4 star rating: Recommended 74 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 74 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Extremely good and knowledgeable guide. The Grand Palace is definitely a must see.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our guide arrived promptly, was courteous and polite. However we did find it difficult to understand him at times. He was a good guide and very informative. Unfortunately after the temples he took us to a clothing shop and a jewellers outlet. Frankly we would have rather visited another place of interest than these outlets!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour was fine, the guide was knowledgeable. However, we didn't like being driven to a gem/souvenir store at the end of the tour. We had absolutely no interest for this commercial display.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The tour guide spoke very bad English. We didn't appreciate the jewellry makers stop at the end of the tour. We felt very under pressure to buy something when all we wanted to do was walk around by ourselves. When we left without buying anything the lady that had followed ALL THE WAY around the store seemed very annoyed!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The tour was about 2 hours (definitely less if travelling time was included of course). The last 1 hour was actually reserved for taking the guests to the jewelry shop. You are paying more than what it worth.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Our guide made it easy to get around this crowded site. Interesting and beautiful. Enjoyed the tour!

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

We were disappointed that we could not enter any actual part of the palace - only acces to the outside. Interesting history and enjoyed watching the changing of the guard. Not one that we would rush back for.

Graham J
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Guide was very knowledgeable and informative. However, could do without lengthy trip to gem centre at end of tour even though we said we were not interested several times.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour lasted 1.5 hours on the palace grounds and we felt a bit rushed. Our guide was able to explain the basics but for those looking for interesting anecdotes or an art history perspective you will be dissapointed. Overall an ok tour but quite pricey for what you get.

David
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The private guide I had was ok. His English was just understandable but I had to try very hard to carefully listen, but missed a lot of what he was saying. He did show me a little of the Grand Palace and Wat Phra but didn't appear very interested in his job. I was disappointed that I was driven fairly soon afterwards to a gem outlet selling very expensive jewellery which was not part of this tour and which was quite embarrassing as I was not prepared to buy anything there. He left me quickly afterwards with a taxi driver to take me back to my hotel.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The Grand Palace complex was really nice, but I expected more out of a private (1 on 1) tour. The guide was difficult to understand, and didn't really put any extra effort, it felt like the same tour he would have given to a group of 12 people.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The Grand Palace is a must visit when in Bangkok. Unfortunately, I was picked up in an old Mercedes Benz sedan by a tour guide with a very strong accent, and I was only able to understand about half of what he was saying in English. We spent about an hour at the Grand Palace and I was then taken to a gem factory. I was not interested in visiting the gem factory, but my guide took me there anyway. I think he only did it to receive some type of commission. I recommend visiting the Grand Palace, but suggest using a different tour service.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

The venue was amazing, but the guide was not engaged and was mainly focussed on getting us out of the Palace and into the shopping stores.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

the grand palace is one of the most outstanding places i ever was among more than 30 countries already known. Its a shame that our tour guide, besides very few explanations, was leaving behind a big part of the palace untouched. I saw it and warned him Id like to go there to take photos. very poor english, very bad professionalism, but please dont miss grand palace

Colin J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Grand Palace & Wat Phra Kaew are the same location.

Ranil I
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2008

The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew were absolutely magnificent. No complaints there. However, our tour guide was perhaps a little too old and unfit to be taking a tour that involved a lot of walking. Her explanations were pretty good once when we asked questions, but I really got the impression that she really couldn't be bothered. After visiting the Palace grounds, we were taken to a very large gem store where quite high-pressure selling tactics were used. We made it a point not to buy anything, as we were NOT told that this would be part of the tour prior to booking or at the time of pick-up. So I guess you could say that we have mixed feelings about this particular tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The tour guide rushed us thru the tour. He said the Palace was closing early. (funny when we were leaving tons of people where still coming) We were looking for a book and he did not take us to the store so he offered to go buy it for us. We gave him 1000 BHT and when he came back he had a copy for himself and one for us. He informed us we owed him another 1500 BHT ( no receipt) he said that the book was 2500 BHT. So we purchased a book for about $80.00 USD. No receipt so we really did not know how much the book cost. My husband and I have been on this tour before since we had visited Bangkok before, but this was my sisters first trip. He was constantly on his cell phone and or venting to my husband about how bad the United State are, something about sanctions. I asked him to please give my sister some of the history about certain items and he just disregarded our requested. Worst tour we have ever had. Please train your tour guides a little better. No politics, no cell phones and to do his job, not try to get out of it by saying things are closed. We are not stupid.

Caroline G
United States of America

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Our tour guide did not speak English understandably...and consequently we only understood a fraction of what he was saying. To make matters worse, the Grand Palace was closed on the day we went - and the tour company allegedly did not know ahead of time. We tried to make the best of it by visiting the Vianmek Mansion, but it was only marginally interesting.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Hughly disappointing. The highlight of this afternoon tour was to see the Emerald Buddha. Except due to the king's birthday on Dec 5th, it was closed so the military could practice. The tour agency should have known this and gave us an option for the morning tour or a different tour. As this event happens every year, there is no excuse for a local company not knowing this. Then on this private tour, they wanted to take us shopping for jewelry late in the day. They got us into a 2.5 hour traffic jam. Not fun.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

we were under the impression that we would have a around about 3 hours of a private tour with lots of history about the city but in fact it was less then an hour. This was very dissapoionting. The gentlmen that took us around was very nice and had some good knowledge but we felt as if we went very fast as there was a lot to see. We dont think this was actually the case or we missed a lot. When we got back to the hotel we looked at the booklet that they give you as a tourist entering the Wat Phra Kaew and Grand Palace and there was about 32 points of interest you could look at! which we could have looked at ourselves! We dont think it was worth the money at all and feel completely ripped off by the whole experience. Its a real shame as the person that took us was very nice.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

The guide seemed disinterested, discouraged my going to gift shop at Palace complex or street stalls across the street and tried instead to hustle us to a Jewelry 'discounter' I said I did not want to go to more than once but he took us there after'tour' anyway and claimed to have misunderstood me. Tried to get me to go in 'as long as we were there'. Also, loudly talked non-stop to car driver entire time we were in the car.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Was rushed through the Grand Palace. Tour guide was more interested in getting me to a couple of (over-priced, made for tourist) shops - went to one and then told him to take me back to the hotel. Really unimpressed!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2011

!!! Dont do that tour! The tour guide runs with you in an hour thru temple and palace to then bring you to a diamond outlet - typical tourist stuff - where they try to sell you glass as diamonds.(!)

From USD $ 51.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK11P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message