Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 141 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 141 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

David R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The guide was absolutely brilliant, informing us of the trip and also Thailand's history. This trip was outstanding from the time we were picked up to the time we got dropped off at our hotel. The Floating Markets were quite an experience to see a different culture at work. Before arriving at the River Kwai, we visited the memorial and museum which was emotional. On arriving at the River Kwai we had lunch at a riverside restaurant. The food was Thai, and it was excellent. To our surprise, we then travelled up to the bridge by power boat before leaving for our hotel. Well worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Well-organised, fun trip. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it for all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very eventful and a lot of fun not to mention very educational with the historical facts of the bridge. Our guide was super nice, sweet, helpful and excellent in taking care of us. I would recommend this tour to all the tourists out there. One thing to improve on is the vegetarian choices for the lunch of this tour.

Mary S
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was one of the best trips of our holiday to Thailand. The guide was very informative, and the journey was broken up with visits to two other interesting places, where we had the opportunity to see furniture being hand carved out of wood and also a coconut oil making demonstration. We had a lovely lunch on the river with fabulous views. We would highly recommend this tour.

Irene E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Excellent trip. The market was the highlight of my Bangkok trip. I would recommend taking the extra boat that is paddled through the market. Lunch was excellent too. The whole trip was a good balance of activities and time in the coach out of the heat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

Fantastic!

Patricia S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

A fabulous trip. Long day but definitely well worth while. We saw so much. Only hiccup was trying to get back to our hotel in a minibus with traffic in Bangkok at a standstill. Excellent tour, excellent tour guide, highly recommended.

NICHOLAS T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Viator has a wide variety of tours in all the countries I wanted to visit. Booking was quick and easy and I didn't have any problems.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Friendly guide with good English, driver made us feel much safer than taxis did, small group in a minivan. The markets are obviously aimed at tourists, but still interesting to see. Combining that with the River Kwai tour made a good day trip :.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

My wife and I were very happy with the tour. The guide and driver were excellent. They went out of our way to accommodate meeting us in the morning. We were the only 2 people on the tour which was surprising. Anyway, we would certainly recommend the tour. Thanks.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Had a great day out.our guide was very good giving us lots of information about thailand and the thsi people. Loved h floating market.amazing way of life.we did feel the speed boats in the market were unnecessary. Prrhaps a different transfer point to paddle boats would be an option . Otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed the entire trip.

Derick
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time on this tour and it was very informative.

Gary J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Always one of my favorite tours, but is a long day driving. Enjoyed the restaurant on the river, but would pay more for better buffet selection and drinks.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour guy was very punctual , very informative and helpful. Enjoyed the tour very much. Would recommend .

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I recommennd to see

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was very good, the giud was excellent and so was the driver, the food for lunch was very
tasty and plentifull, i expected a bit more from the floating markets, i thought it was local produce but it turned out to be brik and brak , we enjoyed the day in whole and would recomend doing

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was excellent!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great experience and good to see a different side to Bangkok. River Kwai was a bit emotional if I'm honest when you get an idea of what the prisoners went through, but important never to forget. Only thing is It's a long transfer time and we got stuck in a bit of traffic in Bangkok but well worth the trip. Big thanks to Tiny our tour guide for a great day.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the full day tour experiencing the unique atmosphere of the floating market and then visiting the bridge. It was a very moving visit to the Jeath museum and the POW cemetery and whilst there are no remains of the original bridge you could understand the conditions they had to work in. Previous reviews I read mentioned the buffet lunch and we also agreed that it was excellent. It was in a quite area in the jungle with all the food cooked by the lady owner, it was like being served by your mother, we were not expecting such personal service. Last but not least the whole trip was enhanced by the knowledge and friendliness of the tour guide. Overall excellent trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great and accommodating guide. A little disappointed in the floating markets. The bridge was a long drive but I was moved by the museum and bridge.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The actual tour was good but the tour guide did not stop talking, repeating the same thing loudly over and over again- this was a long, hot journey with a very early start, in an uncomfortable minibus and we were all trying to get a few minutes rest which proved impossible- after hours and hours of it I nearly threw her off the minibus !!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Overall enjoyed tour however tour guide although friendly did not offer extra information to make the tour extra special. There was 3 of us in total so It would have been possible for the tour guide to take the tour to the next level.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very knowledgeable guide, interesting to listen to. its was just too long, especially for a person who is not fond of markets

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Loved the Bridge on the River Kwai. Floating market was so-so, but fun. A lot of idle time that could have either been used to sightsee or return early. Tip, when back in city, take the sky-train to your hotel, do not let them drop you off. You will be stuck in traffic for 1-2 hours.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a very good tour, our tour guide and driver were great, a 30 minute tour in a small paddle boat (only 150 baht per person) is a must to tour the market, pressure to purchase items is not excessive. River Kwai bridge and cemetery was an interesting site especially for someone with interest in the Pacific campaign of WWII

From USD $ 55.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message