4.5 star rating: Recommended 124 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 124 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyable tour included sugar making stalls, orchid garden, views of salt pans, floating market, visit to elephant farm, River Kwai and war museum, and memorial ground. Also lovely buffet lunch at a quiet countryside location. Full day but long journey home. We were lucky to have the guide and mini bus to ourselves. Our guide, Yelly, was excellent. She ensured we were well informed about where we were going and what we saw, and she even bought us water and food supplies to keep us going, and gave us a present at the end of the tour of pictures of the floating market, painted by a friend of hers.
Pick up was clearly communicated to us via the hotel and on time.
Only downside of the trip was the driving. The driver seemed to constantly accelerate and then ease off the accelerator making the journey jerky. We weren't sure it was his driving or the bus, but it was annoying.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

So much to see, it is hard to believe it can be covered in one day.

haihi
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Interesting tour to be able to visit the floating market. However, would have been better if the trip includes the paddle boat ride. Currently, there will a need to pay additional 200 baht per pax to the tour guide in order to ride on the paddle boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great tour taken from Bangkok city. Tour guide adequate, perhaps could have offered more general information and been more interactive considering we were fortunate to have four people on tour. It is a long day of travel, which is broken up with stops to the designated sights. Interesting travelling on loval roads which gives a good impression of both country and city life. Markets very interesting, Bridge on River Kwai museum interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Enjoyed much. Would recommend.

Bee W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We were informed that pick up will be at 06:10 to avoid traffic. But we were picked up more than an hour later. By the time the other 2 couples were picked up, we hit the Bangkok traffic. We arrived at the Floating market around 10:30 and was given only an hour to savour the place. Had we been picked up on time, we might have more time here.
We have enjoyed our time at the Floating market albeit brief, and we have also enjoyed the visit to JEATH museum and Bridge on the River Kwai.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

floating market was great! Would def. do it again! Couple of interesting stops along they way. It help to break up the length of the trip! Lots of things to buy and eat at the market. Very interesting to see the floating kitchens! Bridge was just a bridge.

Shiam K
Papua New Guinea

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Floating Market and Bridge on River Kwai. We were very well looked after by the Tour Guide and since the group was small, we all got to know each other well.

Michael J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The whole day was interesting with a very good guide. The floating market, wood carving, river Kwai memorial and bridge.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Interesting tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Our guide was excellent and timely. The floating markets were a wonderful experience of colour and the Bridge over the River Kwai well worth a look. There was a lot to do in one day and if we had a longer stay in BKK, we would have done them separately. The lunch was awesome too :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

A very full and interesting day and the guide was very knowledgeable. As it was low season, I was the only person on the tour, but they still ran it. The floating market is interesting, but a bit more expensive than bigger markets.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

FLOATING MARKETS CERTAINLY AN EXPERIENCE. TOO MUCH IN YOUR FACE PRESSURE SELLING THOUGH. KWAI EXPERIENCE VERY GOOD. DIFFICULY TO ENVISAGE HOW IT WAS THOUGH WITH MANY HOTELS AND A NEW BRIDGE NOW IN PLACE. NEVERTHELESS A GOOD NOSTALGIC VISIT. LONG DAY BUT WORTH IT. CHOSE THIS TRIP AS OPOSE TO THE ONE WITH THE TRAIN JOURNEY AS THE FLOATING MARKETS ARE A BETTER BET.

Say Po Y
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

It was a great tour to see some history and culture, as well as taste the food of Thailand. There was much to do and see.

Alan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Quite an eye opener, the floating markets have to be seen to be believed, with all the people living along the river bank in very basic huts. Bridge on the river Kwai part of the trip really put into prospective the hardships that were endured by the prisoners who were forced to build it, the museum had lots of accounts of happenings, but in our view needs preserving, seems the humid conditions are damaging the exhibits. The Cemetery was kept in pristine condition, as it should be. All in all a worthwhile experience but a VERY long day.

From USD $ 61.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK29C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message