4 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bali, Indonesia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

If you are well-off, this is an excellent first tour. If you aren't, do it a bit later in your stay and promise your credit card you will be good. :D As well as the volcano, you are taken to a batik store where you can see batiks being made by hand, then a silversmith, then a wood carving store, all with the most exquisite top quality goods. Remember to bargain; you lose face (and money) if you don't. I was encouraged to bargain by the shop assistants! All my wood was passed by customs, no problems. The volcano was very picturesque, and the restaurant buffet stunningly good at a very low price. The Barong dance was excellent, and the musicians were something to watch - watch the drummer! He takes the lead role in the 'orchestra' and is an absolute virtuoso! Don't expect to be able to follow what is happening in the dance, even with the description they give you, but it's still incredible to see. The guides encourage (but not push) you to buy, they were very pleased to see me come out of every store with a bag. The art gallery IS worth seeing; there are many different artists and styles and you are likely to find something beautiful and affordable. If you can only go on one tour, choose this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A very enlightening trip with a very well informed local guide who spoke excellent English. Safe and secure all the way

Janice K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This tour was excellent! You get to see the real Bali and all of its wonderful art centers. The Tour guide was very informative, and extremely helpful and polite. This was a real cultural trip, and you get to learn about the many talents and crafts of the people. The only downside was the restaurant at Kintamani, there were many flies which was a bit off putting and the locals were very persistent trying to sell their goods. However a visit to the restaurant was optional, but a welcome escape from the heat and the hawkers.

Gail F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

We had an absolutely fantastic time. We saw and experienced the Balinese culture. The Barong Dance was spectacular, and well worth seeing. The view of the volcanoes and lakes and surrounding mountains are breathtaking. Who made it great were the guides. We cannot speak highly enough of them. They were very informative and friendly and took the time to answer all our questions. This trip is well worth doing if you want to see the real Bali.

Jayne K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Probably the best tour, the volcano and lake is an amazing place and great stop for lunch, loved the Barung dance play, lots to see and lots of shopping at batik shop and silver shop and bought a couple of paintings at Ubud on the way home, a very full day indeed. Great guides and driver who made the day very enjoyable.

Ubin P
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Absolutely loved it, definitely the trip is worth doing for all.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This was a very good tour. The tour guide and driver were very professional. I loved the Barong Dance. The leuwak coffee at the coffee plantation was interesting. The vista view Mount Batur was awesome. However, we did NOT stop in Ubud as the tour said we would. This was very disappointing as myself and the other 3 in the van choose this tour especially to see Ubud. Not likely I will get back to Bali to do so. Very disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This area of Bali, beyond the beaches and malls, is fascinating, and the tour gave me a better understanding of the people, their crafts and culture. My guide, Mr. Wiyasa, had a remarkable familiarity with the region. The restaurant overlooking the volcano, offered a nice selection of indonesian fare as well as a great view. The hindu temples, with their pools, gardens and sculptures added to my enjoyment.

Stefan
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good tour. Our tour guide Dana (Morgan Freeman Look-Alike) was great!! We learned a lot and saw some nice places.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour took 10 hours so it was a long day but a very enjoyable day. You get to see a lot of Bali and you get to see how hard the Balinese work. The wood carving was amazing they are very clever. Nice lunch at the volcano. Our guide Kana was great and he was full of information.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Our guide, Wendra, was very knowledgeable. We were a small group of 3 young couples.
All the stops were appropriate. We found the restaurant that we stopped for lunch expensive for a buffet lunch in Bali.
The pick up was on time and everything went well and was very enjoyable.
I recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

wonderful tour organised by kana.

B Man
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed this trip - if like me you've been to Bali a few times and are looking for something different, this covers a large part of the centre of the island.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Tour East did a good job of organizing this tour. The tour itself is a nice view of the island for a day trip. It is family friendly as we were traveling with a 7 yr old. The lunch buffet was average and priced for the scenery (i.e., expensive for Bali standards but good view of the volcano summit - we did see people order ala carte so this may be an option).

All in all a positive experience, but some possible downsides to be prepared for - the tour has stops and, at all these stops, you will be approached to buy things (sort of like "exit through the gift shop"). Don't feel pressured, if you like something by all means haggle a bit and get it, we found some interesting pieces along the way (don't forget extra rupiah although many places take credit cards for an additional 3% fee)...you have to understand that this is a living for many of the people and they rely on tourists for wages. However, we did not buy things on every stop and found a polite but audible "no thank you" did the trick. Also, if you go during a busy time in Bali, be prepared for some traffic especially in the evening return to your hotel.

On a positive note, if you can request tour guide Kana, by all means do so. He will make sure you are well taken care of and is full of great info on the island. Great job Kana!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Loved the entire day!

The highlights for me were:-

1. Ubud. Found the rice fields AMAZING!
2. The food at the restraunt at the volacanoe look out was probably the best I had in Bali.
3. Buying the art! Loved the paint shop.

Would do it all over again :)

From USD $ 54.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3665DPS51K

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message