4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

The floating market is one of a kind with all sorts of stuff available on motor driven boats. One can leisurely enjoy a delightful snack, lunch or dinner freshly ordered from the food boats. They cook and provide the food within minutes either on other passenger boats or on the deck next to the boats. Fresh fruits are also available.
The legendary Bridge on the River Kwai is worth visiting as it brings back memories of the famous movie "Bridge on the River Kwai".
With an excellent tour guide; in our case it was sort of a private tour as we were the only two people on that tour. The tour guide also provided some additional site seeing, the elephant ride as well as the world famous snake museum with breath taking shows

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Fantastic experience, the day was well worth it. The bridge and the long tailed boat were the best parts of the trip and you get a lot of time at the Floating Markets.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Very worthwhile tour. The floating markets are a bit of a hoot, with soooo many boats all trying to move up and around, but fun. The stalls are excellent to barter with and got some very good deals. Also enjoyed the deep fried banana's cooked on a little boat. You definately should try them. The Kwai was very emotional seeing the site the soldiers had to work in. I looked at the mountains and wonder how they must have looked at them to, wishing they could escape away and over them. The area then would have been dense jungle and the heat was amazing, my heart went out to the soldiers. They have made the area a lovely site now, and there was a Thai playing the violin on the bridge as you walked it and that bought tears to my eyes of the many who never made it back. The only thing I felt should be shortened was stopping at working farms as there were too many and more time would have been enjoyed at the floating market and Kwai bridge, but overall an excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour! The floating markets were a sight to behold. The Bridge portion of the tour included side trips to a museum and a cemetery that made it even more special. Lunch was great, and well timed! I would recommend.

Ian A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent trip. The floating markets has to be seen , it's like nothing you'll ever experience anywhere else. River Kwai is one of those places you've heard so much about and to actually walk on the bridge was just amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Unforgettable! the lovely boat trip and the bargaining worth every penny! Don't miss it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

No complaints about this trip. We had an excellent time. The floating market is very touristy, but still quite the experience, and one of our favorite experiences of our trip to Thailand. A boat through the actual market is not included in the tour price. We also covered the Bridge on the River Kwai. The museum this tour takes you to is kind of a dump, but the paintings by one of the former POWs are interesting. The cemetery, in contrast, is impressively maintained. The bridge is nice but we only spent a few minutes there (and it was enough). One of the highlights of our trip was actually a stop at a place where they demonstrated how to make palm sugar. They also had an extra stop at a woodworking shop and gift store. I would say the lunch was average, but I love green curry and there was no shortage of that. The guide and the driver were both excellent. One of the biggest pros of this trip was that we were two of only four tourists in the van.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Prompt pick up time, with a friendly host and other travellers. The day had a few extras such as a visit to a coconut factory and a wood carving workshop with some of the most brilliant works. The floating market is a lively experience and the River Kwai and war cemetery an eye opener. A great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great tour, both Floating Markets and River Kwai had plenty to see. Guide was great also

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

What a long day! 12 hours in total but well worth it.My husband Geoff and I were the only people on the bus so received the full benefit of our lovely tour guide Gail + Todd the driver. No faults could be found from this great day. The floating markets were wonderful and as I have a bad leg Gail was very attentive in making sure I could manage getting in and out of the long boat - although I had no problems with the bargaining for clothes when there much to Geoffs dismay! Lunch was delicious with many yummy choices and lovely hosts in a beautiful setting. River Kwai we are pleased to have seen and walked over the bridge but slightly disappointed that it has become so commercialized now with restaurants and market stalls all around.All in all it was a wonderful day which will stay with us forever. Even the 3 hour drive back didn't matter as were both able to stretch out in a comfortable minibus and sleep for most of it. Gail also taught us some thai language so if she gets to read this will understand that I now have to go for a 'ching chong' before getting dinner ready for 'Ting tong chai' before he gets home and also make myself 'Swayee'!! Thanks again. Terri and Geoff Rice xx

