Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 141 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 141 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The floating market was frankly a big souvenir rip-off. When we didn't buy anything at the identical two places our rower took us to, she didn't even bother on the last leg to even row us on the same side as any activity. As for the River Kwai, it is terrific, but we had to pay extra to see the newer and better museum. That should have been included in the price as it should be in the program.

HALEY B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A good trip. The floating markets however are purely for tourists and much of the trip is a period of hard selling from the traders. The River Kwai stop was also good and the tour guide was really informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Good tour. Stallholders in market go in for hard sell, which can be off-putting.

Peter M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

No one else was on the tour we were on and this made for a memorable experience. Our guide was fantastic. The markets themselves are little more than a forum where traders sell souvenirs and handicrafts, all of which are available at the numerous handicraft centres around Thailand, however the novelty and enjoyment for this tour is derived from the food hawkers, who cook aboard their boats, this creates an aroma that emanates itself around the market. There is also an elephant park near the markets, and although a little pricey 500Baht pp the experience and novelty of riding an elephant is well worth it. The tour then passes through an obvious commission stop, however unlike most, the handicraft centre that you pass through is actually worth the time and money spent there, with intricate woodwork which can be enjoyed for nothing. The Bridge is less than spectacular, however the museum, although basic, revels in its simplicity, and is a great stop to peruse. The tour concludes with a stop at a "Government Jem factory." This is the worst part of the tour, where a high pressure salesman walks around with you as you look at the jewelery. However it is actually quite beautiful and if you can loose your "guide" as we did then the jewelery is well worth a good look.

Andrew J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Long way to travel in one day but worth it.

Ty S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The tour was worth doing - geared to the tourist of course. The boat rides were fun and the lunch was very tasty. You don't need to be interested in the historical significance to take the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

If you have limited time in Bangkok this tour is a great day out. The floating markets are a bit commercial but if you use your imagination you do get a sense of what canal life was like in the past. The tour of the furniture carving factory is well worth it and the bridge tour is worth the drive. Lunch on the river provided nice views of the river but we could have done without the poor to mediocre food. The guide was well informed and provided some needed comic relief on the drive.

Mark M
Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

This was an excellent day; our tour guide was genuinely helpful and pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The guide was an extremely knowledgeable elderly gentleman. He was so experienced and motivated that now we could almost write a thesis about Thailand and its history. He was worth the trip by himself. The bridge on the River Kwai was a brilliant experience. Of course, the floating market is something worth experiencing.

Luis F
Venezuela

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour is definitely worth doing. The tour guide was a very nice, very keen person. There were several sightseeings, adventures, natural landscapes, and visits. This is the tour I liked the most and would most recommend.

David R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

Must be seen - it's amazing. I enjoyed it very much.

Judy S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

It was a fabulous experience, would thoroughly encourage it!! However the buses could do with an update, better air-con needed in that climate, and a few repairs would help!

Colin S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

From start to finish it was full of information. It was a really long day and we saw lots, but it was worth it. The information from your guide was spot on.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Everything went to plan. Floating market was fascinating. Bridge over River Kwai and countryside was very interesting.

David C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

The boat rides both on the way to the floating market and on the River Kwai were really good. Overall not a bad day out, though the floating market itself was a bit of a let down.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Excellent staff on tours and pick ups.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We both enjoyed the tour but it was a long trip. We would have liked a little more information from the guide rather than just reading what was in front of us. Felt we were just being escorted and not really guided. But both driver and guide were very nice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The trip it self was not like expected, but for a small fee 1-200 bath you coukd make it so by takeing a cool cruise and shop from the boat. What you do get is a speedboat that drives fast and is more like an a-b thing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

It was great to ride in the boats along the canals, but I wanted to see more authenticity. I would have like to have seen fruit, veg and flower vendors, rather than more of the same souvenir vendors. The guide was nice and the was very safe on the roads. The bridge over the river kwai experience was good too. It was a nice day out, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

its an experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

A lot of time in the bus but worthwhile

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The Floating Market was a market full of tourists. The canals were filled with more tourists taking pictures than vendors. More impressive by far was the River Kwai tour, especially the cemetery. You could read each stone and have a glimpse into a life cut short. The guide was more attentive to promote the tours the company. She did not seem very knowledgeable in providing information on the history of the country or specific details on the WWII events in the region. Her English was sometimes hard to understand, although she seemed convincing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour was fun and informative. The floating markets were definitely the highlight for me.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This was a very long day. The markets were much the same as other markets bought in produce and price. It was interesting to see the older people managing the canoes. The museum at the Kwai river was tired, dusty and faded but the war graves were well maintained.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The floating market is a must see for anyone visiting Bangkok. The River Kwai was also very interesting but was about 3 hours outside of the city, so it involved a long drive. We were dropped off at the Kwai Museum and then at the bridge, then the cemetary, each time being told where to meet the guide. She did not escort us and give much information. All in all though, I wouldn't have wanted to drive this distance so it was still worthwhile. We had a lot of fun at the floating market.

From USD $ 55.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message