Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

niallsmum
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our small group tour was just our party of four. Our guide was polite and well informed, and his english was very good (Although occassionally he mis-used words or stumbled to find the correct one, his meaning was clear) (His english was better then my Thai!) He was very patient with the children. Long tail boat was fun. We stopped to buy souveniers from a floating vendor and even to feed the catfish in the river with bread, which the kids loved. Learned lots about Thai culture, history and life. Reclining Buddha was huge and well worth seeing, the grounds are spectacular. Grand Palace was extensive and elaborately decorated. Your attire is very important on this tour. You take your shoes off lots, and you walk a far bit too. Ladies should dress with covered shoulders to enter temple, they will provide you with a scarf if do not. The Grand Palace has a dress code too. Ladies as for the temple, but also no shorts and your dress or skirt must cover your knees. Men are best in trousers. They will hire (for a 400 Baht refundable deposit) you appropriate clothes if yours are considered inappropriate : eg shorts, rips, above knees, showing your shoulders, low cut, see-through etc. I know it sounds like a hassel, but it is worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

This was an outstanding tour. There were only three in our group so had full benefit of our friendly and articulate guide, Joe capably shared his experiences and exetensive knowledge.The pace was easy to cope with and the content varied. Half a day was adequate At the conclusion Joe made sure we all knew what we wanted to do next and how to get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Joe our guide was very interesting and a great source of local information. There was a lot of walking but Joe kept the pace manageable. We saw a great deal in a short time and at the end of the tour Joe even waited with us to ensure we caught the right river boat back to our hotel.

Matthew J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip if you only have a few days in Bangkok and want to see something more than just the main temples. Some walking and local bus transport but no problems if you are reasonably fit. Take water! Good tour guide who knew what he was talkiong about. Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Joe was extremely knowledgeable about the Grand Palace and shared many insights that we hadn't gotten in previous tours. Also, having been a monk at Wat Pho for 5 years, he was intimately familiar with the temple complex and its workings. Fabulous and would highly recommend his tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Didn't realise that we would be the only ones on the tour, so my wife and I had our own personal guide! This was a great way to be shown not just the temples and the river, but a bit of old Bangkok too. Our guide, Bo, was very knowledgeable and friendly. The temples are amazing and Bo also took us on a longtail boat along the river and on some of the smaller canals. We also rode on a tuk-tuk between temples! A fantastic half day tour, our only (very small) suggestion would be to start the tour earlier in the day, to try and avoid the heat of the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent private tour with Bo, She was an excellent tour guide. We were the only 2 only the tour (with our 2 yr old daughter, which was fine although the tour said no children under 6).
Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Jo our guide was first rate. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very informative. The palace is well worth a visit, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Guide was at the meeting point early. she turned out to be knowledgeable and friendly and showed us a most interesting tour. At the end of it she called my transport for me and it was waiting for me outside the last gate of the palace and on time. A very satisfying tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

My friend & I (females) were the only ones on this tour. Joe our guide was very friendly and informative. We felt safe in his company. We totally enjoyed the tour and provided us a great deal of knowledge in a short period of time about Bangkok/Thailand. Joe also took some amazing photos for us. Highly recommended. PS. If you have trouble walking, this tour may not suit you.

Dearne M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We found this was a great tour. We felt there was enough time spent at the Grand Palace and Wat Pho to have a good look around and it was also interesting to see how some live along the river. Being on the water was also a nice break from the heat slightly!. We also had an absolutely fantastic guide Joe who made it a great day. He was so friendly and informative. We were lucky enough to be the only ones on the tour that day and Joe gladly answered all of our questions. We would definitely go on another tour like this.

Barry D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We were the only people on this trip due to the start of the demonstrations. Joe our guide gave us a very entertaining tour which was 'much closer to real people in the country'. Highly reccommended for people who have good basic fitness.

Graham B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Highly recommended! very informative with an exceptional tour guide.

Allae
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very nice tour, you got to see it all in half day, although be aware there is alot of walking involved, but very worth doing.

Roberto S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was a fantastic way to see the highlights of Bangkok. On the day we went, we were our guide's only clients so we were able to see the sights at our pace. The reclining Buddah has got to be one of the best things to see in Bangkok. Only wish we had stayed there longer!

Pamela B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great time,the guide was early at the meeting point, was very informative and made sure we had a good time. It was all that the description said it would be, and more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

In the palaces and area made of gold, the craftsmanship was absolutely wonderful. Loved every minute.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

There were supposed to be three people on my tour, but one was a no-show if the group had been any smaller, the tour would have been private :- Our guide, Bo, did a great job - the only improvement I could suggest would have been some narration during the long boat tour, which, admittedly, would have been difficult without some amplification i.e., due to the motor noise. Bo even covered the taxi back to Khao San Road, which I hadnt been expecting.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour however the rules have changed and you now need to make sure that your legs are covered down to your ankles, I had shorts on that covered my knees completely but that wasn't acceptable for the grand palace. Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable as she showed us around but it was very hot so make sure you take lots of water with you!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

It was very nice! :)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We saw a lot, but didnt hear much. a bit boring

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great way to see Bangkok by boat!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Good introduction to Bangkok. Loved the longtail boat cruise. Joe was a very good guide. Highly recommended!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

It was a very cool tour, and very small (me, my girlfriend, and one more person). The guide was very kind, and knowledgable, but unfortunately I couldn't understand a good portion of what she was saying. Her English knowledge was good, but she had such a hard accent I struggled to understand her.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

This was a fabulous tour, which Jo our tour guide made into a delightful morning in Bangkok! I spoke excellent English, was highly informative, friendly and conversational. I would highly recommend this tour for the Bangkok beginner! To round it off nicely, I would suggest including lunch perhaps.

From USD $ 67.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5086TUU

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message