Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 261 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 261 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very knowlegable tour guide- was able to give us insight to history and architecture styles. The temples were stunning. The details on the architecture, the meanings behind the statues, everything was beautiful. Only thing that I did not enjoy was going by the gem warehouse after the tour was done. If I was aware of this early on, I probably would have declined from tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The palace complex is impressive. We didn't get to see any jewels or the inside of the palace. Wat Phra Kaew is beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good with reasonable price

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a good tour but the grand Palace was very busy. I really was not interested in the jem factory.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

very interesting part of thai history

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Grand Palace is packed, but despite all the foot traffic the tour was pretty enjoyable and we had a great guide! She was informative and very friendly giving us advice for places to explore while we were in the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Too short but covered most places by selecting Viator.

Theresa J
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had a private tour so we adapted our tour for us. I do think that not every spot on list was covered. Guide walked by things that I thought he could have discussed. if you didn't ask he would have walked by it. History very interesting.

David B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

found the whole experience very interesting with a informative guide, well worth a visit . Go in the morning because as we were leaving the queues were endless.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We took the afternoon tour and The palace is so nice. The details of the palace is awesome. Rich in culture but have to say its crowded and hot. Lots of tourist.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, but do it as early as you can, as it gets very very busy as the day goes on. We had a great guide, he was very funny but very knowledgable.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

very enthousiastic guide ! she did it very good

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Obviously the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are off the scale and a MUST. The Palace was incredibly busy as you'd expect. Our guide was ok.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth doing, if you can handle the hectic crowds of people :)
One thing to take into consideration is the sneaky gem-shop tour at the end of the “actual” tour. This put our timetable out by an additional hour and a half… Luckily we had cancelled another tour the day before that was supposed to start at around 13:00, otherwise we would have missed it...

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The Grand Palace is aptly named! It is magnificent. The jade Buddha is awesome.
We took the tour on January 14, 2015. The day was gorgeous with a beautiful blue sky which brought everyone out for the day. Our guide, however, was able to lead us to the least crowded spots for better observation. Unfortunately, his English was "not-so-good" and it was difficult for me to understand him. He did seem very knowledgeable about the area.
If this is your first trip to Bangkok, I would definitely recommend a tour before venturing out on your own!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour it self was very nice. Our quite was very well informed and told us many interesting facts about not only the Grand Palace but the ruling family in Thailand.
Our only complaint was the tour ended at a jewelry makers shop that was quite large and we were expected to browse there with a sales person before being taken back to our hotel. Not what we had signed on for and very pushy.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a good tour although it did start out a little badly. Because I was on the morning tour they put the time of this one back 30mins, and my pick up time was 1pm. I was advised to be ready from 12.30pm though. I arrived back from the morning tour at 12.15pm. At 1.07pm I phoned to see what was happening and they told me he was on his way. The company rang the hotel twice the last time at 1.40pm to say he had been given the wrong hotel. They eventually arrived at 2.10pm. I was a bit agitated at this point because I thought they were picking me up to take me to a coach like the morning tour and that this would have already left. At no point was I informed that the bus coming to get me was the tour itself.
The tour guide was very good and made sure everyone was ok, taking us into shaded spots when appropriate. I understand he wanted to do this tour earlier as the traffic was terrible and we were sat in the evening traffic for hours trying to get back.
The tour guide advised he had been given the wrong hotel. I am quite at a loss as to how this happened as I had already been picked up from there three times with the same company.
The tour itself was very good though and I would recommend it to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Everything was good except at the end of the tour. We have to wait over 30 minutes at the shopping place for the consolidated shuttle to return to our hotel!

Stephen L
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyable and informative tour, but remember you will need long trousers to enter the temple complex which can be very hot!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant tour, quite busy though in palace.make sure you take water as it is sooo hot.x

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My tour guide Tiny was very good. She told me enough information about the Grand Palace, without overloading me with details. A great tour for solo travellers as well- collected from your hotel and returned there, so a good opportunity to see Bangkok.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour was very personal since there were only two couples and the tour guide, who was very knowledgeable, personable, and funny. He spoke English and it was very easy to understand and follow along. We would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the strange detour to the strange "gem factory" at the end of the tour where we were dropped off for a half hour "factory tour" which was more like a tour of a regular jewelry store/gift shop. We probably would have done the tour anyway if we knew about this, but it wasn't anything we expected/wanted to do.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

You must visit here but very busy

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour, knowledgable guide. Great experience to enjoy the palace. I would probably do it on my own if had to do it again but if tours are your thing this one wont disapoint.

Caroline B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Definitely a must see in Bangkok. I was picked up promptly at the time advised but then had a bit of a wait until the other people on the trip got to the pick up point - as has been previously mentioned Bangkok traffic is horrendous. The Palace and all that is in the complex are amazing, however the trip was quite a bit shorter than I was expecting it to be. The tour guide was very friendly and made our visit very interesting.

From USD $ 37.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK11C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message