4.5 star rating: Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Alan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Quite an eye opener, the floating markets have to be seen to be believed, with all the people living along the river bank in very basic huts. Bridge on the river Kwai part of the trip really put into prospective the hardships that were endured by the prisoners who were forced to build it, the museum had lots of accounts of happenings, but in our view needs preserving, seems the humid conditions are damaging the exhibits. The Cemetery was kept in pristine condition, as it should be. All in all a worthwhile experience but a VERY long day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellent tour, but the floating market is more for selling tacky tourist souvenirs than a traditional market. Still, it was a fascinating day and a great tour.

Shaun C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

recommended as good expeirience on the boats and the hustle and bustle, only downside is that it has been turned into a commercial market and you miss the real old style of how they used to use the canals as proper trade markets but still definately worth going

Sylvia B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Extremely interesting but a long drive back to Bangkok. Exhilarating boat ride to reach the markets. Seeing the graves at the bridge on the River Kwai very moving.

William W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The floating markets were someting that you have to see if visiting Bangkok. i think you are better just walking up the side of the markets, & not taking a boat, as the river was very conjested. The visit to the River Kwai Bridge was really good. We had the same tour guide as we had when we went to Bangkok's Grand Palace, & again I felt he should have waited till the group were all together before beginning his talk about the area we were visiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour was interesting and a great way to spend a day.

Amy H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

I was not contacted regarding the change to departure time, so glad I confirmed with tour guide from the previous tour or would have missed this tour. Really enjoyed this tour, the guide was very nice and funny. We somehow managed to miss a lot of the crowds, well worth doing. Saw a lot more than just the market and bridge.

Elaine M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We were disappointed that there were only 9 of us which meant we travelled the entire distance in a small mini-van with very little leg room and it was extremely hot. It also meant we could not look out and see much of the countryside. The guide explained the company rules that we would have to have 13 or more to go on a coach. The guide did her best but we had two others on the tour that were constantly complaining and one took over the guides seat in the front. Spoilt the trip for us,

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The trip started with a visit the floating markets. It was fun to ride on the motor boats and to see the local floating market. This is a good chance to buy souvenirs as well. The highlight was the visit to the Kwai River and the World War II cemetery. The guide was very knowledgeable and lived during those difficult times. The trip back was difficult due to a two hour delay on traffic in Bangkok. We understand this was out of the guide's control.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very picturesque but watch the hawkers selling Tiger Balm. They will pick your pocket before you know what hit you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The floating market was frankly a big souvenir rip-off. When we didn't buy anything at the identical two places our rower took us to, she didn't even bother on the last leg to even row us on the same side as any activity. As for the River Kwai, it is terrific, but we had to pay extra to see the newer and better museum. That should have been included in the price as it should be in the program.

HALEY B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A good trip. The floating markets however are purely for tourists and much of the trip is a period of hard selling from the traders. The River Kwai stop was also good and the tour guide was really informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Good tour. Stallholders in market go in for hard sell, which can be off-putting.

Peter M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

No one else was on the tour we were on and this made for a memorable experience. Our guide was fantastic. The markets themselves are little more than a forum where traders sell souvenirs and handicrafts, all of which are available at the numerous handicraft centres around Thailand, however the novelty and enjoyment for this tour is derived from the food hawkers, who cook aboard their boats, this creates an aroma that emanates itself around the market. There is also an elephant park near the markets, and although a little pricey 500Baht pp the experience and novelty of riding an elephant is well worth it. The tour then passes through an obvious commission stop, however unlike most, the handicraft centre that you pass through is actually worth the time and money spent there, with intricate woodwork which can be enjoyed for nothing. The Bridge is less than spectacular, however the museum, although basic, revels in its simplicity, and is a great stop to peruse. The tour concludes with a stop at a "Government Jem factory." This is the worst part of the tour, where a high pressure salesman walks around with you as you look at the jewelery. However it is actually quite beautiful and if you can loose your "guide" as we did then the jewelery is well worth a good look.

Andrew J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Long way to travel in one day but worth it.

Ty S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The tour was worth doing - geared to the tourist of course. The boat rides were fun and the lunch was very tasty. You don't need to be interested in the historical significance to take the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

If you have limited time in Bangkok this tour is a great day out. The floating markets are a bit commercial but if you use your imagination you do get a sense of what canal life was like in the past. The tour of the furniture carving factory is well worth it and the bridge tour is worth the drive. Lunch on the river provided nice views of the river but we could have done without the poor to mediocre food. The guide was well informed and provided some needed comic relief on the drive.

Mark M
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

This was an excellent day; our tour guide was genuinely helpful and pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The guide was an extremely knowledgeable elderly gentleman. He was so experienced and motivated that now we could almost write a thesis about Thailand and its history. He was worth the trip by himself. The bridge on the River Kwai was a brilliant experience. Of course, the floating market is something worth experiencing.

Luis F
Venezuela

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour is definitely worth doing. The tour guide was a very nice, very keen person. There were several sightseeings, adventures, natural landscapes, and visits. This is the tour I liked the most and would most recommend.

David R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Must be seen - it's amazing. I enjoyed it very much.

Judy S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

It was a fabulous experience, would thoroughly encourage it!! However the buses could do with an update, better air-con needed in that climate, and a few repairs would help!

Colin S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

From start to finish it was full of information. It was a really long day and we saw lots, but it was worth it. The information from your guide was spot on.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Everything went to plan. Floating market was fascinating. Bridge over River Kwai and countryside was very interesting.

David C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

The boat rides both on the way to the floating market and on the River Kwai were really good. Overall not a bad day out, though the floating market itself was a bit of a let down.

From USD $ 59.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message