4.5 star rating: Recommended 65 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Ayers Rock, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 65 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Brilliant night out. Worth every penny, which is more than I can say about the resort...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

As far as we can tell from guides etc. this was better value than the Sounds of Silence, and somewhat better quality food (we preferred the more substantial BBQ at long tables). It was slightly confusing having booked on-line, as no-one seemed to know which tour this was. But worked well, food quality and guides good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great sunset viewing area and refreshments. Good BBQ and well attentive staff. Very informal evening but really enjoyable.Enjoyed the talk about the stars.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent experience, food was great, got to meet some interesting people, not to mention the stunning views....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We were unsure whether to book the full meal or this BBQ. We were pleased that we chose to go for this one. It's very good value for money and watching the sunset over Ayers Rock was an experience not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The tour was great the viewing spot was good not too crowded the barbecue in the shadows of Uluru was relaxed and there was no shortage of food , the star talk was good as well . It is a must!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

It was a good experience the view of the "rock" and later on the BBQ dinner.
The only sort of regret is that there were so many people at the rock viewing point that it was not a moment of quietness. But, hey, it is a tourist attraction, right?
Thanks for the guides, the driver,the food and all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Fantastic. yes the sky was completely overcast with no stars in sight but that is the weather. The guides did their best to tell stories to make up for this and the BBQ was great. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

fantastic, staff are brilliant,food beautiful. Highly recommended, loved every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We were not sure what to expect from this, given that it would be a very large group of people, so we were pleasantly surprised at the outcome. We were given nearly an hour to appreciate the changing colors of Uluru leading up to sunset, aided by cheese and wine to tide us over to dinner. The dinner itself was absolutely sumptuous, very delicious, and it was very enjoyable to meet others on the tour. After dinner, our driver gave us a wonderful and entertaining tour of the stars. Save your money--don't bother with the expensive Sounds of Silence dinner. It couldn't be any better than this!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

wonderful experience. the guides were very nice and knowledgable. The bbq dinner was delicious and the stargazing was amazing.

Lynn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The staff were all really friendly, the food was great, and the stars were amazing!! I've never seen the night sky so clear in my life!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

friendly people - just make you melt in the outback from joy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

View magnificent, food superb, well organized trip, Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was 4.5 - Awesome would do it again! They need lap blankets for the last bit though as it was very cold. Only complaint, we sat there for 30 mins only to miss the bus! How? Because the tour name on the bus did not match the Viator name, company rep was very rude, but the hotel got us fixed up!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was a lovely sunset view, a bit cloudy that day for best light, but still. The wine and snacks were perfect. It was nice to be so close to Uluru as we enjoyed the barbecue. It was good. The stars were unbelievable clouds cleared , but I wanted a bit more time seeing them and learning about the constellations. Great tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

it was great

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

A lovely tour and a great way to end the day. Although we had a great time, I would say the tour is expensive. Canapés consisted of carrots, cucumber and Doritos. Food at the BBQ spot was good. Star gazing was lovely but very rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The arrangements, food and staff were good but the overcast sky meant that we didn't see the sunset or stars.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was really a bargain. Pick-up was flawless, snacks and wine watching the sunset, then a (surprisingly) wonderful BBQ dinner with Steak, Chicken, Shrimp, Kangaroo, and all the fixings. You won't go hungry. Unlimited beer and bine, also. Watching the stars come out was breathtaking...last time I saw the Milky Way that Milky was from the top of Mauna Kea. Would have given them 5 stars had we spent less time at the sunset and more time looking at the stars. Wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful night - great food and the star gazing after was a nice treat. Recommend this tour - even as a solo traveller.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good points.Picked up from hotel,went to the viewing area.Saw the sunset.Taken to the Visitors Centre where the BBQ was already set up.Very professional service.Plenty to eat and drink.Finally the guide spoke enthusiastically about the stars
Bad points.Don't expect Patrick Moore standard

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

it was lovely. Plenty of food. The driver Tony and tour guide Ryan wereexcellent! Some people didn't like the music on the way home but I thought it was good however the sound system in AAT Kings bus was very tinny! Thank you for a great evening!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful evening for this tour and really enjoyed it. The sunset cocktails were great and the food at the dinner was wonderful. We had no trouble with flies or any other critters. The only negative was that while waiting for sunset there were no chairs provided and we were there for an extended period of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The organisation was flawless. The food was excellent and the stargazing, albeit elementary, reminded me of Devon when I was a child when there was less light pollution.in England at night. Their seemed to be a maze of cloying political correctness surrounding the aborigine/traditional owner/indigenous peoples emanating from the European descendant guides, which made one nervous for fear of offending them. No such concern from the aborigines themselves where the social interaction was no nonsense, plain speaking and enjoyable.

From USD $ 147.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230OPY10

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message