Cory A
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Excellent tour with a knowledgable guide.Only a small group of us (3) again. Pickup from/to the hotel was efficient and on time. First we visited some local markets and then it was off to see a coconut factory and a wood carving factory.Both were excellent and an added bonus- the craftmanship on the products was second to none. The floating markets were next- worthy of a tour in itself. Nice to se the hussle and bussle of market life on the river. After this we stopped for lunch which was included with the tour. The food was excellent with a good variety on offer.
Next it was onto the Bridge on the River Kwai. We stopped at the JEATH museum , a humbling exhibition of what the prisioners life was like and then visited the cemetary where thousands of soldiers are buried. The Bridge was after that- and interesting spot but unfortunately very "touristy" . Remember to take your camera- youre going to need it for this one !
The drive back to Bangkok took around 2hrs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We are so glad we booked with you we had a fantastic time. Pau the guide was very knowledgable and gave us time to ourselves as well as guiding us through the day. The Floating Markets and the Bridge over the River Kwai, and also the trip to the Grand Palace are not to be missed.
Regards Marilyn and Michael.

ooneeojoo
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A very full day but interesting and well wortth doing. Lunch was at a typical tourist bus stop. It was OK. The guide was very good and we enjoyed the floating markets and the bridge over River Kwai. The visit to the cemetery was a little too long and we wouold have preferred more time at the bridge. Definitely worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

brillient day. Cruise back was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide was just OK. Very disappointed that on our way back to our hotel the tour guide was dropped off before the 7 clients on board. 2 more clients were dropped off at another hotel and on the way to ours, the van we were in broke down. The van driver finally acquired & paid for 2 taxis for the 5 of us after about 12 hour of him trying to start the van in very hot weatherno air. The van driver did stop by our hotel to ensure that we got there safely unlike the tour guide who had no knowledge that we even broke down. Keep in mind, the van had been making bad noises and running rather slow the entire trip a full day tour. I highly recommend that Viator ensure they have reliable vehicles for transporting their clients. That being said... this is a must do tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This tour was the best one I did while I was in Bangkok. I had sufficient time at everything we went to, our tour guide was really great and informative and the floating market I believe was worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Amazing tour. The floating market is an unique experience, as is visiting the famous bridge on River Kwai. The tour was punctual and the tour guide was very knowledgeable about the subject.

Michael P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This experience was well worth the effort of attending, especially going in the boat in the floating market itself. An excellent day trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very long day-crazy traffic in Bangkok! Floating market really worthwhile - great experience. Thought our tour guide was good but gave a lot of his own interest stuff when he could have been commenting on what we were passing etc. Enough time to take the train ride would be good.

Pamela S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A great trip! I would do it again. A good courier, a fantastic fast boat trip, and lovely food. You also get little extras not listed in the blurb.

Ray O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

An excellent day out. The floating markets about an hour from Bangkok are quite something to behold. Food, clothes, and assorted souvenirs are sold from boats on the canal system and at shops and stalls beside the water. Bartering is the name of the game, but beware, there is some very hard selling going on and you have to learn to say no politely but firmly. The other main element of the day is the Bridge on the River Kwai. We stopped off first at a museum a few miles downstream from the bridge. This has been created to resemble one of the huts from the infamous prisoner of war camp. It has some fascinating photos and newspaper articles showing the horrendous ordeals the British, American, Dutch and Australian captured soldiers were put through as they were forced to build a railway line between Thailand and Burma. We then took a longtail boat to the Bridge itself. We walked across the iron bridge, which replaced the original wooden one destroyed by Allied bombing - and got some great views of the river and surrounding countryside. Then we went to the Allies' war cemetery nearby. A beautifully kept tribute to the fallen which is in the middle of a busy town. It was a very good day. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We also enjoyed a splendid Thai lunch on the banks of the river.

James M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

An excellent day out. The beauty of the markets and the reflectiveness of the River Kwai tour combine together perfectly into an easy to handle experience. I recommend this trip to any visitor to Bangkok.

David R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The guide was absolutely brilliant, informing us of the trip and also Thailand's history. This trip was outstanding from the time we were picked up to the time we got dropped off at our hotel. The Floating Markets were quite an experience to see a different culture at work. Before arriving at the River Kwai, we visited the memorial and museum which was emotional. On arriving at the River Kwai we had lunch at a riverside restaurant. The food was Thai, and it was excellent. To our surprise, we then travelled up to the bridge by power boat before leaving for our hotel. Well worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Well-organised, fun trip. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very eventful and a lot of fun not to mention very educational with the historical facts of the bridge. Our guide was super nice, sweet, helpful and excellent in taking care of us. I would recommend this tour to all the tourists out there. One thing to improve on is the vegetarian choices for the lunch of this tour.

From USD $ 57.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message