4 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Amazing tour. The floating market is an unique experience, as is visiting the famous bridge on River Kwai. The tour was punctual and the tour guide was very knowledgeable about the subject.

Michael P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This experience was well worth the effort of attending, especially going in the boat in the floating market itself. An excellent day trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very long day-crazy traffic in Bangkok! Floating market really worthwhile - great experience. Thought our tour guide was good but gave a lot of his own interest stuff when he could have been commenting on what we were passing etc. Enough time to take the train ride would be good.

Pamela S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A great trip! I would do it again. A good courier, a fantastic fast boat trip, and lovely food. You also get little extras not listed in the blurb.

Ray O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

An excellent day out. The floating markets about an hour from Bangkok are quite something to behold. Food, clothes, and assorted souvenirs are sold from boats on the canal system and at shops and stalls beside the water. Bartering is the name of the game, but beware, there is some very hard selling going on and you have to learn to say no politely but firmly. The other main element of the day is the Bridge on the River Kwai. We stopped off first at a museum a few miles downstream from the bridge. This has been created to resemble one of the huts from the infamous prisoner of war camp. It has some fascinating photos and newspaper articles showing the horrendous ordeals the British, American, Dutch and Australian captured soldiers were put through as they were forced to build a railway line between Thailand and Burma. We then took a longtail boat to the Bridge itself. We walked across the iron bridge, which replaced the original wooden one destroyed by Allied bombing - and got some great views of the river and surrounding countryside. Then we went to the Allies' war cemetery nearby. A beautifully kept tribute to the fallen which is in the middle of a busy town. It was a very good day. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. We also enjoyed a splendid Thai lunch on the banks of the river.

James M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

An excellent day out. The beauty of the markets and the reflectiveness of the River Kwai tour combine together perfectly into an easy to handle experience. I recommend this trip to any visitor to Bangkok.

David R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The guide was absolutely brilliant, informing us of the trip and also Thailand's history. This trip was outstanding from the time we were picked up to the time we got dropped off at our hotel. The Floating Markets were quite an experience to see a different culture at work. Before arriving at the River Kwai, we visited the memorial and museum which was emotional. On arriving at the River Kwai we had lunch at a riverside restaurant. The food was Thai, and it was excellent. To our surprise, we then travelled up to the bridge by power boat before leaving for our hotel. Well worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Well-organised, fun trip. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very eventful and a lot of fun not to mention very educational with the historical facts of the bridge. Our guide was super nice, sweet, helpful and excellent in taking care of us. I would recommend this tour to all the tourists out there. One thing to improve on is the vegetarian choices for the lunch of this tour.

Mary S
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was one of the best trips of our holiday to Thailand. The guide was very informative, and the journey was broken up with visits to two other interesting places, where we had the opportunity to see furniture being hand carved out of wood and also a coconut oil making demonstration. We had a lovely lunch on the river with fabulous views. We would highly recommend this tour.

Irene E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Excellent trip. The market was the highlight of my Bangkok trip. I would recommend taking the extra boat that is paddled through the market. Lunch was excellent too. The whole trip was a good balance of activities and time in the coach out of the heat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

Fantastic!

Patricia S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

A fabulous trip. Long day but definitely well worth while. We saw so much. Only hiccup was trying to get back to our hotel in a minibus with traffic in Bangkok at a standstill. Excellent tour, excellent tour guide, highly recommended.

NICHOLAS T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Viator has a wide variety of tours in all the countries I wanted to visit. Booking was quick and easy and I didn't have any problems.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I recommennd to see

From USD $ 60.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message