Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 427 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 427 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time! The tour guide was friendly and knowledgable and we saw so many things!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic fun. Local agents kept us informed of pick up times directly with hotel. Elephant riding, waterfall, cooking class - which I didn't expect all brilliant. Ox cart riding ok, tour of market not that interesting.

It's a fairly long day, might be worth taking snacks and drinks with you as the operators only provide one bottle of water

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A lot of fun. Great lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful day and full of variety and interest which greatly exceeded expectations..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good trip with nice english speaking guide Peter. A lot of fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I took this tour while we were on our honeymoon in Bangkok. It was the best tour ever!!! We are so thankful we booked it. The tour guide, Yui, was amazing! She was so sweet and thorough and really showed us a great time. Highly recommended and so worth it!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great tour! Peter was a wonderful tour guide and told us everything we wanted to know about Thailand and its people, culture, food, wildlife, etc. I highly recommend this trip and truly believe it was a great value for the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful. He cared about his job. I am an instructor of wilderness medicine subjects at a university in the USA and really appreciated his knowledge of the environment that we were in. I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was great, but our tour guide Peter was even better. He gave us a better understanding about Thailand that you don't read in books. I would go on this tour again only if Peter was our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was the highlight of our Thailand triop.
We had an excellent tour guide---THE FAMOUS Peter lol. He made this tour perfect and enjoyable.
Love the food, oxcart ride, the waterfall, the wild monkey and of course the elephant ride.
The whole package was great value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

That was very insightful tour! Amazing food market and a lot of fun during elephant ride! I highly recommend the tour :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thumbs up! A must-join tour in Bangkok. The tour was so pleasurable and memorable largely because we had an outstanding tour guide, Peter, who treated us like his good friends. He explained everything very clearly, and was always conscientious in making us comfortable (such as cold towels and plentiful cold bottled water). He treated us with various local specialty food items (such as coconut water, fried banana and fried sweet potato) as we went through the local market. He helped us to take pictures in the best locations. The elephant ride was awesome, and the lunch in the farm was superb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

SUPER FUN TRIP! Guide Peter was very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. After the ox cart ride we were all very hot and sweaty and the guide immediately offered us some cold tissue and water, which was really nice. This was also the case for the waterfall and elephant ride. The highlight of the trip has got to be the elephant ride. You do get to sit on the neck, which I would highly recommend you to do so as well. We reached bangkok around 5pm, leaving us ample opportunity to continue shopping around the city. This trip is definitely highly recommended, and the guide will NOT bring you to buy anything at all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had an awesome time on this tour. Peter, our tour guide, was professional and knowledgeable and took care of everything! Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome Experience!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The local market was certainly different from anything back home. Very authentic. The lunch at the farm house from the purchases that our guide made at the market was fantastic and the owner of the farm was such a pleasant and loving woman. The waterfalls walk was a challenge for some in the group to climb back up the many stairs, but certainly was a beautiful falls. The highlight of the day was certainly the elephants. It was great fun to feed them and they loved to be fed right into their tonques. Once on the elephants you go about 10 minutes through jungle, another five or ten through a river and the best part is when the guide gets you to get on their neck and out of the seat to take your picture and then he leaves and just runs around taking your picture as the elephant picks its own way through the jungle. Many great pictures and such a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a lot of fun. Peter was our guide. He spoke excellent english, was very knowledgeable and helpful. He offered to help us see other stuff in bangkok and even chiang mai, where we were headed. Part of the fun was listening to him talk about anything we asked concerning thailand. Reasonable price and they pick you up from the hotel, so no issues lining up transit from A to B to C etc. That is more of an issue than we expected, in part because it's hard to locate stations and tickets online, and locals at the stations don't always speak english. Also they hardly ever understand western pronunciation of the transliterated terms and can't always read transliterated addresses (eg one book i have says "english" is "ing-grit" in thai, but the thais i asked didn't understand "ing-grit" -- they pronounce it "ahn-keet". Also a cab driver in bangkok didn't recognize "Chatuchak" on an address i had written).

Most memorable moments of the trip:
1) on the drive out of the park, we saw wild monkeys crossing the road and hopping down from the trees.
2) on the elephant ride, the trainer hopped off, let us sit on the elephant's neck, and walked ahead singing.

Lenka K
Czech Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pick up on time. Very nice driver and tour guide. First stop was at the market (outside Bangkok) where we could see so many new fruits and vegetables (and also meat - "Mickey Mouse" from jungle). At this market our tour guide bought mangosteens for us as a dessert after lunch. Next stop was at some private ranch where we watched (and participated a little) how is thai food cooked. Then we had an amazing lunch (one of the best meels I had in Thailand) and mangosteens as a dessert (wow - awesome fruit!!!). Next stop was at the waterfall. Nice walk to it through the jungle and very nice waterfall. Last stop was at a hotel resort with elephants. This elephant safari is (as this whole tour) kind of touristy but much better then I've seen on Koh Samui island. It was cca 30 minute ride on an elephant, including a walk in a river. In the end our "elephant driver" got off and we could try sitting on the elephant's head while the driver took our pictures and video.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip. Visiting local market which was interesting seeing different fruits and veg and live animals, frog etc. Then a lovely lunch at the Ox farm and then the best of all Elephant riding and this made our holiday
Would highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day. Informative guide. Well worth the money. I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had so much fun. The driver picked us up at our hotel perfectly on time, along the way we picked up one other couple and we drove to the fruit market about 45 minutes away. After that, ox ride and a great lunch outdoors, our tour guide Peter was very nice. LAst stop was the water fall and elephant ride, which was an amazing experience!! Thank you Peter :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was awesome, and it was a great experience. We didn't stop any pit stops for commission buy. Our group was tiny and the whole trip was the best experience in Thailand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic day, and we managed to do so much in the time that we had - the elephant ride was the absolute highlight. The guide was very warm and knowledgeable and was able to give us a lot of background to every one of our activities. Really recommend this trip, such a fantastic way to spend a day away from the pollution and noise of Bangkok.

Traceymark
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was excellent, from the ox-cart ride to the waterfall, the traditional thai lunch cooked fresh in front of us, which was delicious and of course the elephant ride, which we were able to ride on the elephants neck as well as the seat, our group only had one other couple in it for the day, our guide was very knowledgeable, great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was beyond excellent! From the hotel pick up to hotel drop off, our family enjoyed the whole day. This tour was the highlight of our trip. My two girls (8 and 20) had the time of their life. The local markets were both full of sights and smells! The ox cart ride and local lunch was very enjoyable but the elephant ride through the jungle and river was beyond compare. The elephants seemed well cared for and the mahouts were friendly and caring. A definite repeat experience!

From USD $ 98.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message