4.5 star rating: Recommended 380 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Ayers Rock, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sounds of Silence Restaurant. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 380 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Dinner under the stars anytime is always wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful way to experience the Desert a cloudy sunset but it didn't spoil the atmosphere that is created by wonderful atentative staff.the meal was plentiful and the wine was superb ...the cultural dance and star talker where perfect for the night entertainment the only draw back it went too quickly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An absolute Must for visitors. Very yummy Buffet and a nice and entertaining evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a balmy warm evening when we arrived at the pre dinner drinks area. We had time for photos including a dingo skirting around us and were accompanied by a didgeridoo player which created a wonderful "outback" feeling. The colours at dusk are amazing. We were seated considerately; a few aboriginal men all painted up wandered about in the semi-darkness and spooked us a bit. The buffet dinner was copious and to a good standard considering the remote location. It was great to have a little talk about the southern night sky to add to the evening's enjoyment and meaningfulness. I don't think anyone was happy to leave that place!.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Do not miss this experience. The meal was top quality, great selection, three courses, even finished off with a port. Alcohol flowed freely from the welcoming bubbles to the end port. Wine and beer was available.
We were lucky to have a Scottish couple and four Americans. Conversation flowed and every one had something to say. The overseas tourists all seemed to have had a great time while they were here.
Service was top notch and the session on the stars very informative without being too technical. A great presentation with the offer to view the constellations through telescopes at the end.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must to do at the rock. Food excellent,sky amazing, staff so friendly and information regarding stars very informative. Drink flower easily. Good value for money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic experence.Well worth the cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Despite initial reservations about the Sounds of Silence dinner after reading many reviews, I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The food was plentiful and wine flowed freely. Although a cloudy evening, the star talk was still informative.
Yes there are some cheesy statements, and the aboriginal dancing during the welcome canap├ęs a bit staged, but we were lucky to have a great crowd on our table (didn't know any of them before) and had great conversation throughout the evening.
Overall a great evening - helped by good company and wine!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were lucky enough to usher in 2014 at the Sounds of Silence. The experience was a true highlight of our trip to the Red Centre. We overheard some negative comments about the quality of the food, but both my husband and I thought it was fantastic, especially given that one is in the middle of nowhere. The Barramundi filets were very tasty as were the fresh veggies. Wine flowed freely although the red was hot (as was the climate!), the white was chilled. The best part of the evening for me was the Star Gazer. One has never experienced stars and blackness and....silence...as we experienced that night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stargazing was the highlight!! Just plain amazing. Although the variation was limited, the food was really good as well. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an amazing experience. From the moment we got off the bus to go to the dining location up to the last minute of the evening, everything was superb. Would recommend it to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic! This is a once in a life time experience. Beautiful sunset from the Uluru. Exciting welcome champagne. Delicious dinner star talk guide was expertise on the orbit, planet and galaxy. The deegeridoo
playing in the background. I would love to re-visit on my next trip. Again, thanks Viator's tour arrangement.
Carol Yu from Richardson,Texas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

What can I say, this was not only a chance to meet and make friends from around the world, but the evening was one of our travelling highlights. Well prepared,laid out and organised. The food was good and diverse, but the outstanding part was the very educational but fun star gazing . Would recommend to all visitors.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The sense of occasion grows as the sun sets on Uluru, the didgeridoo playing commences and the secrets of the night sky are revealed. A wonderful evening awaits you, from the generosity of drink to the amazingly different and delicious buffet - don't miss this gem in the desert.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the Sounds of Silence Dinner and show. The food was great and the Astronomer's presentation of the constellations under the Southern Night Sky was great. The view through the telescopes (including the ability to see the rings around Saturn) was fantastic.

From USD $ 162.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2478_SAIAO1FIT

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message