Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 167 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

svlprice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out with a fantastic lunch and an informative guide. The floating market is a tourist trap but is great fun and it is just a short walk to where more authentic houses stretch along the canal banks. Plenty of time at the Bridge over the River Kwai, to walk over and back.

George F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour but the information did not explain the additional charges that we incurred to boat travel and visit to Tigers. We were not prepared for these additional charges.
River Kwai visit excellent and very good explanation given.

J G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, Yelly was a wonderful guide, highly recommend

Mr Mark R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Floating market was brilliant and trip to Kwai Bridge and then the museum and war grave was very humbling. Would recommend

rkonowitz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful experience. Great fun shopping from a small boat and stopping at various vendors along the river.

Sharney J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Several experiences in one, and great for the price. We had a good amount of time to explore each area of the tour. Our guide was helpful and knowledgeable but allowed us to explore each area on our own so we still had our own experience without being lead around in a line. I have been raving about this since I got back, by far the best thing I did in Thailand.

The floating market was excellent and great fun, and we saw the museum and cemetery for the death railway on the way to the Bridge on River Kwai. We also stopped for a nice lunch.

Scottie Norge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We had a great trip worth the money, had a very good lunch.
Good guide.
I would recommend this trip.

Bruce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I'd recommend anyone with the time to take this tour. The floating markets were great and the chance to see them from both boat and foot gave a great overall perspective. Many photo opportunities as well as abundant shopping if so inclined. The Bridge makes for more sombre viewing with visits to the JEATH museum and war cemetery. It had been 14 years since I'd been here but well worth another visit. Our guide, Tat, couldn't be faulted and the four English ladies I shared the tour with were a delight.

Tony C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

x

Gethryn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

An excellent tour. I really liked the mix of activities for the day starting with the floating markets, and making our way to the River Kwai. Our guide Yai was fantastic -- full of anecdotes and information as we went. Our driver Mr Kung was always close by with the air con nicely going. Lunch was very nice with a mix of Thai and western options. With only a few days in Bangkok, this tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Arrangements for pickup, confirmation, etc., were all handled exactly as stated in the tour description.

ali-prior

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Picked up promptly from our hotel and comfortable air condition transport. Our first stop over was at a coconut factory of sorts and we were shown how they make a sweet similar to tablet. Lots of items made from the shells and the coconut itself. We then made our way to the floating markets where we went on to a motorised long boat which took us to where it was. You then had the choice to move on to a slower boat to go in amongst the market boats or you could walk along the side. All our small group opted for the boat and we had a lot of fun moving in amongst the boats and the market traders pulling us in by a hook to try and get us to buy with the usual bartering taking place. There was still time when we got off the boat to wander along the side and we tried some of the fried bananas which were delicious. We then left the market and stopped at a wood carving factory which was really interesting to see the craftsmen at work and then we saw lots of examples of their skilled work. This was followed by a lovely traditional Thai lunch and then we headed for the River Kwai. This also included a visit to the museum and to the Graves of those who lost their life's whilst in captivity. Found the grave of someone who died on my birthday and it was quite sobering to think that I was born only 17 years after his death. Growing up you always thought the war had been much further back in history. The bridge itself was impressive although with so many tourists it does take it away a bit from the real hardships faced in the war but well worth the visit. All in all a very good day and it represented very good value.

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We found it an amazing experience, the maket was very busy and congested, but that was the whole fun of it, I thought we would all end up in the water, nevertheless I would reccomend it to anybody visiting Bangkok we did the floating market and the River Kawi it was a very long day, but totally worth it all. Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgable, and great fun, All in all it was a fantastic day.

Fiona F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very full and long day but well worth it. Accessing the floating markets by longtail speedboat and then floating through the markets so different. A most humbling experience visiting the cemetery, the Jeath museum and seeing from speedboat the Bridge on the River Kwai.

Emma O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fabulous tour with a very knowledgable guide. Well paced with a good amount of time at each stop. Just a small mini bus with group of 7. Great day

Shafique

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The floating market is one of a kind with all sorts of stuff available on motor driven boats. One can leisurely enjoy a delightful snack, lunch or dinner freshly ordered from the food boats. They cook and provide the food within minutes either on other passenger boats or on the deck next to the boats. Fresh fruits are also available.
The legendary Bridge on the River Kwai is worth visiting as it brings back memories of the famous movie "Bridge on the River Kwai".
With an excellent tour guide; in our case it was sort of a private tour as we were the only two people on that tour. The tour guide also provided some additional site seeing, the elephant ride as well as the world famous snake museum with breath taking shows

Natalie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Fantastic experience, the day was well worth it. The bridge and the long tailed boat were the best parts of the trip and you get a lot of time at the Floating Markets.

