4 star rating: Recommended 208 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 208 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Decided to take up this tour since I've read that going to this place could be quite a hassle. I didn't regret my decision at all. Here's why:

1) Land journey from my hotel (Glow Pratunam) to this place is quite a distance. It took slightly more than an hour to reach to the destination.

2) Guide was very knowledgeable, speaks good English, answers your questions with a smile.

3) The mini bus was decent and comfortable.

4) HERE'S THE TRICKY PART: Boat ride TO the floating market was included in the pricing. I've read that a lot of tourists get scammed at this point if you don't take up a tour. (However, do note that boat ride pricing AT the floating market, you must pay on site. It's not included in the package).

What happened:

The day before the tour, a travel agency left a note to my hotel reception stating the details of the meetup. On the morning itself, we were supposed to meet the tour guide at 6.20am in the lobby area, but we woke up late and met them at 6.45am instead. This made the tour guide unhappy, we can see it from her face (so please don't have a late night before your trip like we did!).

After they picked us up, the minibus we're in collected the rest of the tourists from different hotels. Once everyone is in, we headed to the floating market with one short pit stop/toilet break at a location where some souvenirs were being sold. Throughout the journey, the guide did a commentary on the prominent locations/monuments from time to time as we went along.

Once we reached the destination, we took a boat to the floating market, through some narrow river (or maybe canal?). The scenary was quite pretty as you pass by the houses and temples. At the floating market itself, you need to take another small boat where a peddler will peddle your boat around to the shops you wanna go.

(ah damn, 153 characters left to type)

- whatever you do, BARGAIN! I got 90% off!!
- after that, we went to elephant village (can ride, take pic, feed)
- sent back to hotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great experience! The guide Mr. Peter was very entertaining and shared great insight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We greatly enjoyed the tour down the river. Our guide was courteous and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Brilliant tour well worth the trip!.and the service was brilliant aswel highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this trip. The floating market made our entire trip. We saw all the temples and things that Bangkok had to offer, but the floating market was by far our favourite. With a roughly 2 hour drive, and a quick stop at a coconut factory, it really doesn't seem too long. You are first put on a motor boat and rip around some different canals which leads you to the entrance of the floating market. There are definitely some cool things to see on this ride alone. Once you get to the market you purchase your ticket and hop on the boat. I believe the market is now more touristy as it was in the past, but don't let that dictate your decision. This is a must trip.

The tour guide was very knowledgable. He attempted to be funny and crack some jokes. He was very good at what he does.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great way to see the floating markets and get a bit of shopping in as well! The guide was very knowledgeable throughout. Great idea for a 1/2 day tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It is a really long bus ride out there, but well worth it! I had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

some of the best shopping we found in Bangkok and they were all willing to bargain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Fun activity. Great guide. Floating market is crazy busy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The tour is well organized. Thanks to our guide Ms Jaimmy, she was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very professional, safe n informative. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We stayed in a private residence and the tour company was very gracious to accommodate and pick us up, that was so appreciated and helpful. It took awhile to reach the floating markets, but it was well worth the drive. It is very unique and special. It is also a nice escape from the city. I loved it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very good organized tour. The guide Niko was professional,
knowledgeable and very pleasant man. He shared a personal information
about his life and his approach to the modern world which made the
tour more special. The floating market was an unique and unforgettable
experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great trip with lovely little extras...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Floating Market is the place to see in Bangkok. The tour guide was very good and she tried to give us a general idea of Tailand and Bangkok throughout the tour. We arrived at the market early which was very good because we enjoyed the market before most the visitors arrived. It was a very good tour with no problems.

From USD $ 41.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK21C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message