.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our tour met our expectations and was a good value. Our guide was fun, knowledgeable and efficient. The wine tasting part was a bit too long (one hour) and boring, but nobody in our group was into wine, so that may have just been our group's problem. The tour guide for the winery was very good though.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Good way to see Provence in one day.Tour guide could have given a bit more commentary and spoken into the microphone a little louder and more clearly.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Excellent guide, small group, highly recommended tour. Only criticism was that the wine tasting in Chateaubeuf du Pape was more of a lecture than a tasting, but some may have enjoyed that.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Very enjoyable tour. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

excellent full day tour...intelligent friendly guide. the issue is lunch...no advance preparation for the need to possibly grab food as we can and possibly eat in the van. very shabby

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Very interesting. Love Rousillon. Adeline the guide was really nice :)

Pigman
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Was everything I expected and more. Mark even stopped when I asked him at a side stop. Maybe a bit more info on the villages visited. Pont du Gard was worth it by itself!!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

It was really a "le grand" tour as we covered the best of Provence. Every spot is worth seeing and coming back to. I would definitely recommend this tour. I thought driver/ tour guide could be less stressed in getting us through the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

I loved seeing everything that we saw, but would've liked to spend more time in Roussillon.

Jin Ho C
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was great. Covered alot of touristic places. Would have been better if we were given more time in each places. The guide and the transport was perfect.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We had a rental van which was not up to par, no vents for air conditioning in the back so it got hot. For a 10 hour trip it would be nice to have a cooler with water available. The sites were good and otherwise it was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great tour guide was so nice and accommodating....the midevial towns were the best and I enjoyed everything except....we shouldn't have to have gone back to avignon in middle of day to pick up more people...we lost time and couldn't really have lunch..I specifically booked a tour that did not have to do this...as a result when we got to the roman acuiduct..we couldn't see anything......would not go o again because of this

Randall W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

the visit to the roman sites in Orange was great, and that to the Pont du Gard was excellent, but too late in the day and with insufficent time to make use of the excelent faciities such as the audio visual show. One hill top village - the first, was excellent - and with more time we may have enjoyed its ambience. Our suggestionn is to cut the 2nd and third village out of the tour..

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

It would have been much better if our tour guide was not arrogant, did not shout at us for opening the windows of the van and drop us back to the front of the hotel, not 1/2 a kilometer away and made us walk. We did not give her a tip as she did not deserve one. She gives Viator a bad name.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

We really enjoyed the ancient theater in the town of Orange. The town visit to Le Baux was a disappointment since we were unable to enter the castle without paying an additional fee-the tour description included the breathtaking view from this castle. Loved the quaint village of Roussillon, but felt rushed. Pont du Garden was an amazing site. Again, not enough time to climb to view points or visit the museum. This was the second time the guide had done this tour, so, although he was friendly, he did not have much to add about the sites and should have narrated the various sites while we rode in the van. Lots of driving. We took a Viator tour when we were in Barcelona. The tour guide there was constantly giving us a commentary of the places on our tour. So, overall we were disappointed in this tour for the money we spent.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

This tour may have turned me off of tours forever. Mary was very good, but the very idea that she had to travel out of Avignon to pick up a couple for a morning tour only and then had to return them at midday was outrageous. We then had to travel back int Avignon to pick up another couple for an afternoon tour. This took about 1.5 to 2 hours out of our tour and Mary gave us us 40 minutes for lunch which resulted in a disastrous lunch. We could have had much longer had we not wasted that 2 hours, but poor Mary had to keep the tour on time. We were in the back of the van and could see very little. All in all, an experience not to be repeated.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

We booked the full day tour, but had to return to Avignon to pick up three couples for the afternoon itinerary. This wasted a lot of time, and left us no suitable time for lunch or a 'comfort stop'. We also failed to visit the Triumphal Arch in Orange - part of the advertised itinerary. Our guide was charming, spoke good English, but had little knowledge of or interest in the history of the region, and was sketchy in the extreme in his information about the villages we visited. I asked about the religious wars and how they had affected the area, and he had nothing to say on the subject. We did not get to the Pont du Gard, the high point of the tour, until nearly sunset, making photos difficult, and we had to rush our visit as one of our group had a train to catch from Avignon at 8pm.All in all, an experience not justifying the extra expense of your tour.

Note from Viator: Dear Margaret,

We have sent your review to the tour operator to make sure that your concerns were heard. The Tour Operator and we at Viator are sorry that the tour did not meet your expectations. We did want to go ahead and address a few of your concerns here.

This tour always stops in Avignon between the morning and afternoon segments. The morning part of the tour focuses on the Northern area of Avignon with Orange and Chateauneuf-du-Pape. The afternoon part is dedicated to southern areas, so driving through Avignon is the most sensible route. On the way, some other guests may join for the afternoon portion of the tour, but this doesn't affect the itinerary.

We are also sorry that you were not able to enjoy the Triumphal Arch in Orange. We are informed that if traffic conditions are bad the guide may make a snap decision to ensure that you have enough time at the Antique Theater (for which the entrance fee and audio-guide are included). The Antique Theater requires more time to visit, and guides would rather give you the time you need here, rather than rushing to see both monuments. This need to change the itinerary is rare, but it ensures that you do get the most for the money that you have paid.

The visit of the Pont du Gard is scheduled for the end of the tour: this is the last monument customers will see before going back to Avignon. The end of the tour is scheduled for 7:30pm. The Tour Operator tries to arrive at the Pont du Gard as early as possible, so guests can take pictures in the daylight, but in October the sun goes down around 7:30pm. The rush to get you back to Pont du Gard was in an attempt to get you to the aqueduct before nightfall rather than a desire to get the other group to their train in Avignon.

We would all like to apologize that the tour did not meet your expectations. But we do hope this information helps. Thank you for your review, and we hope the rest of your trip was excellent.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

I thought this was a guided tour, unfortunately all it was was a driver dropping us off at the sites and letting us tour on our own and then there wasn't enough time to even listen to some of the audiotours we were given! We had rented a car so this was no advantage to us except to avoid the driving and parking, so for us it was a waste of money. The tour guide was not all that informative whereas other guides were better. I would not recommend this tour if you have your own car.

From USD $ 136.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message