Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Okay

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

ONCE YOU MANAGE TO GET THROUGH THE TRAFFIC IN BANGKOK, THE TOUR IS A MUST DO FOR ANYONE VISITING THAILAND. THE GUIDE WAS VERY INFORMATIVE, THE BUS WAS SPOT ON TIME, AND THE SIGHTS WERE BRILLIANT. LOVED EVERY MINUTE ONCE WE WERE AWAY FROM THE TRAFFIC.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This tour was a great way to see a lot of things.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

What a beautiful spectacle and the tour guide was so informative!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The grand palace is quite extraordinary. A complex set of buildings without apparent order, every where you look there are works of art, the meanings of which are not always evident without guidance. Remember to look at the detail of the decoration which is quite beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

This was a very interesting tour. As I have been to BKK many times I had never done
this tour, but I will say paying extra for a private tour guide was worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and quickly guided us through the hordes of people to quieter spots where he could expalin everything without having to shout to be heard. He also knew all the good photo points. Be sure to take a hat on a hot day as the heat becomes unbearable as the complex is walled in and gets no wind. We actually cut our tour short as we could no longer take the heat.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Tour guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. Unfortunately he barely mentioned any of the mythology and creatures embellishing the decor that we were most interested in. He did give other decent narratives and summarized Buddhism well. He wasn't especially good with a camera either which meant we don't really have any good couples shots from there that would have been nice to have (but he did try). The Grand Palace will most likely be a highlight in your tours of Bangkok.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Guide was very helpful and eager to make sure we had a great time.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Amazing to see the detail on the statues. Tour guide looked after us well and gave plenty of info.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This was my second time to the Grand Palace, but the first time for my son, who loved the visit. We were collected on time in a nice car. Our Guide was very knowledgeable and it was very interesting learning about the history of the Palace. I've given this tour 4 stars as afterward, we were dropped off at a gem factory/store which I couldn't remember whether this was included in the trip as I'd looked at so many different tours. Note: Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are in the same place. Definitely worth doing.

Judith E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Interesting first insight into Thai culture. The guide was excellent giving good commentry on the way to the Palace. The Grand Palace itself is definately worth visiting and we were given plenty of time to view the various areas within the grounds.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Guide left message, arrived right on time. Private tour was great, guide quite knowledgeable, helpful, polite.

Stephen N
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Although this is something that is a 'must do' in Bangkok. My advice is 'don't do it with a hangover from the night before'! We enjoyed the trip, our guide was well informed, witty and spoke excellent English. I would not hesitate in recommending this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The tour was a bit short, certainly not a half day- but worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Excellent tour guide.

Eryl U
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Guide was great, knew everything, as they all seem to in Asia. When tour was over, he and the driver said they had no tours in the arvo and they could take us for the rest of the day free, and they did. It was one of our best days in Bangkok in 5 visits, service PLUS.

Jennifer T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

The tour was certainly private with only people on this tour being my wife and I. The guide was very informative and spoke very good English.

Paul C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Bangkok can be a little daunting to navigate for first time visitors. If you have limited time in Bangkok, as we did, a private car and guide is a good way to see and hear about the incredible Grand Palace and Temple complex and see some other city sites and get some cultural and historical insights along the way. Unless you're hankering to buy some jewelery, keep politely but firmly declining the visit to a jewelry outlet that may be offered as "a standard part of the tour". Just ask to be dropped off at one of the big shopping malls near your hotel and shop for what you want at your leisure.

Stuart R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

An amazing experience and we loved it. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and taking a private tour means that you don't have to wait around for people coming back to the bus thus making most of our time at the Palace. Thoroughly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

We had a wonderful tour guide who was so informative. We took our time and really enjoyed the sights. On our private tour, we pretty much set our own pace, within reason, which made it most enjoyable for my older Uncle. In a group, I don't think we would have gotten as much out of it because there is only so much time to move several people around.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Extremely good and knowledgeable guide. The Grand Palace is definitely a must see.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our guide arrived promptly, was courteous and polite. However we did find it difficult to understand him at times. He was a good guide and very informative. Unfortunately after the temples he took us to a clothing shop and a jewellers outlet. Frankly we would have rather visited another place of interest than these outlets!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour was fine, the guide was knowledgeable. However, we didn't like being driven to a gem/souvenir store at the end of the tour. We had absolutely no interest for this commercial display.

From USD $ 53.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK11P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message