4.5 star rating: Recommended 61 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Sites Small-Group Day Trip from Avignon, Including Nîmes and Uzès. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 61 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour.

Dale B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A great guide and driver. Seeing the Pont du Gard was a dream come true.

Michael W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was not quite as interesting as our first trip, however Uzes was our favorite town in Provence. Our guide was excellent with a very good knowledge of the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Our guide was absolutely fabulous, and the choice and timing of the tour stops just right.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Wonderful tour, not to be missed. In Nimes and Uzes, fantastic tour guide, very knowledgeable. Pont du Gard is not to be missed. Thank you for a fantastic tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Avignon was fabulous,the tour of Nimes, Pont gaurd and Uzes was a fantastic experience would never have seen all the fantastic sites without a tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour guide very impressive. She able to provide a lots of information regarding the cities which we going.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Plenty of time to wander around at own leisure and guide Melanie was excellent . Great experience

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was quite interesting. The arena in Nimes is a sight to see, not only for the structure but for its history. I was disappointed not to see the 'Square House'. I thought it was included. Uzes is delightful and our guide was a pleasure to have.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I love bike tours. Try to do one in every city I visit. This was so fun and educational. Our guide was safety minded and yet fun and informative. The South had such a shameful yet colorful history, it helps to understand why people thought the way they did back then and why things are built as they were. Sara knew all the tidbits, sharing them at the generous number of stops and points of interest. Would do it again as I'm sure we missed something.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Travelling in a small group (8 people) was very good. Guide was very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide Emily was great! She had a lot of information about the local area as well as general french history. I felt humbled when she informed me that the town of Nimes has had tourists coming to see the roman sites here, since the 1500's. Great day
Cheers Chris and Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Good amount of time to see the sights, knowledgeable tour guide and comfortable travellng

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Guide was very prompt and courteous, speaking both French and English. Some more information on history and significance of sites would have been helpful. Enabled us to see sites efficiently that we would not have without a car.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Our guide was willing to provide the guests with all the pieces of information she could get hand on. Roman sites near Avignon, including Pont du Gard, are rather tricky to access, if travelling by public transportion. By joining the day trip. I could enjoy them all while relaxed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a good tour with plenty of time at each site to see what we came for.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good. Carolyn was an excellent guide and really communicated about Provence and the sites we visited.

Ee Him O
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Highly recommended to visit this historical site.

Leslie H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

My only criticism is that a visit to Uzes was included and it is not a Roman site. Otherwise the trip was very enjoyable and well-managed. The quide was admirable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We called the morning of the tour which started at 2:00 pm to confirm and tell them we had changed hotels. We were told to go to the square Horloge and wait in front of the Bank of France building at 1:45. We did not get picked up until 2:45 one hour waiting in the hot sun because the company did not tell the driver we had changed hotels. He had a cell phone so I don't know what the problem was. The tour is too rushed. We only had 45 min in Nimes and 45 in Uzes. The tour would be better all day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Very good

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was excellent But really, another amphatheatre? One too many. And Beautiful Uzes? We paid for a guide not a map! She gave us a map of the sites and we were on our own. Frustrating! The guide should have taken us around to the sites herself, not given us a map to find the sites for ourselves. We paid for a guide! Let the guide be a guide! My friend and I did not care for the map handouts. If we had wanted to be on our own with a map in hand, we wouldn't have taken this tour. The guide is not merely a chauffeur, but a guide. Not her fault Viator's fault.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

it was great. guide was good and helpful. there could have been an additional halt at nemis at the old roman tample.

From USD $ 80.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message