4.5 star rating: Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Avignon was fabulous,the tour of Nimes, Pont gaurd and Uzes was a fantastic experience would never have seen all the fantastic sites without a tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was quite interesting. The arena in Nimes is a sight to see, not only for the structure but for its history. I was disappointed not to see the 'Square House'. I thought it was included. Uzes is delightful and our guide was a pleasure to have.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I love bike tours. Try to do one in every city I visit. This was so fun and educational. Our guide was safety minded and yet fun and informative. The South had such a shameful yet colorful history, it helps to understand why people thought the way they did back then and why things are built as they were. Sara knew all the tidbits, sharing them at the generous number of stops and points of interest. Would do it again as I'm sure we missed something.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Travelling in a small group (8 people) was very good. Guide was very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide Emily was great! She had a lot of information about the local area as well as general french history. I felt humbled when she informed me that the town of Nimes has had tourists coming to see the roman sites here, since the 1500's. Great day
Cheers Chris and Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Good amount of time to see the sights, knowledgeable tour guide and comfortable travellng

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Guide was very prompt and courteous, speaking both French and English. Some more information on history and significance of sites would have been helpful. Enabled us to see sites efficiently that we would not have without a car.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Our guide was willing to provide the guests with all the pieces of information she could get hand on. Roman sites near Avignon, including Pont du Gard, are rather tricky to access, if travelling by public transportion. By joining the day trip. I could enjoy them all while relaxed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a good tour with plenty of time at each site to see what we came for.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good. Carolyn was an excellent guide and really communicated about Provence and the sites we visited.

Ee Him O
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Highly recommended to visit this historical site.

Leslie H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

My only criticism is that a visit to Uzes was included and it is not a Roman site. Otherwise the trip was very enjoyable and well-managed. The quide was admirable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Very good

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was excellent But really, another amphatheatre? One too many. And Beautiful Uzes? We paid for a guide not a map! She gave us a map of the sites and we were on our own. Frustrating! The guide should have taken us around to the sites herself, not given us a map to find the sites for ourselves. We paid for a guide! Let the guide be a guide! My friend and I did not care for the map handouts. If we had wanted to be on our own with a map in hand, we wouldn't have taken this tour. The guide is not merely a chauffeur, but a guide. Not her fault Viator's fault.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

it was great. guide was good and helpful. there could have been an additional halt at nemis at the old roman tample.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Amphitheater is closed on the day we visited thus quite disappointing. Pont du Gard is indeed impressive, however not enough time on spot to fully explore it....

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

True...the tour is conducted in English, but it also is conducted in French and Spanish, so guide needed to speak to the mixed group three times...thereby shortening whatever she said and often by the time she got to our language, we had passed the item of interest

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I took a Viator trip in Egypt where the guide was with us full time, participating in the tour. In this tour, the guide primarily drove us to the sites and dropped us off. I would have liked more commentary. Pickup was on time and I was glad I was not driving. That was the value to us. We were disappointed that Nimes was having a festival and we were taken to Arles instead, as we had booked another tour that included Arles on another day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Pros: Comfortable car; small group; friendly guide.
Cons: Felt rushed at the stops, especially at Nimes. If Uzes had been eliminated--not really a Roman place and seemingly nothing more that a tourist venue--we would have had more time at Nimes and Pont du Gard. The guide should do a little more reading on the sights and history of the Provence area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Expected the guide to stay with the group and tell us some information about the sites, not just drop us off and disappear. The guide was pleasant but the trip was not worth the money and time spent.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sites are interesting. But not too happy with our tour guide. We signed up for a English speaking tour and there were 2 french speaking tourists out of 8 and the tour became mostly french speaking at the end.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The guided tour was not guided. When we arrived to the arena of Nimes the driver simply gave us the tickets and told us to take an audioguide, to listen to the story! I could do it by myself!

Fran
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

With all the Viator tours we took in France prior to reaching Provence, the English speaking guides were most professional and stayed with us the whole time, explaining each feature of the particular attraction. However, we were very surprised and disappointed that the Roman sites tour was not the same. The guide on this tour was really just a bus driver. We were left to go to the Nimes amphitheatre by ourselves and had to use the audio guide. We had to rush back as we were given less than an hour to be back at the bus, which was nowhere near enough time at this site.. We were so looking forward to this Roman sites tour but it was a real let down. The rest of the tour included the aquaduct but no other Roman sites. After this, we were dropped off at a couple of towns with a map and left to walk about aimlessly, not knowing the points of interest as no explanation was given. On another tour we went on the next day to Gordes and Rousillon, our guide pointed out Roman sites along the way, although this wasn't part of that particular tour. This made us feel even more cranky that the Roman sites tour didn't include these attractions, instead of tourist towns, the historical interest of which was not explained to us. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this tour.

From USD $ 77.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message