Jeanette W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Very worthwhile tour. The floating markets are a bit of a hoot, with soooo many boats all trying to move up and around, but fun. The stalls are excellent to barter with and got some very good deals. Also enjoyed the deep fried banana's cooked on a little boat. You definately should try them. The Kwai was very emotional seeing the site the soldiers had to work in. I looked at the mountains and wonder how they must have looked at them to, wishing they could escape away and over them. The area then would have been dense jungle and the heat was amazing, my heart went out to the soldiers. They have made the area a lovely site now, and there was a Thai playing the violin on the bridge as you walked it and that bought tears to my eyes of the many who never made it back. The only thing I felt should be shortened was stopping at working farms as there were too many and more time would have been enjoyed at the floating market and Kwai bridge, but overall an excellent tour.

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour! The floating markets were a sight to behold. The Bridge portion of the tour included side trips to a museum and a cemetery that made it even more special. Lunch was great, and well timed! I would recommend.

Ian A United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent trip. The floating markets has to be seen , it's like nothing you'll ever experience anywhere else. River Kwai is one of those places you've heard so much about and to actually walk on the bridge was just amazing.

Shobha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Unforgettable! the lovely boat trip and the bargaining worth every penny! Don't miss it!

Timothy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

No complaints about this trip. We had an excellent time. The floating market is very touristy, but still quite the experience, and one of our favorite experiences of our trip to Thailand. A boat through the actual market is not included in the tour price. We also covered the Bridge on the River Kwai. The museum this tour takes you to is kind of a dump, but the paintings by one of the former POWs are interesting. The cemetery, in contrast, is impressively maintained. The bridge is nice but we only spent a few minutes there (and it was enough). One of the highlights of our trip was actually a stop at a place where they demonstrated how to make palm sugar. They also had an extra stop at a woodworking shop and gift store. I would say the lunch was average, but I love green curry and there was no shortage of that. The guide and the driver were both excellent. One of the biggest pros of this trip was that we were two of only four tourists in the van.

Holly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Prompt pick up time, with a friendly host and other travellers. The day had a few extras such as a visit to a coconut factory and a wood carving workshop with some of the most brilliant works. The floating market is a lively experience and the River Kwai and war cemetery an eye opener. A great day

Raymond M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great tour, both Floating Markets and River Kwai had plenty to see. Guide was great also

Goosegog

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

What a long day! 12 hours in total but well worth it.My husband Geoff and I were the only people on the bus so received the full benefit of our lovely tour guide Gail + Todd the driver. No faults could be found from this great day. The floating markets were wonderful and as I have a bad leg Gail was very attentive in making sure I could manage getting in and out of the long boat - although I had no problems with the bargaining for clothes when there much to Geoffs dismay! Lunch was delicious with many yummy choices and lovely hosts in a beautiful setting. River Kwai we are pleased to have seen and walked over the bridge but slightly disappointed that it has become so commercialized now with restaurants and market stalls all around.All in all it was a wonderful day which will stay with us forever. Even the 3 hour drive back didn't matter as were both able to stretch out in a comfortable minibus and sleep for most of it. Gail also taught us some thai language so if she gets to read this will understand that I now have to go for a 'ching chong' before getting dinner ready for 'Ting tong chai' before he gets home and also make myself 'Swayee'!! Thanks again. Terri and Geoff Rice xx

Cory A New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Excellent tour with a knowledgable guide.Only a small group of us (3) again. Pickup from/to the hotel was efficient and on time. First we visited some local markets and then it was off to see a coconut factory and a wood carving factory.Both were excellent and an added bonus- the craftmanship on the products was second to none. The floating markets were next- worthy of a tour in itself. Nice to se the hussle and bussle of market life on the river. After this we stopped for lunch which was included with the tour. The food was excellent with a good variety on offer.
Next it was onto the Bridge on the River Kwai. We stopped at the JEATH museum , a humbling exhibition of what the prisioners life was like and then visited the cemetary where thousands of soldiers are buried. The Bridge was after that- and interesting spot but unfortunately very "touristy" . Remember to take your camera- youre going to need it for this one !
The drive back to Bangkok took around 2hrs.

Viewing 2 of 7

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 67.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message