4.5 star rating: Recommended 353 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 353 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Peter was an excellent guide. He was informative on the drive up to Nakhon Nayok. The market there was great...very manageable compared to the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Tons of photo ops with all of the fruits and vegetables and spices and meats; best of all was the smiles of the vendors. Definitely a highlight of the entire trip. The lunch at the farm was delicious. Much fun watching lunch being made for us and I'll say it again...it was so good! The oxcart ride was ok...a little bumpy which I probably should have expected. The hike to the waterfall in the national park was a nice opportunity to see some different scenery. Although the waterfall wasn't running anywhere near full capacity, the walk to the falls was pretty and got a good workout on the stairs coming back. The monkeys at one of the viewpoints were fun to watch. The elephant ride was enjoyable but I wasn't aware of how the elephants are trained so I would have been content to just feed the elephant and maybe help wash it or something. I'm not judging the locals as it's not for me to dictate how they make a living but for me personally, I would have been content to just be near the elephant without the ride. Overall, Peter did a great job and the daytrip was worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Green was the best tour guide! We had such a great time and it was primarily because of her and how she kept us entertained from early morning to late in the evening. Everything we did on the tour was terrific -- the ox ride was fun, the lunch terrific, the waterfall great, and the elephant ride something you'll always remember. As two 30 year old professionals from the USA, we couldn't recommend this tour any more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Green was the best tour guide! We had such a great time and it was primarily because of her and how she kept us entertained from early morning to late in the evening. Everything we did on the tour was terrific -- the ox ride was fun, the lunch terrific, the waterfall great, and the elephant ride something you'll always remember. As two 30 year old professionals from the USA, we couldn't recommend this tour any more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. Elephant ride was the best.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour + highly recommended. First time joining a group tour and LOVED it!! Activities were extremely enjoyable. Our guide was informative, funny, helpful and offered to take plenty of pictures of us. A tour definitely worth doing in Thailand!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fine value for the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, waterfall was unique. The best part was the elephant ride, it was about a 45 minute ride partially through a river. Got to feed the elephant after the ride. Was fun definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was the perfect day trip to get out of Bangkok, see some of the beautiful countryside of Thailand, and do some fun activities! While I agree with other reviews that the ox-cart ride wasn't the most exciting thing, the rest of the trip more than makes up for it with the market stop (trying and seeing new things), learning how to cook traditional Thai food for lunch, exploring the waterfall, and, saving the best for last, riding the elephant! The tour guides were excellent, keeping us clear of the protests and being very fun to talk to and interact with, and although there is a bit of driving on this tour, it was definitely worth it. For those who party the night before, plenty of time to nap on the bus, and for those who are wide awake the guides are interesting to talk to about anything you want to talk about. Great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful memorable out of this world experience! The down side is to see the chains around the elephant's necks. I was near tears at the end of the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The elephant ride was awesome! They are such large yet gentle creatures. The guides gave us a great opportunity to be the "rider" and give the commands.

Thank you for the experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip is fantastic, a very enjoyable unique experience but once again I have to ask you to find a company that keeps to the law. As with the river Kwai trip, the driver was talking on his mobile phone and we also seen a terrible accident on the way home where people were killed. The law states even in Thailand that talking on mobile phones is illegal but the tour guide says they do not abide by it because the fines are so little !!! That really bodes well when I want to enjoy my holiday, see some fantastic places and experience unique things but most of all go home ALIVE. Please look at what is happening with the company's you are using for trips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and the tour was amazing!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It all started with a stop in a local market. This was a nice and informative stop. We then went to a farm where we did a ride on a cart pulled by oxen. Nothing special here, but still very different and a lot of fun. The owner of the farm was guiding the oxen and he was very friendly, tried to communicate with us, even though he couldn't speak English. We then went to the open-kitchen where the owner himself and a woman cooked in front of us some traditional Thai good. That was a unique experience and the food was excellent. We could also help a little bit (mainly for photos), but they were the ones doing the cooking. Perfect lunch!!! Arriving at Khao Yai we went to see a waterfall (quick stop) and also saw some monkeys while driving. Unfortunately the time inside the park was very short, but I don't think it's possible to accommodate all these activities in only 1 day. We then did an elephant trek. This was great (my first elephant trek), but I felt the elephants were not very happy and I was also shocked to see that the keepers had a very dangerous and "evil" hook to hurt the elephants. At least they didn't use that while we were there. Highly recommended, but note this is a relaxing tour, you won't have a lot to walk and exercise, but still worth doing. I enjoyed the elephant trek as it was my first one, but later during my trip I went to an elephant park in Chiang Mai where the elephants do only what they want (except when they are forced to carry us on top of them, but still, the keepers didn't have any hook to hurt them) and no seat on top of the elephants, as they did in Khao Yai (which obviously is not natural and I believe they keep it on the elephants all day). Not the perfect elephant experience, but having said that, I'm really glad I did it and would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour guide and amazing email and phone communication considering I booked the trip so last minute! Me and my boyfriend will not forget this experience it made our dream trip a reality! Thank you!

Special Offer

From USD $ 108.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message