4.5 star rating: Recommended 75 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok Rice Barge Afternoon Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 75 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

John A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Good afternoon trip, much enjoyed. Hotel pickup was very punctual.

Joan R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was a very pleasant and informative afternoon. The first half was on a small boat, enabling exploration of the smaller canals and the Rice Barge was in fact, only for the latter half and the afternoon tea - a brilliant tropical fruit platter - a great way to try some of those things you see in the market... One strange touch, was including complimentary shots of whisky brought around on a tray! but if we wanted a beer we had to buy it........

Anna-Marie T
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Enjoyed the relaxing time on the boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Interesting cruise with good commentary and a lovely refreshing snack and drinks on the return journey.

Robert G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

All good and well organised, no problems at all.

Annabel C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Our guide was difficult to hear over the loudspeaker on the rice barge. I enjoyed the tour; there weren't that many people either. I enjoyed going through the canals in Bangkok. When we switched boats, we had a massive fruit platter and drinks.

Mary U
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

This was a good tour to see the contrasts within Bangkok.

KELLY Y
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This is a very good value for money. Excellently organized.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

The cruise was well worth it! More history of what was seen is needed and the English speaking guide was a bit hard to understand. The fruit was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

This was a very relaxing trip. The commentary was good, and the fruit was lovely and well presented.

Patricia C
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

Friendly, knowledgeable guide. Arrived on time to pick us up.

AM P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Good value, good guide, nice fruit.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

We were 30 min late in being picked up. Only picked up after hotel made a phone call on our behalf. Never told that the pu was actually the first half of the tour. When we met the barge, it only operated for a little while before the boat broke down and we had to transfer to another boat. Things happen but this was the same tour provider as the day before and it appears that the company is not well organized. The hospitality on the barge was the only saving grace and the group did a great job with refreshments. The guide was not real proficient with english and it seemed that he was willing to say anything.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

it was pretty nice. The guide on the boat in the canal part of our tour did not enunciate her english very well so it was very hard to understand her. The next boat, the rice barge, had a much better guide, very understandable, and the fruit buffet was great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

due to the time of year and the curfew and travel restrictions imposed by various countries. this turned in to a private cruise with ourselves and one other couple. transport to and from the hotel was excellent and on time. the cruise its self was not exactly what we thought it was going to be, that said it was enjoyable and tasting the various fruits on offer on the barge was a delicious experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

Would have liked to explore the canals further. The guide was interesting and gave us an insight into the current protests. The ad said we would be travelling on a longtail boat - not the case - and there would be very few people on the tour - again not the case.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

we had trouble understanding the guide, We think he spoke english! The drinks and fruit were awesome! Not sure what the drink was though.
Was interesting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2011

Late pick up from hotel with other guests and only 6 people on the boat. Peter.

Andrew F
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2010

Good chance to see how people live on the river in Bangkok and taste the fruits of Thailand. The Rice Barge was well run and well staffed. The longboat however was ok but you couldn't hear the guide who was commentating as his microphone kept feeding back. I dont think anyone heard a word he said!

Linda R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

As I was alone in Bangkok I looked for a trip to fill in some time. Whilst I quite enjoyed the tour, it was a bit of a non-event, although being on the canal I don't know how it could have been improved. Perhaps I just chose the wrong trip. The fruit served on the rice barge was a bit dry, it looked like it had been prepared quite a time earlier.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2007

This tour was canceled for some reason, but we were offered an excellent tour of the King's Palace instead.

David
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This tour would have been fantastic if it was not for an annoying private guide who sat near the front seats of the canal boat talking very loudly to the two people who paid for his service. Our main guide at the front of the boat had a microphone yet you could not hear her over the loud voice of this private guide. I tried a few times using my finger to my lips symbol to him to express the wish that he quieten down but he looked at me and took no notice. What was worse was the the official tour guides did not stop him and I noticed later that they all seemed to know him and that perhaps he was part of the company. My friend and I eventually moved to the back of the boat to get away from him but unfortunately that is where the loud speakers were. We did have a reasonable tour looking along canals that we hadn't seen before but the whole trip was spoilt by this one private guide and I felt that the tour company should have stopped him talking so much and so loudly as he was not part of our tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Thank goodness for pick up at hotel! Guide was just average, pointed out the different buildings but no additional interesting facts except about Princess Diana. Second boat with drinks and food was great. People on the boat tried very hard to be accommodating and served everyone.

Corne P
South Africa

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2010

There was nothing that could be taken from this.

Eryl U
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2010

Not a great tour if you've been to Bangkok before. It's just a tour of the canals for 1 hr then on a rice boat back. Having read other reviews before booking this tour, I thought we would cruise down the river for a couple of hours then come home. We went further on the ferries.

From USD $ 29.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK22C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message