4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  10 hrs

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Provence in One Day Small Group Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a very nice trip, our guide Ann was very nice and she knew lot of things about the sites we visited the only minus was that we didn't have time to eat, but we survived...I recommend this tour to everybody

Jim in Lakeside ... 
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see in so little time. This is a two part trip. The first trip occurs in the morning and goes North of Avignon to Lavender country, and several nice towns. then it's back to Avignon to drop off half-day participants and to pick up others. The second trip goes South to more towns, including the mental hospital Van Gogh stayed, and the Pont du Gard.

Most of the stops were rushed, some no more than 20-minutes. As for St-Remy, the Van Gogh stop, you get a quick walk-by a couple of Roman monuments, you look in to the courtyard of the mental hospital, and then hop back in to the van to go to the next stop.

The highlight of the tour was the stop at the Pont du Gard, where we had over an hour to hike up to the overlook of the Roman viaduct. This was a rigorous hike, but the sights and photo opportunities were well worth the effort.

Tip for the traveler - bring a lunch or be prepared to waste the stop at Baux en Provence because you get about a half an hour to eat and hike through the town.

Our suggestion to Viator would be to make this two full day trips, add another stop or two each day, and allot time for lunch. Our tour guide, Jeremy, was well versed in the lore associated with the stops we made, and answered all questions posed to him. He did the best he could within the time constraints.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had an excellent guide who was able to drive the van and give running commentaries in French, English and Spanish at the same time. The day packed a lot in with plenty of variety. My only negative comment is that the Lavender Museum was a waste of time. Why not incorporate a walk through lavender fields with the possibility of tea or coffee at the end? That would have made a better addition than lots of detail about the distillation process.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Efficient expedition in Southen France in one day which is not manageable on one own, nice travel group. Roussillon and Pont du Gard recommanded.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyable, great guide and covered lots of interesting Provence villages in one day

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very goo tour. Highly recommend !

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A great way to see the surrounding towns and sights. Our guide, Marie was very informative and catered for all our various needs/languages.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Thorough and all as promised in the online materials. The guide herself was lovely but her English was sometimes hard to understand. Sound system in the van didn't work properly in my opinion. Although it was a lot to see in one (VERY HOT) day, it was worth the long day's drive.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

trip was exactly as advertised--very good trip. Really liked our guide Julian

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This is an interesting tour and lots of important site has been covered in this knowledgeable tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very good tour. Gave us a wonderful overview of Provence. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Lavendie
Museum.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Brilliant. Second time doing this tour. Ended up booking a private tour as well. Informative, friendly guide who was happy to answer endless questions from all the guests. Great door to door service.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Nice all day trip in comfort to a variety of scenic sites. Guide allowed sufficient time at each location and provided interesting historical information.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic tour. Our guide was extremely interesing. She knew all the facts and details of the area and made the day enjoyable withour any hic-ups. The highlight for me was Roussillon. Having a small group works really well.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A nice little tour. I would say that there was really no need to stop at the Lavender Farm. The towns we visited were fare more interesting and beautiful and more time there would have been better. Our guide was vibrant, fresh and interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Really enjoyed the tour, Sophie was very informative, and friendly and easy to understand.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a great time, our tour guide was excellent! She answered all our questions adequately and was very helpful throughout. Would be great if we can have more at the villages though, we didn't have time to sit down for lunch, had to grab a sandwich and walk around along the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Trip was excellent, guide had good knowledge of the area, was very friendly and likable. Would have liked the tour to include a Winery as this has been an essential part of Province since 1200. The trip is titled Province in one day so not including a Winery seems strange.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The tour could bring us an overview of the areas around Avignon which are very beautiful and nice. Tour was good and worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very good tour knowledgeable guide. I wish we had booked a tour that could go to fewer villages and give us more time with them.

ANGELA B
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

needed more time in the town we stopped for lunch as there was a market and not enough time to browse the stalls. Guide was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

A full day but worth it to see the sites since we did not have a car - We did not like arriving at St. Remy on market day - way too crowded and no time to see the town. I enjoyed the Lavender Museum but my husband was not interested.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

For those with a short amount of time in the Provence region, this trip is perfect. My wife and I initially wanted to rent a car. However, for 1.5 days it was too expensive. You essentially have a guide that takes you from amazing sight to sight without the worry of getting lost. My wife and I do wish we had more time in some of the villages, but again, this trip is designed to quickly see everything. If you can rent a car and have time, this tour is not necessary.

Tamara J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Pont du Gard was fantastic, Les Baux was fake and touristy like no one actually lived there, St Remy was nice for lunch, Roussillon was a real highlight, the view of Gordes was great but the town itself was boring. The lavender museum was really onlly of interest to those who like lavender. Wish we had gone to Menerbes instead of Les Baux. The tour guide was very passionate and knowledgeable, and kept us to our timetable very well.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We saw a lot, but I would have liked a little more description or information about areas along the way.

From USD $ 117.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555VP_04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message