4.5 star rating: Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Excellent staff on tours and pick ups.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We both enjoyed the tour but it was a long trip. We would have liked a little more information from the guide rather than just reading what was in front of us. Felt we were just being escorted and not really guided. But both driver and guide were very nice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The trip it self was not like expected, but for a small fee 1-200 bath you coukd make it so by takeing a cool cruise and shop from the boat. What you do get is a speedboat that drives fast and is more like an a-b thing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

It was great to ride in the boats along the canals, but I wanted to see more authenticity. I would have like to have seen fruit, veg and flower vendors, rather than more of the same souvenir vendors. The guide was nice and the was very safe on the roads. The bridge over the river kwai experience was good too. It was a nice day out, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

its an experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

A lot of time in the bus but worthwhile

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The Floating Market was a market full of tourists. The canals were filled with more tourists taking pictures than vendors. More impressive by far was the River Kwai tour, especially the cemetery. You could read each stone and have a glimpse into a life cut short. The guide was more attentive to promote the tours the company. She did not seem very knowledgeable in providing information on the history of the country or specific details on the WWII events in the region. Her English was sometimes hard to understand, although she seemed convincing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The tour was fun and informative. The floating markets were definitely the highlight for me.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This was a very long day. The markets were much the same as other markets bought in produce and price. It was interesting to see the older people managing the canoes. The museum at the Kwai river was tired, dusty and faded but the war graves were well maintained.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The floating market is a must see for anyone visiting Bangkok. The River Kwai was also very interesting but was about 3 hours outside of the city, so it involved a long drive. We were dropped off at the Kwai Museum and then at the bridge, then the cemetary, each time being told where to meet the guide. She did not escort us and give much information. All in all though, I wouldn't have wanted to drive this distance so it was still worthwhile. We had a lot of fun at the floating market.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

A long day trip from Bangkok, picked up at 6.10am back at 8pm although Bangkok traffic was responsible for 2 hours of this, the only gripe is stopping at a couple of places under a fairly lame reason i.e how to make suger from coconuts which took 2 minutes to explain and then you are directed to a shop which happens to be next door and are followed around by assistants pestering you to buy i only want to see what i have booked not go shopping. the longboat trip to the floating market was the best part.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

This was an average tour.

Angie
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Peter was our guide and Mr Pom Pom our driver., only 4 of us on the tour. Peter was very good at his job and well spoken. The floating market was interesting and the War Memorial was beautiful, would have liked more time at the memorial however. As for the bridge however NOT worth it, there is nothing to show you what it is it's simply a bridge with some horrible tacky train going over it. The rest of the area is a tourist trap / market,. In a word TACKY. No respect what so ever to the lives lost you could have simply been anywhere in Thailand with a black bridge over a river. The trip also seemed to be more about the "side trips" we called Peter the walking ATM as he just kept getting money. We refused a couple of side trips in the end. A long journey to be very disappointed unfortunately.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

Enjoyed Floating Market but was unhappy with Bridge On River Kwai Tour as more time was spent at a coconut farm and a local craft center. Very little time to pay respects at Allied War Cemetery as the guide suggested that we hurry up to get back to Bangkok. If your tour is described as Floating Markets and River Kwai then that is what it should be not side excursions by the guide to buy souvenirs. There was ample opportunity to support the local economy by purchasing goods at the Floating Markets which we did, we did not, however, appreciate making stops not featured on the itinerary. One of the main reasons to visit Bangkok was to visit the River Kwai and to pay our respects to the servicemen and Thai people who suffered at the hands of the Japanese and we both felt that this tour was a side issue as the guide concentrated on coconuts and wood carvings. When the guide did speak about the tours in the vehicle we could not hear him and also the air conditioning was poor making the journey very uncomfortable. I have used Viator previously on other trips and was satisfied but I am now considering going with another company in the future. I will also submit this review to other review sites.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

The trip entailed to many stops at non relevant sights. when we eventually got to Kwai the rep said we only had a few minutes to look at the bridge before heading back. this was totally unacceptable. Also our rep could not communicate very well and told us nothing about the bridge history. he also fell asleep for the journey home.

Stewart P
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

It was reasonable but really not too exciting. The lunch was nice but you had to purchase even the water you had to go with the meal. The part of the trip I enjoyed most was when we went to the River Kwai that was very emotional for me to realise you were standing in front of history.

Beverley M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

To start with, the people didn't come and collect me at 0620 as I was told. I waited until 7am, so the hotel called to find out what was happening, they said they would be there within 20 minutes, and still no sign. Eventually the tour guide called and said I had to get a taxi to the other side of Bangkok to meet the bus. When I arrived, there were a number of us squashed in a run down van with broken air conditioning. The guide could speak some English; however, she did not give any information on any of the points of interest, instead went off and had a rest, mainly due to the fact she was elderly and used an umbrella as a walking stick. At the end of the tour, we were transferred to a larger coach which had space, no idea why this hadn't happened earlier in the day, we were all just pleased to get out of the van. All in all, very disappointing, and I'm sure I am not the only person out of my group to say that.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

We enjoyed the markets but were disappointed that a boat ride actually through the market was not included. We thought that was the idea and the way the tour was presented on the website. The trip to the Bridge was interesting from a historical point of view but not well presented. We felt like we paid for a guided tour and only got a little more than transportation.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Did not spend nearly enough time at the floating markets. Tour guide took us to a random rest stop where locals hawk souvenirs for 25 minutes. This was a waste of time, and it could have been better spent at the sites we paid to see.

Helen H
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2007

Whilst it was interesting seeing the Floating Markets, the War Memorial and the Museum, the other stops were wasted. Would have been better to include a stop at Tigerland instead of the furniture place.

Allyson L
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2007

Good trip. Well worth doing but too many extra stops on route for various other things not mentioned in the itinerary made it a very long day. We were picked up at 6-10am arriving back to our hotel at 6-50pm after being dropped off at the pier to make our own way back as we were staying on the other side of the river. We thought that was bad and that we should have been taken back to the hotel but otherwise OK. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Have to say that I was very disappointed. I did the floating markets along with the coconut farm, the wood carving factory and the rose garden in 2007 and it was much better organised. The tour guide here was very controlling and didn't give us enough time to do anything.

Zsolt J
Hungary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2012

It was a big rush :(, began with a 30min WASTE of time break at a rest place, and we had 20min at the bridge. REALLY LOGICAL???? The journey was to long not worth it, the floating market is artificial, NOT WORTH IT! Not even for free!

CLARE C
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2009

The guide was very nice and at times quite helpful. The driver did a good job through the hectic traffic. But the compulsory trip to the shopping outlet for almost an hour at the questionable palm sugar 'factory', and then another hour at yet another shopping outlet at the wood carving factory, were not very good. We were only given 15 min at the Bridge of the River Kwai and 10 min at the War Cemetery. And don't get me started on the disgusting excuse of a museum - "The Jeath Museum". This is not the real museum and it is an embarrassment to the people of Thailand.

Karen H
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2007

The market was hot and smelly.

From USD $ 59.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message