Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 248 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 248 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

David B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

found the whole experience very interesting with a informative guide, well worth a visit . Go in the morning because as we were leaving the queues were endless.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We took the afternoon tour and The palace is so nice. The details of the palace is awesome. Rich in culture but have to say its crowded and hot. Lots of tourist.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, but do it as early as you can, as it gets very very busy as the day goes on. We had a great guide, he was very funny but very knowledgable.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

very enthousiastic guide ! she did it very good

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Obviously the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are off the scale and a MUST. The Palace was incredibly busy as you'd expect. Our guide was ok.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth doing, if you can handle the hectic crowds of people :)
One thing to take into consideration is the sneaky gem-shop tour at the end of the “actual” tour. This put our timetable out by an additional hour and a half… Luckily we had cancelled another tour the day before that was supposed to start at around 13:00, otherwise we would have missed it...

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The Grand Palace is aptly named! It is magnificent. The jade Buddha is awesome.
We took the tour on January 14, 2015. The day was gorgeous with a beautiful blue sky which brought everyone out for the day. Our guide, however, was able to lead us to the least crowded spots for better observation. Unfortunately, his English was "not-so-good" and it was difficult for me to understand him. He did seem very knowledgeable about the area.
If this is your first trip to Bangkok, I would definitely recommend a tour before venturing out on your own!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour it self was very nice. Our quite was very well informed and told us many interesting facts about not only the Grand Palace but the ruling family in Thailand.
Our only complaint was the tour ended at a jewelry makers shop that was quite large and we were expected to browse there with a sales person before being taken back to our hotel. Not what we had signed on for and very pushy.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a good tour although it did start out a little badly. Because I was on the morning tour they put the time of this one back 30mins, and my pick up time was 1pm. I was advised to be ready from 12.30pm though. I arrived back from the morning tour at 12.15pm. At 1.07pm I phoned to see what was happening and they told me he was on his way. The company rang the hotel twice the last time at 1.40pm to say he had been given the wrong hotel. They eventually arrived at 2.10pm. I was a bit agitated at this point because I thought they were picking me up to take me to a coach like the morning tour and that this would have already left. At no point was I informed that the bus coming to get me was the tour itself.
The tour guide was very good and made sure everyone was ok, taking us into shaded spots when appropriate. I understand he wanted to do this tour earlier as the traffic was terrible and we were sat in the evening traffic for hours trying to get back.
The tour guide advised he had been given the wrong hotel. I am quite at a loss as to how this happened as I had already been picked up from there three times with the same company.
The tour itself was very good though and I would recommend it to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Everything was good except at the end of the tour. We have to wait over 30 minutes at the shopping place for the consolidated shuttle to return to our hotel!

Stephen L
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Enjoyable and informative tour, but remember you will need long trousers to enter the temple complex which can be very hot!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant tour, quite busy though in palace.make sure you take water as it is sooo hot.x

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My tour guide Tiny was very good. She told me enough information about the Grand Palace, without overloading me with details. A great tour for solo travellers as well- collected from your hotel and returned there, so a good opportunity to see Bangkok.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Our tour was very personal since there were only two couples and the tour guide, who was very knowledgeable, personable, and funny. He spoke English and it was very easy to understand and follow along. We would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the strange detour to the strange "gem factory" at the end of the tour where we were dropped off for a half hour "factory tour" which was more like a tour of a regular jewelry store/gift shop. We probably would have done the tour anyway if we knew about this, but it wasn't anything we expected/wanted to do.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

You must visit here but very busy

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour, knowledgable guide. Great experience to enjoy the palace. I would probably do it on my own if had to do it again but if tours are your thing this one wont disapoint.

Caroline B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Definitely a must see in Bangkok. I was picked up promptly at the time advised but then had a bit of a wait until the other people on the trip got to the pick up point - as has been previously mentioned Bangkok traffic is horrendous. The Palace and all that is in the complex are amazing, however the trip was quite a bit shorter than I was expecting it to be. The tour guide was very friendly and made our visit very interesting.

Duigy
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Pick up from our hotel was prompt an efficient with only two other pick ups on the way to the Grand Palace.
Our tour guide Krit was very informative and funny with some unusual facts about the Palace and Bangkok in general.
We arrived at the Palace 10 minutes before opening and we're virtually first in! Partly due to the cloudy skies and slightly off season.
Krit explained everything nicely for first timers, but you need to ask questions to get beyond the usual tourist level of detail.
We spent about one hour and twenty minutes on the tour before starting our journey back.
Now, this is the bit I didn't like.
We were taken back to our hotels via a gem factory / showroom, and it was explained very clearly there was "no obligation" to buy and if we preferred to be taken back from there to our hotel immediately that was fine.
We endured the tour of the gem outlet, which was interesting (with some polite salesmanship) and declined to purchase anything.
Then we were taken back to our respective hotels in comfort.
My advice is the tour is great for first timers and although the gem factory visit is not listed (or too intrusive) be prepared.
All in all a good, safe and informative morning.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

a visit to the grand palace tour and wat phra kaew tour is a must while in bangkok, the palace is amazing and our guide told us many interesting facts , also a great chance to take photos off this amazing place

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide picked us up at the hotel about half an hour late. The grand Palace is worth seeing. I give it a B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It is a place to be and see in Bangkok. Pity, we saw it on a Saturday when some of the interior places were closed (it should be noted in the description of the tour). The guide could have been more knowledgeable and explain more about the history and culture of the country. A surprise visit to a Gem Factory (that nobody from the group wanted and was not mentioned when we booked the tour) could have been avoided and the time added to visit the Palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good tourguide, lots of information. But it was not stated in the itinerary that we have to go to a jewelry shop afterwards. This is a very poor habit of the tour operator.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

In Bangkok for 1 day breaking up the journey between the UK and Australia so just had time to fit in one tour before travelling on. Chose Viator again for the security of hotel pick-up and return. I had hoped to meet other people but on that day I was the only one on the tour which I found a little uncomfortable but the guide was very well mannered and ensured I saw all that I should at the Grand Palace. This does need to be seen on your visit and it does get extremely crowded so get there when it opens. The Gem factory visit at the end is a bit tiresome and difficult to avoid making a purchase but is very well run and the free drink on arrival was much appreciated.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had worried about what to wear for this visit. We removed our shoes before entering the temple, and shoulders had to be covered as well as no shorts. No photos are allowed inside Wat Phra Kaew, but a photo of the Jade/Emerald Buddha can be taken from outside. After our visit to this complex, we were taken to a diamond/jewelry factory and store. Most of the items were expensive, but we saw people at work making the jewelry, which was interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Excellent! A must tour for any trip to Bangkok

From USD $ 36.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK11C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message