4.5 star rating: Recommended 66 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 66 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

It's great to have a tour guide escort me around to the different places and the sights seen are quite spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Nice tour and educational

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A great tour and guide, Joe Npppt. Joe certainly knew his City and conveyed all information in a manner that was easily understood. At the end of the tour he organised a taxi to take us back to our hotel as he was concerned about us managing to obtain one. He went out of his way to be helpful. I would recommend this tour to anyone and hopefully they would manage to have Joe as their guide. I would rate this five stars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

We had an extraordinary tour guide who worked very hard to insure we had a great day. This trip did involve a lot of walking, but it was all flat and never a problem. We had a wonderful introduction to the buddhist beliefs and the city of Bangkok, I would highly recommend this trip to you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

The tour was very interesting and I can recommend everyone to visit Grand Palace only with a tour guide. The hotel were we met was not that easy to find and you need a long time to get there, if you do not stay in that district. My hotel was in Silom road. The staff there told me that I should consider 1,5 hours to get there with the taxi. But as my tour was on a Monday morning, the streets were stucked and I took the express boat on Chao Praya river, which was by far the fastest mode of transport in Bangkok. The tour itself was perfect and I enjoyed a private tour with my guide, as the second person didn't show up at the meeting point. We waited half an hour, then we started the tour. Probably the other person was stucked in traffic as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

My daughter and I were the only people on the tour that day. Our guide was charming, knowledgeable, and patient with us as we stopped to take lots of photos. At one point, during the canal cruise, he excitedly pointed out a rather unusual sighting of the Royal Boat. The itinerary was a lot of fun and the sites were simply breathtaking. What a great value for the money! I highly recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Had a great tour with an excellent guide, one couple did not pitch for the tour so there were only 4 of us making it exclusive and well organised. Highly recommended.

niallsmum
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our small group tour was just our party of four. Our guide was polite and well informed, and his english was very good (Although occassionally he mis-used words or stumbled to find the correct one, his meaning was clear) (His english was better then my Thai!) He was very patient with the children. Long tail boat was fun. We stopped to buy souveniers from a floating vendor and even to feed the catfish in the river with bread, which the kids loved. Learned lots about Thai culture, history and life. Reclining Buddha was huge and well worth seeing, the grounds are spectacular. Grand Palace was extensive and elaborately decorated. Your attire is very important on this tour. You take your shoes off lots, and you walk a far bit too. Ladies should dress with covered shoulders to enter temple, they will provide you with a scarf if do not. The Grand Palace has a dress code too. Ladies as for the temple, but also no shorts and your dress or skirt must cover your knees. Men are best in trousers. They will hire (for a 400 Baht refundable deposit) you appropriate clothes if yours are considered inappropriate : eg shorts, rips, above knees, showing your shoulders, low cut, see-through etc. I know it sounds like a hassel, but it is worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

This was an outstanding tour. There were only three in our group so had full benefit of our friendly and articulate guide, Joe capably shared his experiences and exetensive knowledge.The pace was easy to cope with and the content varied. Half a day was adequate At the conclusion Joe made sure we all knew what we wanted to do next and how to get there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Joe our guide was very interesting and a great source of local information. There was a lot of walking but Joe kept the pace manageable. We saw a great deal in a short time and at the end of the tour Joe even waited with us to ensure we caught the right river boat back to our hotel.

Matthew J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Great trip if you only have a few days in Bangkok and want to see something more than just the main temples. Some walking and local bus transport but no problems if you are reasonably fit. Take water! Good tour guide who knew what he was talkiong about. Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Joe was extremely knowledgeable about the Grand Palace and shared many insights that we hadn't gotten in previous tours. Also, having been a monk at Wat Pho for 5 years, he was intimately familiar with the temple complex and its workings. Fabulous and would highly recommend his tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Didn't realise that we would be the only ones on the tour, so my wife and I had our own personal guide! This was a great way to be shown not just the temples and the river, but a bit of old Bangkok too. Our guide, Bo, was very knowledgeable and friendly. The temples are amazing and Bo also took us on a longtail boat along the river and on some of the smaller canals. We also rode on a tuk-tuk between temples! A fantastic half day tour, our only (very small) suggestion would be to start the tour earlier in the day, to try and avoid the heat of the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent private tour with Bo, She was an excellent tour guide. We were the only 2 only the tour (with our 2 yr old daughter, which was fine although the tour said no children under 6).
Excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Jo our guide was first rate. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very informative. The palace is well worth a visit, highly recommended.

Special Offer
$68.77 Save $13.75

From USD $ 55.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5086TUU

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message