4.5 star rating: Recommended 353 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 353 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was great! Travel accommodations were very comfortable and the market visit, ox cart ride, waterfall viewing at Khoa Yai National Park were all once-in-a-lifetime experiences. The elephant ride through the jungle at the end of the day just topped it off. It was all that I hoped it would be and more! Great experience and Viator handled everything perfectly!

Lyn
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our day out with friendly guides in spite of the rain. The lovely hospitable couple at "Farmland" made lunch a real pleasure. Would love to be able to keep in contact with them. The elephant ride, sitting astride her huge neck and feeding the elephant after the ride, were highlights, as well as the spectacular waterfall....don't be intimidated by the steps, it is worth it. Unless you have a severely debilitating medical condition or are extremely unfit, anyone can do it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an awesome day! Our tour guide was really helpful, food was delicious. I like how they take you to a Thai house/farm and they show you how to make some of the food. It was a cooking lesson and yummy lunch all in one. The view of the waterfall was beautiful, quite a bit of walking especially up and down the stairs so be prepared. The elephants was the cap of it all, my favorite part. This tour is a must when you're in Bangkok.

ISKANDAR
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My friend and I really loved the experience taking this package. The opportunity to be in close proximity with the Khao Yai Park waterfall took my breath away...it was simply beautiful. And of course the chance to ride an elephant and sitting on its neck directly giving the elephant instructions to move...wow wow and wow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutly stunning and an amazing experience! Highly recommended. Once in a life time - must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a great tour, particularly the ride in the elephant is the best part of the trip. The Haew Narok Waterfall was also impressive. The tour guide and the driver were also very friendly and ready to respond our questions. Fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fanastic day trip with a wonderful guide. The highlight of the tour was the Elephant ride which was amazing.
This was great fun and although the mahoot will take your camera and take pictures for you, this tour would vastly benefit by having a professional photographer taking head on shots at various stages of the ride which can then be purchased at the end of the tour like a lot of other attractions do these days.
It is such a memorable experience it easily warrants it.
Ox cart ride and lunch were different but enjoyable. The visit to the waterfall requires a certain level of fitness but is definitely worth a visit.
The only downside to this tour is the stop off at a local food market. This should carry a health warning not only for the sights and smells but also the real danger of being run over by the locals on their scooters riding through the pedestrian aisles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

How was it??????,, Fantastic!!!!!!!!,, from the time we were picked up ,till we were dropped off back at our hotel, Our Guide was Peter and he was excellent,, very informative and very funny, kept us entertained all day long, First main stop was a small market where he explained about all the different fruits and veges ,, etc, and we got to taste and pick what we liked,, then onto a small local farm and an ox cart ride, after that we went back to the farmers house and they showed us how they cooked the food and that was our lunch,, very tasty,, and the farmer and his wife were just lovely,, from there it was onto a waterfall ,which was a bit of a hike down to see it , but well worth it if you are fit enough,, (not recommended if you are not fit),, after that it was on to the Elephant trekking which was the highlight of the day,, sitting on the back for the first part, through jungle and creeks, then got to sit on the Elephants head to finish of the ride while the Mahout took loads of pictures.. all in all a great day out,, highly recommended,, thanks guys , 10 OUT OF 10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A very enjoyable day which provided the opportunity to experience a larger slice of Thai culture and the countryside. We got to interact with vegetable, flower, fruit and fish venders, taste some of their wares at a local street market. Then moved on to have a short ride in an oxcart on a rice farm. Venturing further into the countryside we visited the Haew Narok waterfall after an interesting walk through a rainforest. We saw lots of monkeys, and finally rode our elephants and had a delicious Thai lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour with insights to life on farms, but the highlight was the elephant ride and being able to "drive" the elephant whilst sitting on its neck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very exciting trip. Our tour guide picked us up really early in the morning in a van and we headed out to the Khao Yai National Park. We also stopped by for a quick breakfast on the way there. His English was very good. The Ox ride was ok, but what more can you expect from an Ox ride. The rice fields around the Ox ride were quite beautiful and as we slowly rode by, they were a nice backdrop. The entire waterfall experience was amazing! They even provided us with cloths to put over our feet and tie a little above our knees, so that leeches wouldn't get into our shoes. On our way to the Elephant Ride, we actually saw wild elephants in the forest and of course, all cars had pulled over to take a photo of the elephants. We also saw a snake, dears and monkeys on our way to the Elephant Ride. Last but not least, the Elephant Ride was awesome. It was much better than I expected plus we were able to not only go through the thick forest but also though a river.

We had previously scheduled to go to a cabaret show in the evening, so pretty much as soon as we arrived at the hotel, we had to leave for the cabaret show. But the tour guide was kind enough to let us go up and quickly change. We then had to go pick up 2 more people and then go to the cabaret show. Just be careful about booking something in the evening as you may not have enough time to make it to both.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What's not to love about a 45 minute elephant ride, a trip to a local market and an ox cart ride? The tour was great notwithstanding one of the guests slipped and broke his arm, literally. The guide and driver were fantastic and made sure everything could be done was done. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was a full day of fun and excitement! Peter was an excellent guide with his humor and assistance,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Awesome, awesome, awesome! In spite of the high heat and humidity it was a very enjoyable and welcomed change of scenery from the city life. At the first stop, the waterfall, be prepared for the activity of your life......walking up and down steps made for minuscule feet. The down wasn't bad, but the up was torturing, lol; next was lunch where the tours members cooked their own Thai delicacies which was followed by the elephant ride. This was the best part of the trip......worth every penny. The tour guide certainly sealed the deal.

Special Offer

From USD $ 108.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message