• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 332 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 332 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The elephant ride alone was worth the whole trip -- the mahouts and the elephants were professional and friendly, and the resort was clean and pleasant. The ox cart ride and Khao Yai were pretty great as well; the trip to the "local market to see local people" seemed a little random, but the fruit we bought there was delicious. Overall it was a good tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent tour! AMAZING experience! Highlights advertised of this tour were spot on. Lunch was delicious. Very comfortable air conditioned ride and plenty of stops. Our tour guide Mr. Chen was great. Totally worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Picked up promptly from our hotel in a comfortable air conditioned mini bus. Our first stop was at a local market where we saw lots of weird and wonderful things. We then went on an Ox ride which was great fun before heading to the National Park. I knew in advance from reading previous reviews that the waterfall would not be as spectacular to see in the dry season but opted to climb down the steep steps anyway and was not disappointed as it was still lovely to see. Tiring but if you have no health issues then do it. We then drove through the park and saw some monkeys at the side of the road and a lot of evidence of elephant dung although no actual wild elephants to be seen. Had a lovely lunch and fruit that had been bought at the market by our guide in the morning. The elephant ride was the highlight of our trip and we had lots of laughs with the other two elephants who were bigger than ours trying to overtake us. Our handler took our cameras and took lots of photos of us as we went along. Went through the river but stayed dry. Water and cool towels were provided during the day and all in all a great day out and would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

What an adventure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Early start, and a long day, but well worth it. Visit to market was interesting, real local market not tourist trap. Ox-cart ride was great fun. It was a long drive into the jungle, but an interesting walk to see waterfall. We were there in dry season, so this wasn't as spectacular as could be when wet. The lunch was pleasant, the elephant ride amazing. The guide and driver were excellent. Overall, if you don't mind an early start (we were picked up at 6:30), and a long drive, this is a really good day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We booked this trip after reading reviews on VIATOR and we were right too! Don't be afraid to be adventurous and try something like this. The tour guide was brilliant, English was good and he had a great sense of humour. We started off at a market which has no tourists around at all and the guide will explain what the foods are and walk around with you answering any questions you have. Then the ox cart which is great fun, lots of beautiful scenery. Then the walk through Khao Yai to the waterfall which is exhilarating, you will see wildlife on the way monkeys, snakes etc. Then a lovely Thai buffet lunch and onto the elephants! I would recommend this tour to anyone, you're never too young or too old to see life in this way. BOOK IT!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour was well planned from pick-up to drop off. Seeing the country side, markets, farms etc. was great. The tour guide and driver were very good. The waterfall in the park was a sight to see and riding and feeding the Elephants was the highlight of the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

beautiful experience, nice tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

It was Amazing!! Gary was our tourguide and he was so nice and hilarious! He knew so much interesting information about all we were doing and everything around us!! Everyone was so nice and helpful. They picked us up from our hotel on time and we got home when they said so as well. When we had lunch our tourguide bought fresh mango from the market we toured and served it as our dessert... Yum!! On the way out from the park they even stopped so we could take photographs of the wild monkeys and elephants along the road... We were lucky to see them :) very cool! The people at jungle house were just as awesome. They had the elephants doing tricks and made sure to take our cameras to take action shot pictures of our experience. The guy even took my camcorder to video the whole thing and it turned out great. Awesome people, great experience and unforgettable memories!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I loved this tour. When we booked our trip to Thailand we knew we had to ride an elephant and based off of prior reviews, we booked with this tour. No regrets! The air conditioned vehicle was comfortable; we met new people; our tour guide and driver were both extremely knowledgable and personable; the jaunt through the market was quick but informative; the ox cart rides were slightly uncomfortable but were a very nice getaway from the pollution and crowded areas of downtown Bangkok; the lunch provided was both delicious and authentic, while still being "western" enough to not scare anyone on the tour; the elephants were magnificent and the trainers seemed to genuinely care for them, not just use them as a way to make money. The sights were breaktaking, the food was awesome, and the memories will stay with us forever. This trip is highly recommmended! Make sure you wear some sort of long pants or have really hairy and resilient legs or those elephants will leave your legs itchy. Take a bottle of water with you for the walk to the waterfall, and some proper shoes, as the steps are very steep and it's a HOT 1km walk. If you can, ask for Gary to be your tour guide. He had a pretty impressive grasp of the English language and I think he found his own jokes just as funny as we did. Bring a camera!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed this tour and thank you to Champ our guide. He make sure we returned to our hotel safe and sound.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a great tour, with a great tour guide (Woody W.). He was our best tour guide in Bangkok! Thank You!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I loved this tour. The tour of the market was great, the the elephant ride was amazing. Our guide was very good and informative.

Bee W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent day and excellent tour guide. Enjoyed the elephant ride and visit to the park and waterfall. Waterfall worth a visit despite an energetic walk. However, oxcart ride was a little disappointment. It was brief ride to some paddy fields . Sadly there were hardly any rice paddy plants as the fields were dry and the paddy fields does not looke like paddy fields, more like a grassland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Highly recommend this trip!! The tour guide was a real character who took us around a local Thai market, waterfall, ox cart ride as well as the elephant ride. The lunch that was included was really yummy as well. Really good value for money and a great day out of hot smoggy Bangkok.

Special Offer
$119.02 Save $12.19

From USD $ 106.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK27

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message