4 star rating: Recommended 83 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Bali, Indonesia
  • Duration:5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Monkey Forest element of this Tour was disappointing; its old and tired, the toilets stink (even though you pay) and being manipulated to buy souvenirs by a compulsorily assigned guide who owns the shop was distasteful in the extreme. OK the monkeys were cute and I got some good video but the staff were very pushy to get us to have pix taken with a bat and a snake! - sorry very tacky and again left a bad vibe. Overall The Monkey Forest is not recommended. HOWEVER I have given this Tour 5 stars for other reasons. What is not advertised - and it may have been our awesome guide - was that we were treated to a visit to a working farm with rice paddies and other crops and walked all through it where our guide showed us rice production in full detail. My wife loved this as she had not seen it before. We were then treated to some fried banana and other sweets by the lady of the farm - great stuff! The rice paddy excursion should be advertised as a highlight of this trip - not hidden! In addition the Mengwi Temple was awesome and very interesting (see pic) and the Tanah Lot visit also excellent! It was low tide (best if it is) so we could clamber over the rocks to the miracle holy water spring and were blessed by Monks - very cool!

Overall this turned out to be well over 5 hours by the time we got back to the Resort. Awesome Guide with great English. He also treated us to a visit to a local village temple where they were celebrating a holy day. And he took a detour to show us Kerobokan Prison - didn't have to. Now thats a great Guide and driver!

Krishan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great tour! The guide was really enthusiastic and explained all the sites really well. The tour was conducted at a good pace and did not feel rushed at all despite going to a number of places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Mengwi temple is lavish, and so worth seeing! Lotus flowers in moat around temple, one of the largest I saw in Bali. Taken to silversmith on way - truly excellent, much better than the silversmith of the Kintamani volcano trip. High quality items at prices you can't pass up. You only get half an hour with the monkeys, which is a pity but that is how the monkey forest is set up - not the tour's fault. Well worth it and not to be missed. Monkeys very placid and safe to be with. One caught my skirt - I was thrilled! Tanah Lot is a temple built on a rock jutting into the ocean, exquisite by sunset. Go!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

highlight of the trip for me. Loved it!!!

Julia F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A first class trip. We were looked after by our guide from start to finish, and the day ended with a wonderful sunset over the Temple on the beach. The monkeys are cheeky, and it was a good experiance to get close to the monkeys and feed them with nuts brought by the guide. If you book this trip, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Gail F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This is definitely worth doing. The monkeys were fantastic and well behaved - they do jump on you, but they're very friendly. We did see the sunset at Tanah Lot. I know alot of people haven't who have done this tour but our guide waited until the sun set, which was very beautiful. We cannot speak highly enough of our guides for all our trips using Viator. They have been very friendly and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was incredible. So helpful, wonderful information about his country, very well versed. Spent much time explaining things and answering our questions. Went above and beyond to make our tour go well.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Incredible experience and truely unique.
Appreciated the diverse mix of tour stops, at the tea and coffee place, the temples and the monkey forest.
Well informed guide who was also lovely.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip, got a great taste of Bali in a short space of time.
The monkey forest was a highlight, but a little short. You are obliged to visit the local guides handcraft stall to make a purchase can be a little uncomfortable, but they do not make you make a purchase.
Group sizes are small which are good.
Guide is knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic day out! The temples are amazing, just looking at them you can see the history. Tanah Lot was very busy with tourists, but is in a spectacular location overlooking the Indian Ocean. Your guide will take you to a restaurant located on a cliff-top next to Tanah Lot that has a spectacular view. The food is pretty average, the bathroom facilities are not good, but the view and ambience of the setting is a fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was excellent and the driver was very good. We had very good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was an great couple of attractions, highly recommend, just needed more time at Tanah Lot, was alittle rushed at the end.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The monkeys are a little cheeky. Be careful not to ware lose items such as hats. They are as quick as lightning and will have your hat off your head and up a tree before you know what has happened. Getting your stuff back from them can be done by swapping your stuff for bananas.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I loved the monkeys!! The tour guide and driver were very informative and professional. The tour guide was flexible in the itinerary making sure all parties were in agreement. Great sunset at Tanah Lot

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

all spots included. not bad.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Monkey tour was great however when it said monkey forest we were expecting monkeys coming from the forest. Trees bushes but they were out all in the path and road. Great experience anyhow.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good afternoon tour of some of the sights of Bali. The guide was very knowledgeable and informative

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised.Good guide and driver.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was great and very informative. It was only a half day tour but it was quite a long afternoon with the little stops made in between the major attractions. I was a bit disappointed with the Monkey Forest but Tanah Lot was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Well organised, helpful and informative guides

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The trip was amazing and impressive. The tour guide was very informative and helpful. He was so eager in giving us information and explanations. We had so much fun. However, too bad we spent so much time at a coffee making place that we missed the sunset at Tanah Lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Great guide and a fun afternoon. The monkeys weren't as 'naughty' as I expected but quite fun to watch. The sun setting over Tanah lot while hundreds of Hindu's made their way to the temple was a spectacular sight.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Tanah Lot was the highlight of the tour. Our guide, who was friendly and informative, made sure that we arrived in time for the sunset, which was spectacular.
The Monkey Forest was not what we had expected. Guided by local women, we were expected to buy from their stall after we had been rushed through the monkey experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The tour was interesting and the guide very knowledgeable and informative! We had many opportunities to feed monkey and take photos with them. Mengwi Temple is great, glad I saw it! But we were unfortunate to see rice paddies without rice. Also we had not walked around Tahan Lot, only looked at it from a hill. Sunset was not that majestic, but at some moment sun beaming from behind the clouds made a funny face shape and that was a delight! The only minus is that we spent a lot of time in the car - traffic was bad ...
I should mention that water bottle was not provided as initially said, but we were given drinks while testing tapioca.

From USD $ 56.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3665DPS33K

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message