Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 71 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 71 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Colleen C
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

This was an excellent trip with a very informative guide.

Simon G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This was a lovely trip, we enjoyed going around the canals on the boat and seeing how Thai people live and work. We really enjoyed the Palace. Our guide was lovely and extremely informative, although at times it was a little difficult to understand her accent. The only criticism we have is that she sometimes rushed ahead across roads and we had to risk life or limb dodging the traffic so we didn't lose her in the crowds. We were very disappointed to be 'dumped' at the jewelers and left to sort our return journey with the staff, which in the traffic, took over an hour and a half. It would be a much better tour if we had half an hour in the shop and returned by boat. We have always had our trips confirmed by our tour company the day before our trip, although it does state to check ourselves. On this occasion we did have to check as no one contacted us and we had quite a bit of difficulty getting confirmation, which we had to do via the concierge at the hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour combines two important aspects of Thai life. The river cruise shows you how they live, the palace shows political and spiritual life. My guide was articulate and informative. Warning: this is all outdoors, and Bangkok gets VERY hot and humid!

Glenn S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

I would recommend this tour to the Grand Palace, to anyone going to Bangkok.

Moira D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Very good tour. It was good to see how the Thai's really live. The Palace was an enjoyable experience as well, however the Gems market afterwards was a little too much, would rather have seen something else.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2007

Very interesting.

Derek R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Good way to see the main temples and the grand palace if you have limited time in Bangkok. The tour rep was very professional and knowledgeable and gave you enough time to ask questions and have time to look around at your own leisure. At the end of the tour we were taken to a jewelery factory but this isn't really our thing so we just had a quick look and left.

Jill F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This was a good trip and the duration was good. Our driver did drop us off at a place that was on his way back. We were happy, as it was too early to return to the hotel.

Michelle D
Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

The guide was wonderful and the tour was educational, entertaining and worth it! I liked it a lot!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Most things in the palace you can't go into but it was still good to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The trip would of been awesome, if we weren't constantly treated as money bags: on the canal we had "unscheduled stop" for some lady trying to sell us things, noone cared about. Then after visiting Grand Palace we were taken to Gem factory, where sales person was trying to sell us very expensive jewelry and if that wasn't enough, after that we were supposed to go to tailor factory, where I am sure they would of try to sell us suits and so on. My recommendation: once you visit Grand Palace opt out of going to gem factory. Waste of our time!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Cruise was good. Was a hot day and there were many people at the grand palace which made hearing our guide difficult.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

An interesting tour, unfortunately it was too hot for us to enjoy the tour which was mainly outdoors....pinching heat and very high humidity

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Guide had good English. The canal ride was terrific. Wish it had been longer. The temples were over run with tour groups, which is to be expected. I was expecting to be returned to my hotel but was astounded to be taken to a gem factory/retailer. Forced to sit through a glitzy promo video, then marched through the gem store by a pushy salesperson even though I told her I had no intention of buying anything. Only then was I handed off to a van driver for transport. Had him drop me off at the nearest transit station. A terrible end to a not so bad tour.

Mark V
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2009

Good tour. Have done it twice now, the 2nd time with visiting relatives. It all depends on the tour guide you get. Our guide the first time was awesome and made it very interesting. The 2nd guide was average.

John
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2008

The tour guide was very good, but the day we did the tour it was extremely hot; don't forget to take a hat or umbrella!

Krishan S
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

This tour visited sites as described, with a friendly and well-knowledged tour guide. This is an especially good trip for first-time visitors, although our time at The Grand Palace very limited. We were disappointed to be thrown into the jewelery workshop at the end of the tour, with tour guide conveniently disappearing for a considerable amount of time. Our tour guide was very overt with demands for tips.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2008

Taking us to a jewelry store at the end of the tour kind of turned me off. I would have preferred to see more canals instead.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

No drinks or snacks provided. Plus it was hot. We did have a chance to buy drinks, but service would seem more pleasant and professional if they provided beverages.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I had ascertained proper dress for this tour the day before. I was told that my arms and knees had to be covered. I had previously visited many temples so I knew that it was OK to wear a tunic without sleeves provided that I had a shawl to cover my arms for the visit. For the bottom I was told to wear long pants so since I was wearing a tunic, I wore leggings. Instead of greeting us upon our arrival, our guide began giving me heck about the way I was dressed. She said a shawl and leggings were totally unacceptable for the visit to the Grand Palace. She then went to talk to her guide colleagues, pointing at me and complaining - everyone was looking at me. I got so upset I told her to forget the Palace Visit and to just do the canal cruise. We enjoyed the canal cruise, but the encounter with the guide had totally soured our tour. We are also completely disappointed that we never did get to visit the Palace.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2012

Quite a rush thru'. At the end the local guide added a non-scheduled stop at a jewellery factory which we opted out however we were therefore refused to be dropped off at our hotels. He would take us back to our hotels only if we would agree to stop at the jewellery factory for at least 20 minutes. We had to make our own arrangements. The trip description clearly indicates hotel drop off are included.

From USD $ 68.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK44

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message