• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 330 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 330 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What's not to love about a 45 minute elephant ride, a trip to a local market and an ox cart ride? The tour was great notwithstanding one of the guests slipped and broke his arm, literally. The guide and driver were fantastic and made sure everything could be done was done. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a full day of fun and excitement! Peter was an excellent guide with his humor and assistance,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Awesome, awesome, awesome! In spite of the high heat and humidity it was a very enjoyable and welcomed change of scenery from the city life. At the first stop, the waterfall, be prepared for the activity of your life......walking up and down steps made for minuscule feet. The down wasn't bad, but the up was torturing, lol; next was lunch where the tours members cooked their own Thai delicacies which was followed by the elephant ride. This was the best part of the trip......worth every penny. The tour guide certainly sealed the deal.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great day out, really enjoyed it, guide was excellent and the elephant ride was brilliant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well organized and pleasant, and worth the early morning departure. The guide was excellent, and made sure that everything was taken care of at all times. The tour packed a lot into the day, but it never felt rushed. The only complaint was the traffic returning in the evening, but that is beyond anybody's control. I do appreciate that the guide told us that it would save an hour to just take the Skytrain back to our hotel, rather than waiting an extra hour in the van. All told, well worth the time and money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a super day the bus was comfortable the driver and the guide T were fantastic ,pity about the traffic back to Bangkok but it was Friday tea time and that is out of your control so thank you for a day that will stay with us forever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

excellent worth the money especially the elephants and the lunch. Need to change market visited as it was a hazard for anyone of average european height and being renovated

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful trip! Full of Monkeys!!!!!!!!! One even jumped on the van! Lots of fun! Totally recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an amazing experience. Tons of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was an excellent tour! We had a note on arrival at the hotel, confirming our pick up time in the morning. Our tour guide was very bi-lingual. She gave some history along the way and answered any questions.

Our first stop was the ox-cart ride. The local farmer was very sweet. We had local hats to where to keep the sun off our heads. Very helpful in getting into and out of the cart on the little ladders. A nice up close view of rice fields, bamboo trees, palmetto trees - all along a well-worn path. Must have been much like the wagon rides of the old west. It was a fun ride!

Then we stopped at a local market. So many varieties of fruits and vegetables available.

Our next stop was the waterfall at Khao Yai Park. It is about a 1 km walk to the top. It was very pretty up there. Then there about 150 steps down a steep grade with narrow steps. I chose not to go, but the pics from my travel mates show it was well worth it!

As we drove out of the park towards our local lunch, we saw monkeys in the middle of the road. We pulled over to take pictures and were "treated" to the ultimate show of male dominance. Well, of course we couldn't look away and let me tell you the scent was pretty powerful! Whew!

Our local lunch was served Thai style, sitting on a covered patio (very little indoor dining in Thailand). Delicious and traditional. Vegans accommodated with ease. Tom Ka Soup, Stir Fried Chicken, Stir Fried Vegetables, the staple - Sticky Rice, and more, just now can't recall.

Then the piece we all waited for, the elephant ride. The Jungle Inn has 3 elephants who take you around. It's not a smooth ride, but what fun. A little (OK, a lot) scary going down hill at the very first. Nice trip through the river. They aren't as graceful as one would think, they do lumber a bit. Neat to say I've done it. I think I'd do it again, too!

Then the drive home (poor driver had such traffic!). What a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Was awsome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Elliott, our guide, was fantastic. It was nice getting out of Bangkok. The drive out was over an hour and a half, however it was broken up with stops and unique experiences. The value for this excursion was tremendous. I don't want to spoil it, so I'll just say make sure you bring the camera. Enjoy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour was perfect. The tour guide and driver were very good. The waterfall in the park was a sight to see and riding and feeding the Elephants was the highlight of the trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The elephant ride alone was worth the whole trip -- the mahouts and the elephants were professional and friendly, and the resort was clean and pleasant. The ox cart ride and Khao Yai were pretty great as well; the trip to the "local market to see local people" seemed a little random, but the fruit we bought there was delicious. Overall it was a good tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour! AMAZING experience! Highlights advertised of this tour were spot on. Lunch was delicious. Very comfortable air conditioned ride and plenty of stops. Our tour guide Mr. Chen was great. Totally worth it.

Special Offer
$119.73 Save $12.26

From USD $ 107.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message