Insider's Guide to Bali

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 97 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sapna R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

wonderful tour organised by kana.

B Man Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed this trip - if like me you've been to Bali a few times and are looking for something different, this covers a large part of the centre of the island.

Don P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour East did a good job of organizing this tour. The tour itself is a nice view of the island for a day trip. It is family friendly as we were traveling with a 7 yr old. The lunch buffet was average and priced for the scenery (i.e., expensive for Bali standards but good view of the volcano summit - we did see people order ala carte so this may be an option).

All in all a positive experience, but some possible downsides to be prepared for - the tour has stops and, at all these stops, you will be approached to buy things (sort of like "exit through the gift shop"). Don't feel pressured, if you like something by all means haggle a bit and get it, we found some interesting pieces along the way (don't forget extra rupiah although many places take credit cards for an additional 3% fee)...you have to understand that this is a living for many of the people and they rely on tourists for wages. However, we did not buy things on every stop and found a polite but audible "no thank you" did the trick. Also, if you go during a busy time in Bali, be prepared for some traffic especially in the evening return to your hotel.

On a positive note, if you can request tour guide Kana, by all means do so. He will make sure you are well taken care of and is full of great info on the island. Great job Kana!

Sally T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the entire day!

The highlights for me were:-

1. Ubud. Found the rice fields AMAZING!
2. The food at the restraunt at the volacanoe look out was probably the best I had in Bali.
3. Buying the art! Loved the paint shop.

Would do it all over again :)

Liza Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We had great time during the tour. Almost missed the opportunity to see Mount Batur as it was raining heavily went we travelled up to Kintamani, but our experienced tour guide Beny knew exactly that we need to immediately stop and take as many as photos before thick fog hide everything. Had fun throughout the day.

MARLENE K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

THIS WAS A GREAT TOUR THE DANCE WAS A LITTLE LONG BUT OUR GUIDES TOOK US TO SOME GREAT PLACES

Ankush V

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We had a good tour. The best part of the tour was Kintamani Volcano. The Volcano is dead, so dont expect any lava, but clouds, lake and Batur mountain was cool. Both guide and driver were good. We had a good private tour. Includes: Gold and Silver Work, Wooden work, Goa Gajah, coffee and rice farms

MARLIYANA M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

enjoyed the trip.went opn our first day in bali. Got to see the beautiful terraced rice fields along the way and enjoyed the traditional dance. Love the restaurant we went to in Kintamani. Great view of the volcano

Kenneth A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Tour operators did a good job of organization and guide was informative and helpful. However, I did feel a little isolated from reality and would have liked more opportunity to mingle with the people, such as experiencing a bazaar of some kind rather than pre-arranged shops.

Frederick E S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great day tour offering a varity of sites and thing to experience. Our guide (Mr Oka) was very friendly and did well to explain things along the way. Some of the stops were at various handicraft shops but we did not feel pressured what so ever by our guide or the folks at the shops to buy anything. The trip was well worth it and I'd recommend it to anyone that has a day to spend exploring Bali.

Michael John H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

very enjoyable day trip, we saw a lot on this trip, the Baron dances were fantastic and we really enjoyed the coffee tasting and the temples. Our guide was really informative and made sure we saw everything we wanted to. Thank you!

-wL- Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The tour guide was very courteous and friendly - from Tour East. We started the tour with the Barong Dance and then made our way through the different craft villages (Batubulan, Cerluk, Mas). I was a little worried that there would be pressure to buy some handicrafts at the various stops but there was little to no pressure. We were only a group of two people so we were in-and-out in 10 mins each time (which meant more time for the rest of the tour). Kintamani was really cool and I would have loved to trek around for a bit but it was really just a quick photo op and then move on. Lunch was a buffet with a great view of the Volcano. In retrospect, we shouldn't have spent that much time eating - food was fine and they have vegetarian options as well. We stopped off at a few temples and spots to view the terraced rice paddies - very cool. The tour actually lasted longer than 8-hours for us and they were really nice to accomodate some our of asks to spend more time in Ubud. Again, suspect because it was just the two of us and we sped through some of the other parts of the tour. I booked a subsequent tour with Tour East - Bali As You Please - $125 USD for 8-hours/vehicle (for 4-6 passengers and comes with tour guide and driver - great deal too if you have more friends!)

Geoff L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Covered more than ten tourist sites. A good day out.

Katie O

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Fantastic trip. The guide was very good although, too many craft stops along the way where you can feel very pressured to buy something at every stop!

Peggy W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Guide was very knowledgeable and charming. Good variety of things to see. We were unable to get to the original dance venue because of time taken on pickups so were instead shown a sort of musical which was good but rather long. It would have been good to see the volcano from the other side of the road but were advised not to because of the intensity of the sellers so photo's had to be taken from the restaurant.

Jos T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very professional and friendly guide, took us to many smaller arts and crafts places along the way. good fun!!

wei wu

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

just ok

John M

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

This was OK. Really just reminder me of a mountain.

Rosanne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Overall a good tour except for the number of long stops at places related to shopping, not part of the program. Example 40 mins at the silver factory, a short stop at wood carving, 25 min stop at spice and coffee farm, 20 min stop at fabric factory and ONLY a 5 min stop at the rice terraces. Suggest a schedule be discussed at the beginning to avoid disappointment. It always depends on the other participants of the tour, but some compromising should be made or the guide have better control. Seeing the dancing was excellent. It was the first stop.

NIRUPA H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

unremarkable. Ubud - passed through outskirts only. spent more time viciting batik , silver shops etc.

Nicola C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Whilst the scenery was fantastic and very impressive (even though our day was slightly overcast) this local tour provider did not take us to venues that I have become accustomed to re Viators standards. Lunch was average, transport very average, silver shop in Celuk dirty. Better with private driver

FRANK R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Excellent Guide and Driver, but the roads clogged with traffic

Kitty S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Overall the tour was ok, one point i'm not happy was the tour guide, Benny did not take us to Elephant Cave! Had not realised it was on the itinerary till we got back to Aust :(

Klose

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Well, you only see the volcano from distance, not even close. No lava, no steams. All you get is sitting in a restaurant and watch from the window.

ANUJ K

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

I have done quite a few trips with Viator and find them very reliable. The Guide (Mr. Windra) was very knowledgeable. A nice trip but a lot of visits to shops / factories (not pushy though). The Barong dance was a bit too long. There were no a-la-carte options for the lunch - only a buffet (a bad idea for a tiny eater like me). Next, a visit to a temple with magical springs. The temple was very interesting and being a Hindu I could easily identify with it.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 58.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3665DPS51K

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message