4.5 star rating: Recommended 108 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  10 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Brilliant. Second time doing this tour. Ended up booking a private tour as well. Informative, friendly guide who was happy to answer endless questions from all the guests. Great door to door service.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Nice all day trip in comfort to a variety of scenic sites. Guide allowed sufficient time at each location and provided interesting historical information.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic tour. Our guide was extremely interesing. She knew all the facts and details of the area and made the day enjoyable withour any hic-ups. The highlight for me was Roussillon. Having a small group works really well.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A nice little tour. I would say that there was really no need to stop at the Lavender Farm. The towns we visited were fare more interesting and beautiful and more time there would have been better. Our guide was vibrant, fresh and interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Really enjoyed the tour, Sophie was very informative, and friendly and easy to understand.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a great time, our tour guide was excellent! She answered all our questions adequately and was very helpful throughout. Would be great if we can have more at the villages though, we didn't have time to sit down for lunch, had to grab a sandwich and walk around along the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Trip was excellent, guide had good knowledge of the area, was very friendly and likable. Would have liked the tour to include a Winery as this has been an essential part of Province since 1200. The trip is titled Province in one day so not including a Winery seems strange.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The tour could bring us an overview of the areas around Avignon which are very beautiful and nice. Tour was good and worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very good tour knowledgeable guide. I wish we had booked a tour that could go to fewer villages and give us more time with them.

ANGELA B
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

needed more time in the town we stopped for lunch as there was a market and not enough time to browse the stalls. Guide was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

A full day but worth it to see the sites since we did not have a car - We did not like arriving at St. Remy on market day - way too crowded and no time to see the town. I enjoyed the Lavender Museum but my husband was not interested.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

For those with a short amount of time in the Provence region, this trip is perfect. My wife and I initially wanted to rent a car. However, for 1.5 days it was too expensive. You essentially have a guide that takes you from amazing sight to sight without the worry of getting lost. My wife and I do wish we had more time in some of the villages, but again, this trip is designed to quickly see everything. If you can rent a car and have time, this tour is not necessary.

Tamara J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Pont du Gard was fantastic, Les Baux was fake and touristy like no one actually lived there, St Remy was nice for lunch, Roussillon was a real highlight, the view of Gordes was great but the town itself was boring. The lavender museum was really onlly of interest to those who like lavender. Wish we had gone to Menerbes instead of Les Baux. The tour guide was very passionate and knowledgeable, and kept us to our timetable very well.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We saw a lot, but I would have liked a little more description or information about areas along the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

I needed more time here!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

This was a great way to see some of the highlights of Provence without the hassle of trying to drive yourself. Our guide was a charming young woman who was very professional and knowledgeable. It was a long day, but we enjoyed all of it. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Ilrienne D
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

The guide was excellent!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This is definitely worth doing to see the beautiful villages of Roussillon, Gordes, and Les Baux de Provence. I also loved the market at L'Isle sur la Sorgue on Sunday. It was a fabulous day and we could not have seen as much on our own. Our guide was very nice and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Our guide was very informative and made everyone comfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

We took the whole day tour and enjoyed it for the most part. We did not tour Avignon other than by a drive through. A lot of uphill walking, and by the end of the day we were tired of tourist shops. The countryside was beautiful, and the towns are very pretty.

Eve
USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

Very good. Tour guide was on time to get us at the hotel. Full of information and views of Provence.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Great day in Provence.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour itself was terrific. It covered a lot of places of substantial interest and was quite comprehensive. I would have liked to have driven through Apt and Carpentras as we passed so close to these towns, but that's not a big deal. The downside was that the driver was inexperienced - the waterwheel at Tarascon was pointed out to us after we had passed it - and he was involved in a minor accident while driving too fast. With a different driver-commentator, the tour would be labelled fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

The trip was well worth it. I would however, liked more time at Roussillon and less at the museum about lavender.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We saw many wonderful places - Gordes, Rousillon, Baux, Pont de Garde, the lavender stop. The route could have been planned a bit. Enter so that we didn't do so much backtracking. We went by the lavender museum four times. Also we visited one town to see the antiquities market which did not seem to be of much interest to anyone I our group of eight.

From USD $ 116.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555VP_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message