Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 400 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 400 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, waterfall was unique. The best part was the elephant ride, it was about a 45 minute ride partially through a river. Got to feed the elephant after the ride. Was fun definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was the perfect day trip to get out of Bangkok, see some of the beautiful countryside of Thailand, and do some fun activities! While I agree with other reviews that the ox-cart ride wasn't the most exciting thing, the rest of the trip more than makes up for it with the market stop (trying and seeing new things), learning how to cook traditional Thai food for lunch, exploring the waterfall, and, saving the best for last, riding the elephant! The tour guides were excellent, keeping us clear of the protests and being very fun to talk to and interact with, and although there is a bit of driving on this tour, it was definitely worth it. For those who party the night before, plenty of time to nap on the bus, and for those who are wide awake the guides are interesting to talk to about anything you want to talk about. Great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The elephant ride was awesome! They are such large yet gentle creatures. The guides gave us a great opportunity to be the "rider" and give the commands.

Thank you for the experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip is fantastic, a very enjoyable unique experience but once again I have to ask you to find a company that keeps to the law. As with the river Kwai trip, the driver was talking on his mobile phone and we also seen a terrible accident on the way home where people were killed. The law states even in Thailand that talking on mobile phones is illegal but the tour guide says they do not abide by it because the fines are so little !!! That really bodes well when I want to enjoy my holiday, see some fantastic places and experience unique things but most of all go home ALIVE. Please look at what is happening with the company's you are using for trips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was excellent and the tour was amazing!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It all started with a stop in a local market. This was a nice and informative stop. We then went to a farm where we did a ride on a cart pulled by oxen. Nothing special here, but still very different and a lot of fun. The owner of the farm was guiding the oxen and he was very friendly, tried to communicate with us, even though he couldn't speak English. We then went to the open-kitchen where the owner himself and a woman cooked in front of us some traditional Thai good. That was a unique experience and the food was excellent. We could also help a little bit (mainly for photos), but they were the ones doing the cooking. Perfect lunch!!! Arriving at Khao Yai we went to see a waterfall (quick stop) and also saw some monkeys while driving. Unfortunately the time inside the park was very short, but I don't think it's possible to accommodate all these activities in only 1 day. We then did an elephant trek. This was great (my first elephant trek), but I felt the elephants were not very happy and I was also shocked to see that the keepers had a very dangerous and "evil" hook to hurt the elephants. At least they didn't use that while we were there. Highly recommended, but note this is a relaxing tour, you won't have a lot to walk and exercise, but still worth doing. I enjoyed the elephant trek as it was my first one, but later during my trip I went to an elephant park in Chiang Mai where the elephants do only what they want (except when they are forced to carry us on top of them, but still, the keepers didn't have any hook to hurt them) and no seat on top of the elephants, as they did in Khao Yai (which obviously is not natural and I believe they keep it on the elephants all day). Not the perfect elephant experience, but having said that, I'm really glad I did it and would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour guide and amazing email and phone communication considering I booked the trip so last minute! Me and my boyfriend will not forget this experience it made our dream trip a reality! Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This day trip was a great value for the money. The van picked us up at our Bangkok hotel at 7:30. The van driver was freindly and accomidating stopping whenever we needed. The small town market was fun and informative. Go ahead, try the fried bugs - they're yummy. The Ox cart ride and lunch on the "farm" was relaxing. The Park and short hike was easy and fun. Water and cool towels were provided. The guide was very informative and freindly. And of course, the Elephant ride was fun, especially for our 6 year old. The elephants looked to be well taken care of and freindly. (Hold on to your cameras. The ride is bumpy and a little wet.) This was a great get-a-way from the noise and dirt of Bangkok. Be ready for a long drive back to your Bangkok hotel as traffic is horriffic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best days of my life! We stopped at the markets first and were talked through the local stalls, then we walked to a beautiful waterfall and finally had a truly incredible ride on an elephant! Couldn't recommend it enough. On the way back the tour guide took just my mum and I on a boat ride to our hotel to avoid the traffic, and took us off a stop early for a private tour past the grand palace. Couldn't stop beaming for days about it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very well organised tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. Riding and seeing the elephants was an absolutely incredible experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best tour we went on during our stay in Thailand. Everything was great. The food was especially delicious. Was great to see the boys making some food. Our guide Peter was AMAZING! So funny and full of info. Couldn't ask for a better tour. Oils recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed this tour so much. The tour guide was good! And going to the "farm" where we watched our meals being cooked got us more acquainted with Thai cuisine. The food was great! I never thought that I could enjoy Thai cuisine. The Finale of the tour was the elephant ride. This one is a must for anyone who visits Bangkok! This is an unforgettable experience. Thank you Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highly recommended, it was a refreshing tour, full of surprises and delightful sceneries. Was amazed by the hugeness of the elephants, enjoyed the ride!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The best Tour EVER!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is not only a tour, its an adventure.
The food with the local people was great. We were so welcome and received as kings. The food itself was prepared while we were watching. Like all tai food it was very delicious.
The activities were great, you start of by visiting a local market. We tasted some local fruits, and watched wat the locals are eating and buying.
Then the drive by oxcar, eating with the locals, and last but not least the ride on the elephants back, this is a real fun adventure. After the ride you get the opportunity to feed the elephants, and take pictures.
Then all thats left is the ride back to the busy Bangkok. This trip is ideal for escaping the hectic and crowded Bangkok for a day. Our tourguide was great, we really learned a lot of Thailand on this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was literally THE best tour ever. I would highly, highly recommend this to anyone. Don't worry if they haven't gotten back to you.. we waited until the day before our trip, and they finally got ahold of us with the details of the tour. Pick up times and everything! I LOVED everything about it, fantastic tour guide:Peter was our guide :) all in all- DO THIS TOUR. best investment ever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

