• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 42 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Avignon, France
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Sites Small Group Day Trip from Avignon. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 42 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Our guide was excellent But really, another amphatheatre? One too many. And Beautiful Uzes? We paid for a guide not a map! She gave us a map of the sites and we were on our own. Frustrating! The guide should have taken us around to the sites herself, not given us a map to find the sites for ourselves. We paid for a guide! Let the guide be a guide! My friend and I did not care for the map handouts. If we had wanted to be on our own with a map in hand, we wouldn't have taken this tour. The guide is not merely a chauffeur, but a guide. Not her fault Viator's fault.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

it was great. guide was good and helpful. there could have been an additional halt at nemis at the old roman tample.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Amphitheater is closed on the day we visited thus quite disappointing. Pont du Gard is indeed impressive, however not enough time on spot to fully explore it....

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

True...the tour is conducted in English, but it also is conducted in French and Spanish, so guide needed to speak to the mixed group three times...thereby shortening whatever she said and often by the time she got to our language, we had passed the item of interest

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I took a Viator trip in Egypt where the guide was with us full time, participating in the tour. In this tour, the guide primarily drove us to the sites and dropped us off. I would have liked more commentary. Pickup was on time and I was glad I was not driving. That was the value to us. We were disappointed that Nimes was having a festival and we were taken to Arles instead, as we had booked another tour that included Arles on another day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Pros: Comfortable car; small group; friendly guide.
Cons: Felt rushed at the stops, especially at Nimes. If Uzes had been eliminated--not really a Roman place and seemingly nothing more that a tourist venue--we would have had more time at Nimes and Pont du Gard. The guide should do a little more reading on the sights and history of the Provence area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

Expected the guide to stay with the group and tell us some information about the sites, not just drop us off and disappear. The guide was pleasant but the trip was not worth the money and time spent.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The guided tour was not guided. When we arrived to the arena of Nimes the driver simply gave us the tickets and told us to take an audioguide, to listen to the story! I could do it by myself!

Fran
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

With all the Viator tours we took in France prior to reaching Provence, the English speaking guides were most professional and stayed with us the whole time, explaining each feature of the particular attraction. However, we were very surprised and disappointed that the Roman sites tour was not the same. The guide on this tour was really just a bus driver. We were left to go to the Nimes amphitheatre by ourselves and had to use the audio guide. We had to rush back as we were given less than an hour to be back at the bus, which was nowhere near enough time at this site.. We were so looking forward to this Roman sites tour but it was a real let down. The rest of the tour included the aquaduct but no other Roman sites. After this, we were dropped off at a couple of towns with a map and left to walk about aimlessly, not knowing the points of interest as no explanation was given. On another tour we went on the next day to Gordes and Rousillon, our guide pointed out Roman sites along the way, although this wasn't part of that particular tour. This made us feel even more cranky that the Roman sites tour didn't include these attractions, instead of tourist towns, the historical interest of which was not explained to us. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

We were very disappointed in this trip. In Nimes we were given tickets to the Ampitheatre. We were told to be back at the bus in 75 minutes. We didn't even see Augustus' gate or the Castellum. We drove by Maison Carree without even slowing down. We sped through the ampitheatre so we could go see Maison Carre but it was a race to the finish. We were dropped off in Uzes without even a map. We didn't even know what we should go see as we didn't bring our travel books. We expected the guide to give us all of the info. We were too nervous we'd get lost to really explore as we only had 45 minutes. Pont du Gard was amazing but again we were just dropped off without even a brochure. The staircase to the second level had closed an hour before we got there which was disappointing. The advantage of this tour is you are driven to the Pont du Gard as it isn't the easiest place to get to via public transportation. This tour is basically just a driver with some commentary as you drive from place to place.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

When we booked the tour, it was to include 5 roman sites:the Ampitheatre, the Maison Carree, the Augustus's gate, the Castellum, and Pont du Gard. Apparently the tour was changed in the few weeks from booking until we went. At the Ampitheatre, we were given a map to the Maisson Carree but it was the opposite direction from where the tour guide parked and much too far to walk in the time alloted. We did not even drive by it or the Augustus's gate or the Castellum. In Uzes we were dropped off with a map and had to find our way across the area to the pickup point. We spent only a few minutes looking at the sites. Most of the time was spent finding our way. Pont du Gard was nice. Of the 5 Roman sites we expected to see, we saw 2. We thought a few of them would be short photo ops, but we did not even drive by. If you are interested in Roman sites, don't waste your money on this tour.

From USD $ 98.22

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3555_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message