4.5 star rating: Recommended 65 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 65 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

This was a fabulous tour, which Jo our tour guide made into a delightful morning in Bangkok! I spoke excellent English, was highly informative, friendly and conversational. I would highly recommend this tour for the Bangkok beginner! To round it off nicely, I would suggest including lunch perhaps.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Tour was very interesting and guide very helpful and informative

Terry T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Facinating trip. A little awkward getting in and out of long boat but still a worthwhile experience. The temple and palace are incredible! Perhaps headsets would have helped to hear commentary a little easier.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was excellent for the Grand Palace Tour, the only issue was that our bus did not turn up for the River tour so we had to make our own way to the Grand Palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Joe was absolutely awesome. It turned out to be a private tour as only two of us were there that day. Joe not only did the tour at our pace, answered all our questions very knowledgeably but also helped us find the right transportation for our next destination. Not to mention the great tips he gave to us about shopping in bangkok! the only sour point is the hotel where you are asked to assemble for the tour - its not easily approachable and the place looked pretty dirty!

Geoff
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Our guides were wonderful and very informative about the Grand Palace and the Canal Cruise was great and we got to feed the cat fish.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

It was indeed a 'small-group tour', Two guides and me! The whole trip was great BUT I would have structured it the other way round. Instead of doing the river bit first it would have been better to do the Grand Palace first (in the relative 'cool' of the morning, and then, in the heat of the day, do the river bit. My guides were superb and gave me a great insight into all we were seeing, Thai history and culture. Take socks with you as the ground is corching hot when you have to take your shoes off to enter certain buildings. The hotel allocated as the meeting point was not very helpful when I arrived rather early for this excursion (due to , and I asked if I could have (buy) a coffee or some breakfast. The answer was 'no' despite their residents being served breakfast at the time.... I then had to walk to a nearby cafe to get a coffee. People should be informed that on being met by your guide/s you then have a fair walk to the pier to get the boat for the river part of the excursion. The other point that should be made is the clothing question - I took heed, as I thought, of the 'respectuful' dress code and wore full length leggings (down to ankle and a top that had neither low neck nor showed bare arms above the elbow. Having got to the Grand Palace I was informed, by my guides, that I was inappropriately dressed and thus had to hire a sarong (as it was my leggins that were causing offence) at a cost of 200BHT which was refunded when returned BUT only on production of the yellow receipt - lose that and you loose your 200 BHT!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Very good tour, although a bit rushed. It was perfect. By noon I was exhausted and ready for a nap! So much information, so little time! I would have like to have more time to walk through the market there, they had interesting items relative to Bangkok. I can't wait to go back!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Our guide 'the famous Joe' was very friendly and informative.. Great overall experience. Would recommend to everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Joe was a great guide. I ended up on the tour by myself but Joe made it a very enjoyable day. The river was a nice way to travel and even got to feed some cat fish.

John B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Excellent excursion. We even managed to squeeze in a short trip in a tuk tuk. The only negative was that there was no hotel collection service for this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

I enjoyed this tour and found it covered all the places that I wanted to visit in one day. The long boat trip on the canals was interesting and a different part of Bangkok to previously seen. The long boats are not easy to climb in and out of so anyone with mobilty challenges would find it difficult. The day we went was very hot so the amount of walking became quite exhausting. More should be written regarding kaccess and distances walked.

Gerard B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The cannal cruise was a good way to see another picturesque part of Bangkok. The Longboat ride was interesting. Persnonally, being an older lady ,I found it a long way down to board the boat and even harder to get out. I had to be helped by strong arms! The Grand Palace is definitely a "must see". It made a very long and exhausting day on foot in the heat for me, but I am very glad I have had the experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Takes in all the main sights in Bangkok with a very informative and knowledgeable guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

good , nice tour guide.

Special Offer
$66.86 Save $13.37

From USD $ 53.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5086TUU

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message