WE had an amazing day so nice to see this side of Thailand, tour guide was funny and very helpful made the day flow smoothly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Best trip ever. Will do it again. Excellent tour guide!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The experience was great! The selected visit to the coconut processing facility making coconut sugar was very interesting. The Ox and the elephant ride was very exciting and enjoyed by our group. The Thai cooking experience was not only entertaining , but also great tasting! Thank you for a great time!
Alex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The farmers' market was fascinating and the lunch at the farm made very pleasurable thanks to our kind and welcoming hostess. The elephant ride is an experience everyone should try to have at least once in their lives, no matter that it is (inevitably given the time constraints) rather regimented - it's still getting up close and personal to a magnificent creature. Our guide and driver were also excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We spent two weeks in Asia and this excursion was one of the things I looked forward to the most, and the top thing we talked about when we got back!

We did SO much on this excursion, I'll try to remember it all. We started out checking out a real (not touristy) market a bit outside of town. The guide explained what all the things were and what they were used for, very interesting. Then we went to a farm where we did a bunch of stuff. First we did an ox cart ride. Then the owner of the farm gave us a little Thai cooking class (which was especially entertaining because he spoke no English so it was a lot of pointing and sherades and laughing.) Then we ate the meal that had been prepared (it was our best meal in Thailand.) Then we left the farm for the park.

We started off the park experience by doing a short hike into it (which included a steep set of stairs) to a waterfall. Then, driving out of the park, we came across a bunch of monkeys and stopped to take pictures.

After that, we went for the elephant ride which was definitely a highlight of the whole trip. At a certain point, the driver jumped off and had us taking turns riding the elephant bareback while he took pics of us with our cameras. It was a lot of fun and really more challenging to stay on then you'd think. And then you get to tip the elephants at the end by feeding them bananas. :-) We got SO many great pics from the driver using our camera!

I definitely would recommend this trip as a must-do for anyone with an extra day in Bangkok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

SO MUCH FUN! At first I was nervous about hotel pick up because my hotel was not on the list and I had read some negative reviews. However, all my fears proved to be unnecessary once the van showed up in a timely manner and picked up me and my boyfriend from our hotel lobby. The transportation was comfortable, our tour guide amazing (funny, had good tidbits to discuss about Bangkok, good English), and the day was so well planned. We made three stops during the day - the market, ox cart ride and home-made lunch, and the elephant ride. Most people enjoy the elephant ride the best, but for me I really enjoyed lunch. Food was so delicious and the couple that owns the farm were SO NICE!! Can't recommend this tour enough.

Also, our mahout took fabulous pictures and videos of the elephant ride for me and my boyfriend. He was great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was great! Travel accommodations were very comfortable and the market visit, ox cart ride, waterfall viewing at Khoa Yai National Park were all once-in-a-lifetime experiences. The elephant ride through the jungle at the end of the day just topped it off. It was all that I hoped it would be and more! Great experience and Viator handled everything perfectly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an awesome day! Our tour guide was really helpful, food was delicious. I like how they take you to a Thai house/farm and they show you how to make some of the food. It was a cooking lesson and yummy lunch all in one. The view of the waterfall was beautiful, quite a bit of walking especially up and down the stairs so be prepared. The elephants was the cap of it all, my favorite part. This tour is a must when you're in Bangkok.

ISKANDAR
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My friend and I really loved the experience taking this package. The opportunity to be in close proximity with the Khao Yai Park waterfall took my breath away...it was simply beautiful. And of course the chance to ride an elephant and sitting on its neck directly giving the elephant instructions to move...wow wow and wow.

From USD $ 104.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message