• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 353 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 353 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Green was the best tour guide! We had such a great time and it was primarily because of her and how she kept us entertained from early morning to late in the evening. Everything we did on the tour was terrific -- the ox ride was fun, the lunch terrific, the waterfall great, and the elephant ride something you'll always remember. As two 30 year old professionals from the USA, we couldn't recommend this tour any more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Green was the best tour guide! We had such a great time and it was primarily because of her and how she kept us entertained from early morning to late in the evening. Everything we did on the tour was terrific -- the ox ride was fun, the lunch terrific, the waterfall great, and the elephant ride something you'll always remember. As two 30 year old professionals from the USA, we couldn't recommend this tour any more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour. Elephant ride was the best.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour + highly recommended. First time joining a group tour and LOVED it!! Activities were extremely enjoyable. Our guide was informative, funny, helpful and offered to take plenty of pictures of us. A tour definitely worth doing in Thailand!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fine value for the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, waterfall was unique. The best part was the elephant ride, it was about a 45 minute ride partially through a river. Got to feed the elephant after the ride. Was fun definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was the perfect day trip to get out of Bangkok, see some of the beautiful countryside of Thailand, and do some fun activities! While I agree with other reviews that the ox-cart ride wasn't the most exciting thing, the rest of the trip more than makes up for it with the market stop (trying and seeing new things), learning how to cook traditional Thai food for lunch, exploring the waterfall, and, saving the best for last, riding the elephant! The tour guides were excellent, keeping us clear of the protests and being very fun to talk to and interact with, and although there is a bit of driving on this tour, it was definitely worth it. For those who party the night before, plenty of time to nap on the bus, and for those who are wide awake the guides are interesting to talk to about anything you want to talk about. Great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful memorable out of this world experience! The down side is to see the chains around the elephant's necks. I was near tears at the end of the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The elephant ride was awesome! They are such large yet gentle creatures. The guides gave us a great opportunity to be the "rider" and give the commands.

Thank you for the experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip is fantastic, a very enjoyable unique experience but once again I have to ask you to find a company that keeps to the law. As with the river Kwai trip, the driver was talking on his mobile phone and we also seen a terrible accident on the way home where people were killed. The law states even in Thailand that talking on mobile phones is illegal but the tour guide says they do not abide by it because the fines are so little !!! That really bodes well when I want to enjoy my holiday, see some fantastic places and experience unique things but most of all go home ALIVE. Please look at what is happening with the company's you are using for trips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and the tour was amazing!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It all started with a stop in a local market. This was a nice and informative stop. We then went to a farm where we did a ride on a cart pulled by oxen. Nothing special here, but still very different and a lot of fun. The owner of the farm was guiding the oxen and he was very friendly, tried to communicate with us, even though he couldn't speak English. We then went to the open-kitchen where the owner himself and a woman cooked in front of us some traditional Thai good. That was a unique experience and the food was excellent. We could also help a little bit (mainly for photos), but they were the ones doing the cooking. Perfect lunch!!! Arriving at Khao Yai we went to see a waterfall (quick stop) and also saw some monkeys while driving. Unfortunately the time inside the park was very short, but I don't think it's possible to accommodate all these activities in only 1 day. We then did an elephant trek. This was great (my first elephant trek), but I felt the elephants were not very happy and I was also shocked to see that the keepers had a very dangerous and "evil" hook to hurt the elephants. At least they didn't use that while we were there. Highly recommended, but note this is a relaxing tour, you won't have a lot to walk and exercise, but still worth doing. I enjoyed the elephant trek as it was my first one, but later during my trip I went to an elephant park in Chiang Mai where the elephants do only what they want (except when they are forced to carry us on top of them, but still, the keepers didn't have any hook to hurt them) and no seat on top of the elephants, as they did in Khao Yai (which obviously is not natural and I believe they keep it on the elephants all day). Not the perfect elephant experience, but having said that, I'm really glad I did it and would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour guide and amazing email and phone communication considering I booked the trip so last minute! Me and my boyfriend will not forget this experience it made our dream trip a reality! Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This day trip was a great value for the money. The van picked us up at our Bangkok hotel at 7:30. The van driver was freindly and accomidating stopping whenever we needed. The small town market was fun and informative. Go ahead, try the fried bugs - they're yummy. The Ox cart ride and lunch on the "farm" was relaxing. The Park and short hike was easy and fun. Water and cool towels were provided. The guide was very informative and freindly. And of course, the Elephant ride was fun, especially for our 6 year old. The elephants looked to be well taken care of and freindly. (Hold on to your cameras. The ride is bumpy and a little wet.) This was a great get-a-way from the noise and dirt of Bangkok. Be ready for a long drive back to your Bangkok hotel as traffic is horriffic.

Special Offer

From USD $ 107.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message