4.5 star rating: Recommended 117 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  10 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 117 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We had a great day with our guide Elizabeth. This trip was an excellent value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

I really enjoyed the Provence tour. The sights were amazing and Anais, our tour guide, was a fabulous guide. There were three different languages in our van and she handled the challenge with ease and grace. I would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This is was a great tour and really, really worthwhile! The tour guide was so friendly and the places allowed you enough time to have a walk about without getting bored or having too little time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour of Provence took place just before we returned home to the US after a 9-day large group tour of Switzerland with another company. We were exhausted by the end, although we had a great trip. After a couple of days to unwind in Lyon, we traveled to Avignon and had one day to ourselves. Then, we took the day-long tour of Provence. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed the small group experience very much. Instead of riding in a large bus, we traveled in a mini-van around the countryside, visiting small villages and seeing several sites. Our tour guide did a nice job of telling us about the area as she drove, then dropped us off to do some sightseeing on our own. Our only regret was during the lunch stop when we sat down in a small outdoor cafe and the language barrier kept us from adequately explaining that we did not have an unlimited amount of time for lunch. After about 20-25 minutes, we only had been able to order a drink and had not yet placed our food order, so we paid and then walked down the street to find a quick sandwich before getting back in the mini-van. The street market in Gordes and the Lavender Museum were my favorites. My husband particularly enjoyed the Pont du Gard. It was a great way to end our vacation!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This trip was so lovely. The Provence is very pretty. We had a great driver with lots of knowledge. xox

JOHN H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Absolutely wonderful, tour guide was excellent very knowledgeable. There was only 4 of us in the mini bus, 8 would have been very cramped. Very full day but all the areas we visited were excellent and full of history. Highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

David was not only entertaining, but also knowledgeable. The tour hit all of the highlights of Provence and then some. Lots of driving, the views are amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

very good trip --- would highly recommend --- excellent guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Loved the whole tour. We only had two days in the Avignon area and this tour gave us a splendid view of the highlites. It was a 10 hour tour in a comfortable van with a great driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Sarah,our tour guide and driver was very knowledgable about the various sights we experienced and had so much information to share. Conscious of her time schedule,Sarah was prompt in picking us up and getting back on time. She even secured ice from a restaurant for a swollen ankle after my wife fell on an uneven sidewalk.....later turned out to be a broken leg. She was a kind and thoughtful tour guide and the ten hour tour passed so quickly. Many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Loved our guide and the fact that the group was so small. What a beautiful and interesting area of France. Loved being picked up at the hotel and dropped off there. We had a great day!

David O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Brilliant in every way. The guide was great - many thanks!

Janet S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The Avignon tour was comprehensive and being a small group most enjoyable. Avignon is a fascinating place to visit! The only bad comment I would have is that the driver spoke more in French than English, and that he used his mobile phone whilst driving.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The setup was fabulous! The tour guide was really great and very knowledgeable. All of the towns and sites were so worth seeing. Off the beaten trail, but totally worth doing. And the Roman monuments and sites were amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Saw so much with minimal hassle. No car, no worries. With the small size of the group, only 8, it was like having a private tour.

Yukako M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The lady who looked after us was just fantastic! Not only her guidance was perfect but also her knowledge about Provence France was incredible. The only thing I would suggest is that I wish I spent more time in little villages and Pont du Gard rather than at lavender museum. Thank you so much for making my trip in Provence wonderful.

Adele K
Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was just great. Good organization, excellent company, and very personalized treatment. No time was lost in waiting for others. The idea of the Minivan is great and our guide was extremely resourceful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It's a wonderful tour. We enjoyed everything, including not having to worry about renting a car or figuring out routes by ourselves.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

It took a very experienced guide for us to have the kind of tour that we had. It was above and beyond our expectations! Thank you!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I highly recommend this tour and want to stress how wonderful our guide was and how perfect the tour was. We were able to get the opportunity to experience and be part of places in Provence that we would have been deprived of had it not been for this tour. Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity. It was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a lot for one day. I know I chose it, but it was because the shorter ones say visit Gordes OR Roussion and I wanted both, or at least Roussion. The problem is you only get about 20-30 minutes to explore each village so we didn't get to see much due to stress of getting back in time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day spent seeing the sights, maybe a little more time in each place in the morning would have been better

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Enjoyed the day, felt rushed at the Les Baux village in the morning and too much time at villages in the afternoon......wasn't impressed with coming back to Avignon to drop half day passengers off and pick up more...left in van in very hot conditions......Emily our Guide very informative and friendly

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a very nice trip, our guide Ann was very nice and she knew lot of things about the sites we visited the only minus was that we didn't have time to eat, but we survived...I recommend this tour to everybody

Jim in Lakeside ... 
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see in so little time. This is a two part trip. The first trip occurs in the morning and goes North of Avignon to Lavender country, and several nice towns. then it's back to Avignon to drop off half-day participants and to pick up others. The second trip goes South to more towns, including the mental hospital Van Gogh stayed, and the Pont du Gard.

Most of the stops were rushed, some no more than 20-minutes. As for St-Remy, the Van Gogh stop, you get a quick walk-by a couple of Roman monuments, you look in to the courtyard of the mental hospital, and then hop back in to the van to go to the next stop.

The highlight of the tour was the stop at the Pont du Gard, where we had over an hour to hike up to the overlook of the Roman viaduct. This was a rigorous hike, but the sights and photo opportunities were well worth the effort.

Tip for the traveler - bring a lunch or be prepared to waste the stop at Baux en Provence because you get about a half an hour to eat and hike through the town.

Our suggestion to Viator would be to make this two full day trips, add another stop or two each day, and allot time for lunch. Our tour guide, Jeremy, was well versed in the lore associated with the stops we made, and answered all questions posed to him. He did the best he could within the time constraints.

From USD $ 118.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555VP_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message