4.5 star rating: Recommended 133 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 133 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Bee W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We were informed that pick up will be at 06:10 to avoid traffic. But we were picked up more than an hour later. By the time the other 2 couples were picked up, we hit the Bangkok traffic. We arrived at the Floating market around 10:30 and was given only an hour to savour the place. Had we been picked up on time, we might have more time here.
We have enjoyed our time at the Floating market albeit brief, and we have also enjoyed the visit to JEATH museum and Bridge on the River Kwai.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

floating market was great! Would def. do it again! Couple of interesting stops along they way. It help to break up the length of the trip! Lots of things to buy and eat at the market. Very interesting to see the floating kitchens! Bridge was just a bridge.

Shiam K
Papua New Guinea

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Floating Market and Bridge on River Kwai. We were very well looked after by the Tour Guide and since the group was small, we all got to know each other well.

Michael J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The whole day was interesting with a very good guide. The floating market, wood carving, river Kwai memorial and bridge.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Interesting tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Our guide was excellent and timely. The floating markets were a wonderful experience of colour and the Bridge over the River Kwai well worth a look. There was a lot to do in one day and if we had a longer stay in BKK, we would have done them separately. The lunch was awesome too :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

A very full and interesting day and the guide was very knowledgeable. As it was low season, I was the only person on the tour, but they still ran it. The floating market is interesting, but a bit more expensive than bigger markets.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

FLOATING MARKETS CERTAINLY AN EXPERIENCE. TOO MUCH IN YOUR FACE PRESSURE SELLING THOUGH. KWAI EXPERIENCE VERY GOOD. DIFFICULY TO ENVISAGE HOW IT WAS THOUGH WITH MANY HOTELS AND A NEW BRIDGE NOW IN PLACE. NEVERTHELESS A GOOD NOSTALGIC VISIT. LONG DAY BUT WORTH IT. CHOSE THIS TRIP AS OPOSE TO THE ONE WITH THE TRAIN JOURNEY AS THE FLOATING MARKETS ARE A BETTER BET.

Say Po Y
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

It was a great tour to see some history and culture, as well as taste the food of Thailand. There was much to do and see.

Alan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Quite an eye opener, the floating markets have to be seen to be believed, with all the people living along the river bank in very basic huts. Bridge on the river Kwai part of the trip really put into prospective the hardships that were endured by the prisoners who were forced to build it, the museum had lots of accounts of happenings, but in our view needs preserving, seems the humid conditions are damaging the exhibits. The Cemetery was kept in pristine condition, as it should be. All in all a worthwhile experience but a VERY long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent tour, but the floating market is more for selling tacky tourist souvenirs than a traditional market. Still, it was a fascinating day and a great tour.

Shaun C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

recommended as good expeirience on the boats and the hustle and bustle, only downside is that it has been turned into a commercial market and you miss the real old style of how they used to use the canals as proper trade markets but still definately worth going

Sylvia B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Extremely interesting but a long drive back to Bangkok. Exhilarating boat ride to reach the markets. Seeing the graves at the bridge on the River Kwai very moving.

William W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The floating markets were someting that you have to see if visiting Bangkok. i think you are better just walking up the side of the markets, & not taking a boat, as the river was very conjested. The visit to the River Kwai Bridge was really good. We had the same tour guide as we had when we went to Bangkok's Grand Palace, & again I felt he should have waited till the group were all together before beginning his talk about the area we were visiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour was interesting and a great way to spend a day.

Amy H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

I was not contacted regarding the change to departure time, so glad I confirmed with tour guide from the previous tour or would have missed this tour. Really enjoyed this tour, the guide was very nice and funny. We somehow managed to miss a lot of the crowds, well worth doing. Saw a lot more than just the market and bridge.

Elaine M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We were disappointed that there were only 9 of us which meant we travelled the entire distance in a small mini-van with very little leg room and it was extremely hot. It also meant we could not look out and see much of the countryside. The guide explained the company rules that we would have to have 13 or more to go on a coach. The guide did her best but we had two others on the tour that were constantly complaining and one took over the guides seat in the front. Spoilt the trip for us,

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The trip started with a visit the floating markets. It was fun to ride on the motor boats and to see the local floating market. This is a good chance to buy souvenirs as well. The highlight was the visit to the Kwai River and the World War II cemetery. The guide was very knowledgeable and lived during those difficult times. The trip back was difficult due to a two hour delay on traffic in Bangkok. We understand this was out of the guide's control.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very picturesque but watch the hawkers selling Tiger Balm. They will pick your pocket before you know what hit you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The floating market was frankly a big souvenir rip-off. When we didn't buy anything at the identical two places our rower took us to, she didn't even bother on the last leg to even row us on the same side as any activity. As for the River Kwai, it is terrific, but we had to pay extra to see the newer and better museum. That should have been included in the price as it should be in the program.

HALEY B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A good trip. The floating markets however are purely for tourists and much of the trip is a period of hard selling from the traders. The River Kwai stop was also good and the tour guide was really informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Good tour. Stallholders in market go in for hard sell, which can be off-putting.

Peter M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

No one else was on the tour we were on and this made for a memorable experience. Our guide was fantastic. The markets themselves are little more than a forum where traders sell souvenirs and handicrafts, all of which are available at the numerous handicraft centres around Thailand, however the novelty and enjoyment for this tour is derived from the food hawkers, who cook aboard their boats, this creates an aroma that emanates itself around the market. There is also an elephant park near the markets, and although a little pricey 500Baht pp the experience and novelty of riding an elephant is well worth it. The tour then passes through an obvious commission stop, however unlike most, the handicraft centre that you pass through is actually worth the time and money spent there, with intricate woodwork which can be enjoyed for nothing. The Bridge is less than spectacular, however the museum, although basic, revels in its simplicity, and is a great stop to peruse. The tour concludes with a stop at a "Government Jem factory." This is the worst part of the tour, where a high pressure salesman walks around with you as you look at the jewelery. However it is actually quite beautiful and if you can loose your "guide" as we did then the jewelery is well worth a good look.

Andrew J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Long way to travel in one day but worth it.

Ty S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The tour was worth doing - geared to the tourist of course. The boat rides were fun and the lunch was very tasty. You don't need to be interested in the historical significance to take the tour.

From USD $ 59.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message