Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 72 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 72 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

we recommend this tour, however we realize there are political issues in the Country, and we don't mind hearing about it a bit, however we felt she went on a tad excessive.

Ben J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Although the market is mostly for tourists, it is still a fantastic experience. One word of advice is, don't trust the guide and pay 150 for a place on a boat in the market, look around and a you can hire a whole boat for only 200.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

A good experience. Rose Garden is great! The restaurant inside the garden is a luxurious place to have lunch. The cultural show is an attractive one that was enjoyable for everybody watching.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Nice way to get away from the hustle bustle of Bangkok and see some of the countryside. Market was an interesting experience as well as the visit to the Rose Garden.

Edward S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Floating market was disappointing as most of the stalls were not on the water. However, the visits to the coconut farm and teak carving facility were very interesting as was the elephant show and cultural show at the Rose Garden.

Linda M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Very good, it was a very long day 12 hours.

Wee S
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

It was an interesting trip, being our first time. I enjoyed the coconut plantation stop and the teak wood factory stop. It was an eye opener.

Cynthia C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

The trip to the floating markets and rose garden was an experience I would not have missed. It was truly great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Despite being put on a half day tour when we booked a full day, the trip was a great insight into the market and the culture there. The tour guide was amazing and very informative and knowledgeable, we had a great day and despite the early start its very worth while!

Peter
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Floating markets interesting enough. Cultural Center was OK. Elephant ride unique experience.

Jackie
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The floating markets are worth doing, the meal at the rose garden excellent - but the mini van driver we had was really a bad driver, there was 7 of us in the van and we were all under the same impression. All he wanted to do was beat the coaches and then he was on a mission to drop everyone off. Other then the driver and good day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Great day but we spent to much time eating the wonderful lunch and didnt see alot of the centre

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

First the negative, and the reason why I gave this tour only 3 stars: the Floating Markets exist ENTIRELY for tourists. Be forewarned: if you so much as glance in the direction of one of the stalls, the shopkeeper will pull out a long hook and drag the boat to his or her shop. Being jet-lagged and still under the influence of initial culture shock, I wasn't well prepared for this aggressive salesmanship and it spoiled my enjoyment. Additionally, the Rose Garden CC is quite disappointing (there's very little to see), and the show is pure kitsch. To Viator's credit, it emailed before the tour to warn that the elephants would not be present for the show and to ask if we still wanted to go ahead with the tour. But I doubt that the elephants would have rescued the show, which suffered from boring and bored-looking performers. At the end of the show, the dancers pulled out various flags of the world and paraded to the tune of "It's a Small World." Ugh! If I want Disney, I'll go to Orlando. Now, the positive: our guide, Chai, was wonderful and experienced and witty. The true highlight for my daughter and me was an unexpected stop at the oldest Buddhist temple in Thailand. And when you consider all that you get for, what, $65/person, including a delicious buffet lunch, it is money very well spent. Despite misgivings about what I call the "Fleecing Market" and the desultory Rose Garden show, I would recommend the tour to the first-time visitor to Bangkok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Guide and guiding was a little lame... also difficult to understand his English. Too much time for your own walking and shopping. A tour cannot be build on shopping opportunities...

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

If you are going to advertise it as a floating market tour, then we shouldn't be charred extra to do the floating market when we get there. I paid 70 bucks for a tour guide who lied about the price of the floating market. There should be water provided on the bus since it's so hot.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Tour guide did not describe or guide the tour really. Just led us to entrance and said "free time. Meet back here in xx minutes".

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

this was boring... floating market is only super busy and active during the high season; the guide will tell you not to eat anything there besides something deeply fried. Prices are the same as in Bangkok if not higher for gifts. The boat ride was OK. Rose Garden portion of the tour was limited to some dance presentation (very rustic quality) and elephant show with very basic tricks and scary looking metal hooks to keep animals in line. I felt bad for the elephants. We also stepped by some gift shop and a place where Buddism was introduced to Thailand... Not much to see but a good stop on the way. I would not recommend this to a friend.

Helene A
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

The floating markets are a must see. The drive to the floating markets was great and the food was fantastic . You could have just sat and watched the activity for hours! The Rose Garden Cultural Center was very touristy. Probably not the best place to see elephants, particularly if you plan to travel to other parts of Thailand. The cultural show was interesting but on reflection, I would have preferred to watch a show like that over dinner and a few drinks.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

A friend told me the Rose Garden was a must see. If you think a place like Universal Studios but 100 times worse is worth seeing, then you may like it. The floating markets were interesting but are for tourists only. But some good eats on the boats passing by. We had to stop at 2 tourist places where they hope you buy things. I really dislike when tours waste my time with this stuff. No one on our tour bought anything from any location, because you could get it all much cheaper at the night bazaar. We stopped at the first Buddha temple ever, and this was quite lovely, but our tour guide let us go off on our own when all the tour groups were being taken around by their guides. This place has a lot of symbolism, and I thought it was such a shame she didn't take us around and share her knowledge. Lunch was included at the Rose Garden, and although an impressive spread with 6 or so different stations, nothing was that good. Once you get into the Rose Garden, taking a picture with any of the dressed up ladies costs money. The show, although a bit corny, was well done and did give you nice insights to boxing, wedding, dances,etc. Our tour guide asked for a tip at the end. We had planned to give her one anyway, but we were a bit put off by the request. I would've preferred to have used this day for something else and would do it with a different tour company.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The Rose Garden show was great, but everything else was just OK. The floating market was useless - it's designed for tourists, and it showed. Our guide was excellent and told us many things about the country - that was the best part. The lunch was OK - nothing special. It was part of the tour, but they get you with the drinks. Go to the Rose Garden and skip the floating market.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was about shopping, the culture show was a watered down representation of what it traditionally is and my guide was very rude. He pointed out street food and said I don't try because I'm "not used to" and kept referring to "my people" aka white people. Ok. I'll be at Mcdonalds where I belong.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

My main observation for this tour was that the guide used every opportunity to make further money from us.
Rather disappointing how this does not include the gondola ride around the floating market which surprise surprise, comes as extra like so may other things offered by this trip.

From USD $ 67.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK30C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message