Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 75 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok Rice Barge Afternoon Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 75 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

There was so much colour my head started to hurt. I took 215 photos on this tour. The fruit we had for afternoon tea was amazing, I *love* sticky rice with mango!

ROD C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Frankly, it was hard to understand the guide's English, but it didn't matter at all. There is so much happening on the river that I think I missed at least half the photo opportunities. Great tour; I am telling all my friends who come to Bangkok to do this.

Erica S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a relaxing tour that provided a great glimpse into the canals of Bangkok.

Gerry M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Just a lovely experience, especially the taste sensations on the barge of the fabulous fruits. Even a cocktail was offered, a Thai Dynamite, which was unusual as you couldn't get any alcohol anywhere while the elections were on. Very reliable operator and friendly, informative guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice afternoon cruise and a great way to see the river. The guide was knowledgeable and funny which made it a much better alternative to just riding the water taxi up and down the river. The food and drinks on the barge were well-prepared and tasty.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was good...we pick up ontime.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A relaxing way to see the river and enjoy different fruits. We were very well looked after by our guide and the crew of the barge. thank you

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

the bangkok rice barge afternoon cruise was a very pleasant cruise, first off all we went on a hours sightseeing cruise with our guide pointing out many interesting buildings, we then went one the rice barge, had had complimentary drinks and food, the crew were very pleasant and nice, would recommend this cruise , a good way to spend a couple of hours in bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This also is one of my favourites. Take new people everytime i"m in Bangkok.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Fun little float down the river. The fruit was excellent, guide was knowledgable. I enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Really nice afternoon on the Chao Phraya River. The first part of the trip was on a long, narrow boat and the return was on a rice arge where we dined on a beautiful buffet of exotic fruit. The length of the tour was just perfect and the staff were excellent. I enjoyed feeding fish in front of the temples.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable and informative throughout the trip. The food and drink were very good and we enjoyed seeing the city from the water

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I enjoyed this tour a lot. They had a wonderful spread of fresh fruit on the boat. Nice relaxing tour with lots of information.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

IT'S NOT BAD BUT . FRUIT WAS NICE GOOD PEOPLES .

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

A fantastic way to spend your first day in Bangkok, especially after a long flight. It is not an early morning tour and gives a snapshot of Bangkok from from the river/canals. The fruits provided are alone worth the tour cost. A must do.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Great afternoon on the river and knowledgeable tour guide

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

well looked after, good host in tony, very interesting trip and good comentary

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The over all trip was great. Except we stared out on a noisy boat and could not hear any of the commentary. It would have been better left for the return trip on the Barge!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

They should pick me up at 2 p.m. and finally they got to my hotel a 2.40 p.m. The front desk manager of my hotel was to nice to call the travel agency to ask if they would show up. To my surprise I was the only person who did the tour. The ride on the long tail boat was very nice. Some years ago I did the same trip but there were so many vendors on the river with nice souvenirs and this time nobody was selling fruits or souvenirs. May is really a low season time in Bangkok because it is 36 degress and quite humid. After the tour in the small boat we changed to a big boat where they prepared a very nice fruit platter only for me. I would recommend this trip to anyone. At the end we came very early back to the hotel and I could catch my flight to Europe without any problem.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Good to see how the locals live and rest while watching the temples and the world go past. Fruit was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Two different boat trips gave a good insight into the life in Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Great trip. On time. Good car, good boat and good people. What more can you ask for. Saw Bangkok from a different angle and had fun to boot!

Jane W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

A most enjoyable afternoon. Pickup and drop-off fine. Relaxing trip. Good insight into Thai homelife and sellers along the canals as well as some of the important buildings along the way. Sumptuous afternoon teas. Such polite attendants. Glad I did it.

Barry D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Good experience. Exactly as described.

Stephen N
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This was a bit of a surprise really. I chose the trip as we were due to arrive early in Bangkok, we have been there several times and I wanted a relaxing afternoon that was an alternative to trawling around the MBK Centre shopping. It turned out to be just that and more. We had a lovely couple of hours going up and down the river, first in a long-tail boat and then on a rice barge. The first leg was informative and interesting. The second offered photo opportunities and a nice cold buffet. I would recommend this trip if you want a quiet and relaxing introduction to Bangkok.

From USD $ 28.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK22C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message