4.5 star rating: Recommended 396 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 396 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a lot of fun. Peter was our guide. He spoke excellent english, was very knowledgeable and helpful. He offered to help us see other stuff in bangkok and even chiang mai, where we were headed. Part of the fun was listening to him talk about anything we asked concerning thailand. Reasonable price and they pick you up from the hotel, so no issues lining up transit from A to B to C etc. That is more of an issue than we expected, in part because it's hard to locate stations and tickets online, and locals at the stations don't always speak english. Also they hardly ever understand western pronunciation of the transliterated terms and can't always read transliterated addresses (eg one book i have says "english" is "ing-grit" in thai, but the thais i asked didn't understand "ing-grit" -- they pronounce it "ahn-keet". Also a cab driver in bangkok didn't recognize "Chatuchak" on an address i had written).

Most memorable moments of the trip:
1) on the drive out of the park, we saw wild monkeys crossing the road and hopping down from the trees.
2) on the elephant ride, the trainer hopped off, let us sit on the elephant's neck, and walked ahead singing.

Lenka K
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pick up on time. Very nice driver and tour guide. First stop was at the market (outside Bangkok) where we could see so many new fruits and vegetables (and also meat - "Mickey Mouse" from jungle). At this market our tour guide bought mangosteens for us as a dessert after lunch. Next stop was at some private ranch where we watched (and participated a little) how is thai food cooked. Then we had an amazing lunch (one of the best meels I had in Thailand) and mangosteens as a dessert (wow - awesome fruit!!!). Next stop was at the waterfall. Nice walk to it through the jungle and very nice waterfall. Last stop was at a hotel resort with elephants. This elephant safari is (as this whole tour) kind of touristy but much better then I've seen on Koh Samui island. It was cca 30 minute ride on an elephant, including a walk in a river. In the end our "elephant driver" got off and we could try sitting on the elephant's head while the driver took our pictures and video.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip. Visiting local market which was interesting seeing different fruits and veg and live animals, frog etc. Then a lovely lunch at the Ox farm and then the best of all Elephant riding and this made our holiday
Would highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day. Informative guide. Well worth the money. I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had so much fun. The driver picked us up at our hotel perfectly on time, along the way we picked up one other couple and we drove to the fruit market about 45 minutes away. After that, ox ride and a great lunch outdoors, our tour guide Peter was very nice. LAst stop was the water fall and elephant ride, which was an amazing experience!! Thank you Peter :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was awesome, and it was a great experience. We didn't stop any pit stops for commission buy. Our group was tiny and the whole trip was the best experience in Thailand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic day, and we managed to do so much in the time that we had - the elephant ride was the absolute highlight. The guide was very warm and knowledgeable and was able to give us a lot of background to every one of our activities. Really recommend this trip, such a fantastic way to spend a day away from the pollution and noise of Bangkok.

Traceymark
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was excellent, from the ox-cart ride to the waterfall, the traditional thai lunch cooked fresh in front of us, which was delicious and of course the elephant ride, which we were able to ride on the elephants neck as well as the seat, our group only had one other couple in it for the day, our guide was very knowledgeable, great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was beyond excellent! From the hotel pick up to hotel drop off, our family enjoyed the whole day. This tour was the highlight of our trip. My two girls (8 and 20) had the time of their life. The local markets were both full of sights and smells! The ox cart ride and local lunch was very enjoyable but the elephant ride through the jungle and river was beyond compare. The elephants seemed well cared for and the mahouts were friendly and caring. A definite repeat experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Four thumbs way up!!! (There were two of us) The entire trip was great from start to finish. They picked us up from our hotel in a nice SUV and whisked us out of Bangkok. The guide was friendly and informative throughout the trip, and the park was beautiful from waterfall to wild elephant and monkeys.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful trip. We had a great guide, Peter, who made trip unforgettable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was the best trip we have done on viator aside from Alcatraz!! Peter our guide was AWESOME!! helpful, knowledgeable and a great cook!! riding the elephants has been one of our highlights on our 2 month trip!! really recommend doing this tour when in Bangkok!!! Take some nibbles and a drink though!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Awesome tour with a great guide. Very well put together.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a good tour. Lunch was delicious and the elephant ride was an amazing experience. My only negative is that the trip is described as being 9 hours, it's not, it's 13 hours. We were picked up at 7am and did not get back to the hotel until 8.15am. We had lunch very early at 11.00am so that's a VERY LONG day. We had plans for the evening after the trip which we had to cancel.
If the trip organisers cut out the Ox Cart ride and the local market visit (which to be honest was a whistle-stop tour rather than an actual exploration of the market) the trip could be done in a few hours less.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great experience riding elephants. Great waste of time seeing the dried-up waterfall. The guide knew that
The waterfall was dried up.
the Waterfall was dried-up and it was a waste of time and energy walking a great distance to see nothing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great experience! Refreshing break from Bangkok and very informative and fun. Both my boyfriend and I were under the weather the day we went but the guide went out of his way to stop and get us water and take breaks when needed. Definitely would recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

the best trip ever!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Peter was an excellent guide. He was informative on the drive up to Nakhon Nayok. The market there was great...very manageable compared to the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Tons of photo ops with all of the fruits and vegetables and spices and meats; best of all was the smiles of the vendors. Definitely a highlight of the entire trip. The lunch at the farm was delicious. Much fun watching lunch being made for us and I'll say it again...it was so good! The oxcart ride was ok...a little bumpy which I probably should have expected. The hike to the waterfall in the national park was a nice opportunity to see some different scenery. Although the waterfall wasn't running anywhere near full capacity, the walk to the falls was pretty and got a good workout on the stairs coming back. The monkeys at one of the viewpoints were fun to watch. The elephant ride was enjoyable but I wasn't aware of how the elephants are trained so I would have been content to just feed the elephant and maybe help wash it or something. I'm not judging the locals as it's not for me to dictate how they make a living but for me personally, I would have been content to just be near the elephant without the ride. Overall, Peter did a great job and the daytrip was worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Green was the best tour guide! We had such a great time and it was primarily because of her and how she kept us entertained from early morning to late in the evening. Everything we did on the tour was terrific -- the ox ride was fun, the lunch terrific, the waterfall great, and the elephant ride something you'll always remember. As two 30 year old professionals from the USA, we couldn't recommend this tour any more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. Elephant ride was the best.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour + highly recommended. First time joining a group tour and LOVED it!! Activities were extremely enjoyable. Our guide was informative, funny, helpful and offered to take plenty of pictures of us. A tour definitely worth doing in Thailand!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fine value for the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, waterfall was unique. The best part was the elephant ride, it was about a 45 minute ride partially through a river. Got to feed the elephant after the ride. Was fun definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was the perfect day trip to get out of Bangkok, see some of the beautiful countryside of Thailand, and do some fun activities! While I agree with other reviews that the ox-cart ride wasn't the most exciting thing, the rest of the trip more than makes up for it with the market stop (trying and seeing new things), learning how to cook traditional Thai food for lunch, exploring the waterfall, and, saving the best for last, riding the elephant! The tour guides were excellent, keeping us clear of the protests and being very fun to talk to and interact with, and although there is a bit of driving on this tour, it was definitely worth it. For those who party the night before, plenty of time to nap on the bus, and for those who are wide awake the guides are interesting to talk to about anything you want to talk about. Great time!

From USD $ 105.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message