4.5 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hilary C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

This was another excellently organised trip, and it took us everywhere we needed to see. The long-tail boats were a little scary and out of James Bond! We loved every minute of it and wished it was longer. Well done again, Viator.

Bell C
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The trip was wonderful and the guide was very helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Even though the heavens opened whilst on tour, we still enjoyed the shopping experience. Could have done without stopping on way at some sort of market selling coconut based items and showing process of using the coconuts. We would rather of spent the time to shop longer at floating market, instead it was a bit rushed
We then went to Sampran Riverside where we had a good lunch in a lovely setting, the rain had by then eased. Then on same site went over to another building where we sat and watched various farm animals, Elephants and dancers performing the life of Thai villagers. Finally went out to see a family of Elephants including a baby elephant called One Pin. Thankfully the rain had completely stopped and we're able to fully appreciate the show.... money well spent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the ride on the long tailed boat most of all. The weather was cooling and the atmosphere was very peaceful. The floating market was very interesting and the foods we ate were quite tasty.

In comparison the Rose garden was more touristy and the show was nothing out of the ordinary... the buffet lunch wasn't too bad though!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It lacks the crocodile and cobra show

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was well organized. The Viator guide was good. Besides my wife and daughter, only 2 other ladies from England were in the comfy van. If you're going to the Floating Market, recommend also doing the Roase Garden.. Both places are very touristy. The Floating markets today only exist as tourist attractions. Locals don't go unless they are selling something, not buying. It's worthe trip to get a glimpse of what life among the canals might have been like. Seems like Thailand is now a place for tourists. Hard to get a feel for local culture on these tours, so be prepared with the right mindset. We did visit the Royal Palace on our own. We took the boat ferry from the Sky Train to the Pa;ace. The Sky Train is a good way to beat traffic and the boat taxi gives you a chance to be on the river. The complimentary English language tour inside the Palace was well done. Avoid the people outside who tell you that the Palace is closed or there is a big event going on and want to take you somewhere else.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very interesting visit to a unique place. Even though the floating market has been considerably commercialized to cater to tourists, one can get a good appreciation of how it would have been before a few decades. The cultural show in the Rose Garden center is of a high standard that matches the production standards of a Las Vegas show. Overall, a highly enjoyable tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

must see

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The guide was awesome! Friendly, funny and enthusiastic. The tour is well organized, and the floating market is a fun place to visit. One of the problems with the tour was the stops at shops that were not listed at the tour itinerary. This added up more than an hour of tour that I didn´t want. Another thing that bothered me was the elephant ride: at first I was surprised with our stop at that place and jumped into the opportunity of close contact with that magnificent animal, but afterwards I kind of felt bad for those creatures, they didn´t look like they were well cared for, and I felt like I´ve been pushed into a trap, and spent 600 baht with something that I ended up regretting. During the ride the mahout asked us to buy some necklaces and bracelets, and also kept pushing us into tipping him.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

not bad.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

had a bit of confusion with as to pick-up point-we agreed earlier to meet at another hotel since we were told they do not pick-up at our hotel but our guide looked for us at our hotel when we were already at the agreed pick-up point.but no big deal because we did not lose much time anyway.travel to the floating market was comfortable because my family(3 of us) had the van to ourselves and the guide entertained us with a brief history of thailand.failed to get our guide's name but she was nice.she even advised me to try one dessert which she said was good.i did as i was told and glad that i did because it was good as she described.lunch at sampran riverside was good,and we had plenty of time to eat since we got there early from the orchid farm and floating market and before the cultural show.a lot of food to choose from.cultural show was fun,i especially liked the choreographed muay thai bit and a little boy seated in front of us enjoyed it as well because it was the only part of the show that got a reaction from him.hearing the boy's laugh was priceless.the elephant show,however,was too short and the price to take a picture with an elephant was too expensive-i think no one wanted to pay that much.but some people sneaked pictures with the elephant while the mahut was not looking and i found that offensive.i loved the part when the elephants danced!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Another great Bagnkok tour. The longboat ride to the floating markets was a lot of fun, however the number of vendors selling at the actual market was very small. I have been before and the khlong was now full of tourists in boats jostling to get through rather than actual boats selling produce. However the land market was fun to walk through. The Rose Garden Cultural centre was nice - a good show and a nice lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Travelled with family (4) . Only 2 others on minibus. Great well-informed guide. Good value. Lovely lunch at Rose Garden followed by spectacular cultural show. Would have liked an extra 1/2 hr to spend in village following the show.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour would recommend it. Fantastic guide and well spoken very informative. Tour was always on time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Very interesting but a bit rushed at the market.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Interesting way to see Thai villages. The Rose Garden is beautiful and the performance is fun to watch.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Loved long boat ride and the buffet. The floating gardens were nice but somewhat of a tourist trap. The show at the cultural center was nice. Glad we saw it but will probably not repeat it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Really enjoyable trip. Even my 12 yr old and 10 yr old kids enjoyed it. Plenty of info from tour guide and the rain held off!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Fun trip, felt quite personalized for there were only two people apart from us on the bus. Helpful tour guide. The food at the Rose Gardens was beautiful, and the show was entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Have previously done this tour when it also included the Kwai valley. Ticks all the boxes and covers a lot of things in one go. Of course the floating market is touristy, but in my opinion is well worth it for a couple or family with limited time.

Ronelle M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The floating markets are obviously not what they used to be but still worth the visit--we had a great day out.

Gerard B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The gloating market is another 'must see" for Bangkok. Unfortunately the whole thing has now been much commercialized.There was more gaudy market "junk' for tourists than genuine marketeers selling vegetables and fruit. A ride in a boat on the canal is an experience though. The Rose Garden is a truly beautiful place and we had the best Buffet lunch of our trip there.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

we recommend this tour, however we realize there are political issues in the Country, and we don't mind hearing about it a bit, however we felt she went on a tad excessive.

Ben J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Although the market is mostly for tourists, it is still a fantastic experience. One word of advice is, don't trust the guide and pay 150 for a place on a boat in the market, look around and a you can hire a whole boat for only 200.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

A good experience. Rose Garden is great! The restaurant inside the garden is a luxurious place to have lunch. The cultural show is an attractive one that was enjoyable for everybody watching.

From USD $ 71.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK30C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message