4.5 star rating: Recommended 404 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Ayers Rock, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sounds of Silence Restaurant. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 404 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

A definite must for any traveller to Uluru (Ayers Rock) - no need to worry if it is cold as they have heaters over the tables. We went in June and it was perfect!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Something different and worth the money even thought the night was cloudy and we didn't experience the beautiful sunset or see the stars. The food, staff, and general atmosphere was wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The experience was amazing!

Given that we were in the middle of nowhere and the Sounds of Silence people have a bit of a monopoly, I was anticipating the food and service to be mediocre. However, both were top notch. The food and wine were DELICIOUS (with more-than-generous portion sizes), and the service was as good as any top end restaurant in Sydney. The waitstaff were incredibly friendly, and the other 'performers' (the digeridoo player and star-talker) both put on excellent dinnertime entertainment.

And of course the views, sunset and AMAZING stars were all breathtaking - we had a view of both Uluru and the Olgas for the sunset, so could not have asked for anything more. In terms of the stars, not only were were they shown to us in an interesting and straightforward manner but the telescopes that were provided made a great added bonus.

Finally, my two friends and I missed the transportation provided from the resort to the restaurant site due to pure disorganization. When we arrived at reception, almost 10 minutes late, the person at the resort simply rang someone up who promptly picked us up in a 4x4 to take us to the site - no fuss, no complaints, no stress and (if you can believe it) with a smile. Honestly - you wouldn't get that kind of service in Sydney!

The overall experience was, without question, my favorite part of my trip to the Red Centre. I couldn't be more satisfied with the service provided.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Totally an amazing experience! We had a fantastic view of Uluru for the sunset (and the Olgas on the far end) and greeted with a nice sparkling wine to enjoy the moment. The dinner was scrumptious, and features outback delicacies like crocodile, kangaroo, but all cooked in gourmet fashion.. The tour of the stars was magical! We got to visually see the constellations when it was clearly pointed out with a bright-beam torch by the guide on the clear night sky! The wait staff were really attentive and service was 5-star! It can be a pricey dinner, but for the experience you get, it was all worth doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Highly recommend we had a fantastic night the setting is just beautiful so much delicious food and plenty of drinks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Not to be missed. This was one of many gems in our trip to Uluru.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

A brilliant night. Great company. Great food. Great wine. Great entertainment and astronomy show. Will do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

A wonderful night, we were lucky with the weather. Site and views spectacular and staff looked after us very well. The didgeridoo player was an added bonus. will recommend this night to all my friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Very nice evening, very well organised, delicious food, very nice atmosphere during the meal, very good conference on the stars though unfortunately the sky was cloudy that night. I highly recommend this event, this is a unique opportunity to see the sun set on Uluru and dine in the desert and try all specialties such as kangaroo and crocodile

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The location was perfect ,the food, excellent. The whole evening was classy,and sophisticated!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Fantastic!! A must for anyone ataying at Ayers Rock Resort. Location is perfect - views of Uluru on one side and Kata Tjuta on the other. We watched the sun set with a glass of champagne and the didgeridoo in the background. As the sun disappeared behind Kata Tjuta, we had a fantastic meal with dishes to suit all tastes. Then a local astronomer took us on a journet across the night sky - no light polution so it was a breathtaking sight. You even get chance to look through telescopes and binoculars. Given to current AUD/GBP exchange rate, it seems quite pricey for an evening out ... but rest assured it is well worth every penny and more. If you do one thing at Uluru, make sure it's Sounds of Silence.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Sails was not a let down as some had suggested- the rock totally inspirational and the dinner under the night sky was an experience. Abundance of good company and beverages which were offered generously was great, and the setting pretty well thoughout but the idea of a very watery pumpkin soup entree was the only let down. 5 of us did this trip with a hired 4 wheel drive that we picked up at the airport. 3 days which we planed as a weekend experience to feel the heat of central Australia. It felt like a longer stay than it actually was and a real break. The ease to fly in and out was fantastic and the views from the plane an added bonus especially being able to see the floods heading down from Qld and the water over the land. Highly recommend this to the pretty lazy traveller.Keep an eye out for the specials

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Definitely an enjoyable experience whilst at Uluru. It made our whole Outback trip worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Definitely a must do! Our dining experience is one to remember, as it included a bit of more protein then we expected that night. we went at the beginning of Australia's summer, so other invited guests included bugs and crickets! These critters crawled around our tables as we ate, so at first it's a bit unexpected and appalling, but after a few glasses of wine, you forget they are even there! in all honesty, it's a definitely a great experience. Plus, we met and conversed with some neat people at our table as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I had the time of my life. Me and my friends enjoyed our time with you and recommend the company. Thank you .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

A most enjoyable experience. The Waiting Staff were excellent and the atmosphere unbelievable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

My evening was absolutely fabulous and worth every penny. Not only was the setting amazing but the food service and entertainment wonderful. Having spent 4 weeks travelling australia the dine under the stars has had a lasting impression. thank you so much for a magical evening.

RICHARD B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We toasted the sun dropping on Ayers rock then had good food. It was well organised, the star show was amazing and informative.It is a must do if you visit Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent food and fantastic stargazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

What an amazing evening. This whole experience was everything it is billed to be and more. The food was excellent, the service, the astronomer and didgeridoo player really entertaining. The views are spectacular. Truly the best evening of our whole Australian tour. Worth traveling to Australia for.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

bellissima esperienza.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This was probably the best highlight of our trip besides seeing Ayer's Rock. We cannot think of one thing that needs to be improved. We loved the fact that we actually could see Saturn and it's rings. The food and service were excellent.

David M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute from the cocktails whilst the sun set, through to the delightful meal and the astronomers dissertation. WORTH EVERY CENT THANK YOU.

Martin K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Any visit to Uluru really should include the Sounds of Silence dinner. It is very well organised and the service is impeccable. Food and drinks are of high quality, and the location of course is unique. The experience may seem pricey but it is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A true Australian experience. I honestly cannot think about one bad thing to say about the night

From USD $ 150.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2478_SAIAO1FIT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message