4.5 star rating: Recommended 48 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 48 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a good tour with plenty of time at each site to see what we came for.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good. Carolyn was an excellent guide and really communicated about Provence and the sites we visited.

Ee Him O
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Highly recommended to visit this historical site.

Leslie H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

My only criticism is that a visit to Uzes was included and it is not a Roman site. Otherwise the trip was very enjoyable and well-managed. The quide was admirable.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Very good

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was excellent But really, another amphatheatre? One too many. And Beautiful Uzes? We paid for a guide not a map! She gave us a map of the sites and we were on our own. Frustrating! The guide should have taken us around to the sites herself, not given us a map to find the sites for ourselves. We paid for a guide! Let the guide be a guide! My friend and I did not care for the map handouts. If we had wanted to be on our own with a map in hand, we wouldn't have taken this tour. The guide is not merely a chauffeur, but a guide. Not her fault Viator's fault.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

it was great. guide was good and helpful. there could have been an additional halt at nemis at the old roman tample.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Amphitheater is closed on the day we visited thus quite disappointing. Pont du Gard is indeed impressive, however not enough time on spot to fully explore it....

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

True...the tour is conducted in English, but it also is conducted in French and Spanish, so guide needed to speak to the mixed group three times...thereby shortening whatever she said and often by the time she got to our language, we had passed the item of interest

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I took a Viator trip in Egypt where the guide was with us full time, participating in the tour. In this tour, the guide primarily drove us to the sites and dropped us off. I would have liked more commentary. Pickup was on time and I was glad I was not driving. That was the value to us. We were disappointed that Nimes was having a festival and we were taken to Arles instead, as we had booked another tour that included Arles on another day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Pros: Comfortable car; small group; friendly guide.
Cons: Felt rushed at the stops, especially at Nimes. If Uzes had been eliminated--not really a Roman place and seemingly nothing more that a tourist venue--we would have had more time at Nimes and Pont du Gard. The guide should do a little more reading on the sights and history of the Provence area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Expected the guide to stay with the group and tell us some information about the sites, not just drop us off and disappear. The guide was pleasant but the trip was not worth the money and time spent.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The sites are interesting. But not too happy with our tour guide. We signed up for a English speaking tour and there were 2 french speaking tourists out of 8 and the tour became mostly french speaking at the end.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The guided tour was not guided. When we arrived to the arena of Nimes the driver simply gave us the tickets and told us to take an audioguide, to listen to the story! I could do it by myself!

From USD $ 87.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_05

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message